$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

JW Marriott Washington, DC

4 stars
1331 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, 1331 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20004
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
145 reviews
Great central location!

We enjoyed the Washington DC JW Marriott! A beautiful hotel that makes all the sights easy to walk... See full review

  • Cara Beara
  • Jun 9, 2014
Washington D.C.

I see where the hotel is rated 3 star. I would give it 5 stars. Very nice place. Enjoyed the indoor... See full review

  • ijim
  • Oct 23, 2013
Luxury giant with full services

The JW Marriott Hotel Washington, DC offers all things to all customers. The towering building features a huge 772 luxuriously designed rooms, making it a great destination for guests looking for a hotel with a thriving, big city atmosphere. The hotel offers full facilities for the business traveler or executive looking to arrange for meetings, thanks to the 29 meeting rooms with a total of 37,000 square feet of meeting space.

3 Reasons to Stay:
  • AAA 3 Diamond standard hotel with the respected Marriott reputation

  • Popular location near to the key Washington DC attractions and Metro, and a bustling atmosphere

  • High quality on site dining, concierge level, and facilities in room

JW Marriott Hotel Washington, DC Rooms

The JW Marriott Hotel Washington, DC divides its many guest rooms into a choice range of king bed rooms, king or double rooms with enhanced views of Pennsylvania Avenue, larger size (450 square feet) standard guest rooms, and rooms on the Concierge level offering an increased level of service and luxury. All rooms feature fine linens with a 300-thread count, with thick mattresses to ensure guests get the best night's sleep. Evening and daytime entertainment is well cared for with the 37-inch TVs with HD, premium channels, and a facility to connect to cameras, laptops, or even MP3 players to become an instant audio system. For families who wish to stay close together without sharing rooms, some standard size rooms are available with a connecting door. For those with disabilities, accessible rooms are also available with bathroom grab bars, wheelchair-friendly toilet design, and roll in shower in some accessible rooms. Internet access is available for a fee throughout the hotel, with wired outlets in each room and wireless access in public areas.

Things to Do:
  • Washington Monument (0.6mi/0.9km)

  • Lincoln Memorial (1.6mi/2.6km)

  • Jefferson Memorial (2.7mi/4.3km)

  • White House (0.4mi/0.7km)

  • US Capitol (1.4mi/2.3km)

Policies and fees
  • Check in 4:00 pm

  • Check out 12:00 pm

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

38.8963 -77.0309
Nearby airports
Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport, (DCA), 4.00, MI, N; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 27.00, MI, E; Baltimore/Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport, (BWI), 32.00, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed JW Marriott Washington, DC also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0 mi
  • National Theatre: 0 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.1 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.2 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.2 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.4 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.4 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0 mi
  • National Theatre: 0 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.1 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.2 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.2 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.4 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.4 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • National Archives: 0.5 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.6 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.6 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.7 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.7 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 0.7 mi

Dining

Starbucks®
Starbucks is conveniently located at our hotel. Enjoy your favorite Starbucks beverages, plus fresh fruits, pastries and juices.
Avenue Grill
Enjoy a great view of Pennsylvania Avenue while dining at Avenue Grill. This American-style restaurant near the White House serves freshly prepared salads, seafood and steaks.
1331
Discover 1331 restaurant in Washington, DC. 1331 features the flavors of America throughout its casual dining menus.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (145)

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott Washington, DC

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 145
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
5
Value:
4.5

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott Washington, DC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HollyCA
San Diego, CA
Jan 4, 2013

Great location

This hotel is in walking distance to almost everything! We were able to walk to many locations including the White House, The Capital, Ford's Theater, The National Archives, and the American History and Natural History museums. The room was a little small, but very clean. The only downside would be that the concierge was not a lot of help. Overall, we had a great experience though. The Starbuck's in the Lobby was a huge bonus with VERY friendly baristas who remembered our coffee orders after a couple of days!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hamilton at 600 14th Street is a very short walk from the hotel. The prices are reasonable, and it's a great experience.

