$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 3, 2015

Loews Madison Hotel

4 stars
1177 Fifteenth St NW, Washington, DC 20005
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
84 reviews
Incredible Staff!

The hotel was wonderful and very clean which is a huge plus. The thing that impressed me the most... See full review

  • Liz Happy Traveler
  • Aug 15, 2014
Great hotel, great location

The staff were beyond attentive, the rooms were comfortable and clean, and the value for money was... See full review

  • BuccleuchGrad
  • May 27, 2014
Stylish Washington hotel provides an insider's view to the action
Experience Washington, D.C. in the epicenter of the action at Loews Madison Hotel. This elegant hotel went through an extensive $20 million dollar renovation in 2012 of its public spaces, restaurants, and guest rooms. The White House, Embassy Row and the National Mall are all within walking distance from this elegant hotel with 353 guest rooms and suites. Take advantage of a 24-hour fitness center and steam room or inquire with the concierge about in-room spa services. Stop by PostScript for a great meal or after-work drinks. Recognized for excellence in hosting meetings, Loews Madison Hotel also features 12,000 square feet of function space.
Highlights

  • 24-hour fitness center and steam room
  • Upscale PostScript Cafe
  • Recipient of the Successful Meetings Pinnacle Award and Meetings & Conventions Gold Key Award
  • Meeting space for up to 500 guests
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi in public areas and guest rooms

Location
It would take a lifetime to see everything Washington, D.C. has to offer. Check with the concierge at the Loews Madison for up-to-the-minute recommendations about the latest happenings in this cosmopolitan city. Of course, The White House, National Mall and Capitol Hill are always good bets -- and they're all within walking distance or a short Metro ride from the hotel. Those who wish to venture further afield head to Mount Vernon, Baltimore, Annapolis or Harpers Ferry National Historical Park.
Rooms

Work hard and relax in elegance in guest rooms at Hotel Loews Madison. Spacious work desks, wake-up calls and two telephones with voicemail help get work done. Complimentary Wi-Fi access, iPod docking station, Lather bath amenities and 24-hour room service are available. High ceilings, city views and traditional decor add to the sense of refinement. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Dining
PostScript at Loews Madison Hotel serves dinner daily, highlighting farm-fresh ingredients in an upscale urban atmosphere. The dining facility is open from 3 PM to 11 PM. Award-winning chef Jose Garces helms Rural Society, an Argentine steakhouse that is also serving Italian specialties. Diners can sample handmade pastas along with fugazzas (thick-crust Argentine pizza). In addition to presenting aperitifs and digestifs, Rural Society's bar showcases South American and Argentine wines.
Attractions

  • The White House (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Walter E. Washington Convention Center (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • National Mall (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Capitol Hill (1.7 mi/2.7 km)

Business

  • 24-hour business center
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access in public areas
  • 11,000 square feet of function space includes 11 meeting rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Loews Madison Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Loews Madison Hotel Rooms

Deluxe
1 king or 2 queen beds. 363 sq ft. Courtyard view. Comp wifi and daily newspaper.
Executive
Premium Room. 1 king or 2 queen beds. 363 sq ft. City View on High Floors. Comp wifi and daily newspaper.
Luxury
1 king or 2 queen beds. 363 sq ft. City View. Comp wifi and daily newspaper.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
24 hour security
Phone service
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Boating
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Doorman
FAX
Doctor on call
Copy service
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
Blackboard
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.1 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.2 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.1 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.2 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.7 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.8 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.8 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.8 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.8 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.8 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.9 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.9 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.9 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • National Building Museum: 1 mi
  • National Archives: 1 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1.1 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1.1 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.1 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Department of State: 1.1 mi

Dining

Rural Society
Award winning, Iron Chef Jose Garces has opened his first DC restaurant in the Loews Madison. This Argentine steakhouse features steaks, fish, and vegetable off the parilla grill, along with homemade pastas and other inspired cuisine.
Postscript
PostScript features snacks, small plates and cocktails in a refined setting. Located just off the main lobby of the Loews Madison Hotel, the bar features local cuisine and live nightly jazz Thursday thru Saturday evenings.
Barista Bar
Barista Bar is a Starbucks station and one-stop shop for guests looking for a hot or cold Starbucks beverage, breakfast, or a snack on the go.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (84)

