$212 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 3, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

JW Marriott Washington, DC

4 stars
View map of 1331 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, 1331 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20004

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
100 reviews
Mikayla's Birthday trip to DC.

This was the smoothest trip I've ever taken. I brought my 7 year old granddaughter to DC for her... See full review

  • Bill V.
  • Dec 6, 2014
4 Day DC Getaway

Excellent choice for our family of four to experience Washington in style, yet reasonably priced.... See full review

  • Joe and Carina
  • Nov 28, 2014
Luxury giant with full services

The JW Marriott Hotel Washington, DC offers all things to all customers. The towering building features a huge 772 luxuriously designed rooms, making it a great destination for guests looking for a hotel with a thriving, big city atmosphere. The hotel offers full facilities for the business traveler or executive looking to arrange for meetings, thanks to the 29 meeting rooms with a total of 37,000 square feet of meeting space.

3 Reasons to Stay:
  • AAA 3 Diamond standard hotel with the respected Marriott reputation

  • Popular location near to the key Washington DC attractions and Metro, and a bustling atmosphere

  • High quality on site dining, concierge level, and facilities in room

JW Marriott Hotel Washington, DC Rooms

The JW Marriott Hotel Washington, DC divides its many guest rooms into a choice range of king bed rooms, king or double rooms with enhanced views of Pennsylvania Avenue, larger size (450 square feet) standard guest rooms, and rooms on the Concierge level offering an increased level of service and luxury. All rooms feature fine linens with a 300-thread count, with thick mattresses to ensure guests get the best night's sleep. Evening and daytime entertainment is well cared for with the 37-inch TVs with HD, premium channels, and a facility to connect to cameras, laptops, or even MP3 players to become an instant audio system. For families who wish to stay close together without sharing rooms, some standard size rooms are available with a connecting door. For those with disabilities, accessible rooms are also available with bathroom grab bars, wheelchair-friendly toilet design, and roll in shower in some accessible rooms. Internet access is available for a fee throughout the hotel, with wired outlets in each room and wireless access in public areas.

Things to Do:
  • Washington Monument (0.6mi/0.9km)

  • Lincoln Memorial (1.6mi/2.6km)

  • Jefferson Memorial (2.7mi/4.3km)

  • White House (0.4mi/0.7km)

  • US Capitol (1.4mi/2.3km)

Policies and fees
  • Check in 4:00 pm

  • Check out 12:00 pm

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed JW Marriott Washington, DC also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0 mi
  • National Theatre: 0 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.1 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.2 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.2 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.4 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.4 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0 mi
  • National Theatre: 0 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.1 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.2 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.2 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.4 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.4 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • National Archives: 0.5 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.6 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.6 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.7 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.7 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 0.7 mi

Dining

Starbucks®
Start your day with a cup of fresh, hot coffee and a pastry at our Starbucks® coffee bar, before setting off to explore the White House and other downtown Washington, DC attractions.
Avenue Grill
Avenue Grill, our on-site restaurant, offers excellent views of Pennsylvania Avenue, as well as freshly prepared salads, seafood, and steaks.
1331 Lounge
1331 offers a taste of America, with casual evening dining and a welcoming restaurant atmosphere.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott Washington, DC

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 100
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.9

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott Washington, DC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
STACY
Business
N/A
Jan 27, 2015

Weekend Getaway

My husband and I had an opportunity to go away for the weekend and see the sites in DC and the JW Marriott was the perfect location for our hotel. We walked everywhere and loved it. Great restaurants and even pizza restaurant within a 5 block circumference. Loved the remodeling and color scheme. The comfort of the bed was amazing and the view of the monument was exciting. We would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit the white house at dusk. It is beautiful with the night time sky as a backdrop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Washington, DC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GregOh
Business
Rochester, NY
Dec 2, 2014

Thanksgiving in DC

The city always seems like a ghost town this time of the year. Museums are busy, but not much else. A good time for a visit if you don't like crowds. Got a great deal on the hotel stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a food court, Starbucks and a couple nice restaurants on the same block as the hotel. Shopping, the Metro and entertainment options a few blocks away. On weekends and holidays the city has a very different aura.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Washington, DC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gingerbreadman
Business
arkansas
Jul 16, 2014

great location, great staff.

Couldnt ask for a better location more central to all the sites. Staff was wonderful. I need a box fan to sleep well. I called room service to see if they had any fans, they said they did not but they would find one. 15 minutes later they delivered one to my door that they had gotten out of one of thier offices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Washington, DC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AdamY
Business
Gaithersburg, MD
Dec 9, 2013

Comfy beds but overpriced parking

Only stayed one night but it was a great experience. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms were clean. The only complaint was that the parking was way too expensive (>$40 per day!), so we had to park a block away. The breakfast buffet was excellent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The breakfast buffet was really good. A bit pricey at $25, but it will fill you up for the rest of the day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Washington, DC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Magooo
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 28, 2013

Wow!

Great hotel, location and staff short distance from all location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Washington, DC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Barb love to travel
Business
Olive Branch, MS
Jun 4, 2013

Senior Couple's "Get Away"

We spent 4 nights, Main reason we chose this hotel was the location. This was our first visit to D.C. The mode of transportation that we used was the metro..easy and convient. We took the Metro from the airport, very easy and less money than taxi or shuttle. The first night the concierage booked us a night DC tour, very enjoyable ..got to "taste a little of DC", helped us to decide where we visit remainder of the trip, because there is so much to see and do in D.C. One good thing is there is no charge to visit the museums/monuments. We had a great view from our room on the 11th floor, facing Pennsylvania Ave.;our room was clean, loved the wonderful sott towels and pillows, the housekeepers were thorough, bathrooms were small, but met our needs since it was just the two of us. The pool area was nice, I sat in the courtyard one evening to read and very relaxing. The breakfast buffet was good, kind of expensive. Overall we had a great experience and would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

On your first day/evening try to fit a tour in, that way you can get a feel of where you want to return and spent most of your time, because there is so much walking, you need minimum of 4 days to visit main attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Washington, DC

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jamais encore
Business
westport, CT
Apr 21, 2013

uncomfortable and pretentious

The mattresses were the worst imaginable. The hot water was intermittent. The lobby was a zoo with marble floors. The parking was a nightmare. never again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Washington, DC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MONDIE
Business
ST AUGUSTINE FL
Jan 29, 2013

As close to the MALL as you can get !

Best possible location at fair price !! I Would stay there at any time in DC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

14 ST AND PENN AVE CHECK THE MAP TO THE MUSEUMS

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Washington, DC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
G.V.
Business
Fort Lauderdale
Nov 27, 2012

D.C. Thanksgiving!

We found the hotel to be comfortable and convenient. Two blocks from the White House and easy walking distance to the National Mall, Washington Monument, and Lincoln Memorial. Thanksgiving dinner at J.W. Marriott was excellent! D.C. Trails bus tour to Mount Vernon was interesting and enjoyable. I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to see D.C.!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Corner bakery has great coffee and breakfast fare.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Washington, DC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brewin
Business
Florida
Jan 3, 2012

Ideal getaway

Couldn't ask for anything more! Great location. Extremely nice hotel and staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top