Review of JW Marriott Washington, DC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lia Travel Lover
Newburg, Pa
Aug 14, 2012

Great Deal

The hotel is located close to all the sites. Can easily walk to museums.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of JW Marriott Washington, DC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jim & John
Providence, Rhode Island
May 17, 2011

Great Location

A very nice hotel. Rooms are a bit small but well appointed. A little noisy for us, but ear plugs worked great. Good A/C. We do not like Marriott bed coverings or pillows. The comforter is too heavy and warm and the only other covering is a sheet that does not keep you warm enough. Location is terrific. We walked to all of the museums and memorials and it is one block from the White House. Housekeeping service was also very good. Our room was always made up before Noon and the rooms and bathroom spotless. The hotel restaurant is casual, very good food, reasonably priced for a hotel restaurant and service was excellent. Nice, comfortable bar and again with very good service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Old Ebbits Grill about two blocks away from hotel. Great fun, great food, great service. Advanced reservations a must.

Review of JW Marriott Washington, DC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jim & John
Providence, Rhode Island
May 17, 2011

Great Location

A very nice hotel. Rooms are a bit small but well appointed. A little noisy for us, but ear plugs worked great. Good A/C. We do not like Marriott bed coverings or pillows. The comforter is too heavy and warm and the only other covering is a sheet that does not keep you warm enough. Location is terrific. We walked to all of the museums and memorials and it is one block from the White House. Housekeeping service was also very good. Our room was always made up before Noon and the rooms and bathroom spotless. The hotel restaurant is casual, very good food, reasonably priced for a hotel restaurant and service was excellent. Nice, comfortable bar and again with very good service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Old Ebbits Grill about two blocks away from hotel. Great fun, great food, great service. Advanced reservations a must.

Review of JW Marriott Washington, DC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Nov 3, 2010

washington

travelling to white house, alington... no. very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

the mall

Review of JW Marriott Washington, DC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Nov 3, 2010

washington

travelling to white house, alington... no. very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

the mall

Review of JW Marriott Washington, DC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RPN
Florida
Jul 30, 2010

great timeoff

We went to Washington, DC to renew our passport. We were not able to visit all the museum because of lack of time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of JW Marriott Washington, DC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Milwaukee, Wi
Sep 14, 2009

fantastic place

It was a great place to stay...we were there for just 2 nights for the rally...the service was really top notch and everyone very helpful, the location was superb....we were 'right there."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of JW Marriott Washington, DC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Milwaukee, Wi
Sep 14, 2009

fantastic place

It was a great place to stay...we were there for just 2 nights for the rally...the service was really top notch and everyone very helpful, the location was superb....we were 'right there."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of JW Marriott Washington, DC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
East Falmouth
Sep 14, 2008

Professionalism and Openness to Assisting

The JW Marriot on Pennsylvania Ave in Washington ,DC was a wonderful choice for my weekend get away. It was centrally located to stores, eateries, museums, and the Mall. My first impression on arrival to the hotel was being greeted by the Host at curbside who was exceptionally polite and service oriented. I remember thinking he loved what he does. Our room was welcoming -pleasant to the eyes, clean and most comfortable. The assistance of gentlemen at the Concierge desk were utilized each day, noting openness and a gentle unrushed manner in assisting us with reservations for dinner, researching places of interest and aiding our plans for the day. This was very helpful and much appreciated. Exiting the hotel was just as smooth and a pleasant experience. All matters were expedited in a professional and polite manner. I have already contemplated in my mind that the JW Marriot on Pennsylvania Ave will be my hotel in the future when I return to Washington, DC. Excellent My weekend in DC was a wonderful one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Mall was two blocks from the hotel; the Washington Monument, WW 11 Memorial, Vietnam Memorial, Lincoln Memorial, and the Smithsonian Museums. Great location in a safe well attended area.

Back to menu Return to top