Ratings and reviews for Loews Madison Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
84 out of 84
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
patty and peter
Business
Marietta, GA
Nov 2, 2010

Wasn't invited to the party next door

We were there for Jon Stewart's rally. It was our first trip to DC so we walked the mall and city and enjoyed that part of our stay. The room was nice but the walls were paper thin and we did not get much sleep due to the two day party next door. We did complain about the noise the first night but the party continued until 3am. We had to be up at 4am to insure a good spot at the rally so we thought no bigger we will catch up on our sleep the next night. That didn't happen, the party in the room next door went on until 6am that night. My suggestion to the hotel is that when they book a private party do not put guest who are not attending that particular event in rooms adjacent to those that are attending the event. We might have enjoyed our stay a little more if we were not so tired from lack of sleep. For the price we expected not to be able to hear the conversations in the next room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We liked that the hotel was short walk to the National Mall but also enjoyed walking the many neighborhoods in the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
shaneOh
Business
Tampa, FL, USA
Jan 2, 2012

May one day be a nice hotel

They are under renovations and while the construction did not start until 9am, the loading in began at 5:20am. We promptly transferred to a different hotel as soon as we were able. I'm sure it will be a nice place once rennovations are complete. But I'd stay away for now.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DC Travel
Business
New York
Nov 26, 2014

Room Smells Like Smoke from Restaurant

The room hotel has a Argentine Grill below and the room I stayed in smelled like a camp fire. The hotel is beautiful but I left with all my clothes smelling of smoke.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
L .Sue
Business
nyc ,ny
Apr 1, 2013

restaurant

we came in late after 8 pm ,, I have stayed in other high end hotels before ,, so this was just average , the rooms are small but comfortable , close to the white house and national mall ,, but the sevice in the restaurant needs big improvement , the Hotel reception in the food area told us she could not accomodate us because a very large party was comming in ,, we are only 2 ,,really ...you can not accomodate 2 for drinks and dinner ,, she said we would never recive ourfood ? what? so we went to the bar . our bar tender was nice .. the food was too oily on the pumkin salad .. but we were hungry ,, and that large party was never seen there for the 1 hour we ate at the bar ..this place is a 3 star at best in sevice its hit or miss with the staff ,, butthe bartender got our food quick the drinkls were good and the other items not too bad . I was tired , so i did not bother harrssing the recipcionist , but I cancelled brunch for 60 p p the next day , and we walked to the Mandarin across the great lawn to have breakfast with excellent service for 25 p p ..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
Mar 21, 2011

On Strike

DC was a great family vacation with too much to see in the time we allotted (4 days/3nights). The hotel was nice and in an ideal location; however, there was union staff on strike from 7am-7pm over a labor contract dispute. This strike made a lot of noise and was a nuisance right outside the lobby door. They have been on strike for 7 weeks [...] The working hotel staff provided good service and was quite apologetic and even "comped" a few things; however, the noise from the strikers was unbearable in the lobby and could be heard from our 14th floor room. In addition, the main restaurant was closed for renovations. I highly recommend this hotel as long as the labor dispute has been resolved and the restaurant is open.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location for DC monuments and museums. I would highly recommend, if there was no strike picket line.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Prefer better hotels
Business
Bellevue, NE
Apr 29, 2010

Nice average hotel

Nothing great or terrible about this place. Not a four star place. it is clean and a bit dated. It allows pets which I did not know or I would not have stayed if I was aware. About three blocks from the Metro. I expected more from a Loews Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Carolina
Apr 2, 2010

Friendly Staff

Very friendly staff. The beds were comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DC Father
Business
Columbia, SC
Nov 1, 2011

Good choice for DC

Location and price and comfort of the room were all excellent. Was there only overnight, so didn't really get to experience much of what it has to offer. Will definitely consider as an option on future trips. Only negative: there was no TV remote control in the room. Called down and one was delivered very quickly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Coffee shop right across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sanba
Business
Chicago
Nov 9, 2011

Clean & Comfortable

Small quiet boutique hotel with extremely friendly efficient staff. Great location. Very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vincent liang
Business
Saco, maine
Nov 27, 2011

Great

I am a Chinese who stay in this hotel. It is a good hotel. Everything is perfect. Great value of it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Good loction.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top