$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

JW Marriott Washington, DC

4 stars
1331 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, 1331 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20004
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
145 reviews
Great central location!

We enjoyed the Washington DC JW Marriott! A beautiful hotel that makes all the sights easy to walk... See full review

  • Cara Beara
  • Jun 9, 2014
Washington D.C.

I see where the hotel is rated 3 star. I would give it 5 stars. Very nice place. Enjoyed the indoor... See full review

  • ijim
  • Oct 23, 2013
Luxury giant with full services

The JW Marriott Hotel Washington, DC offers all things to all customers. The towering building features a huge 772 luxuriously designed rooms, making it a great destination for guests looking for a hotel with a thriving, big city atmosphere. The hotel offers full facilities for the business traveler or executive looking to arrange for meetings, thanks to the 29 meeting rooms with a total of 37,000 square feet of meeting space.

3 Reasons to Stay:
  • AAA 3 Diamond standard hotel with the respected Marriott reputation

  • Popular location near to the key Washington DC attractions and Metro, and a bustling atmosphere

  • High quality on site dining, concierge level, and facilities in room

JW Marriott Hotel Washington, DC Rooms

The JW Marriott Hotel Washington, DC divides its many guest rooms into a choice range of king bed rooms, king or double rooms with enhanced views of Pennsylvania Avenue, larger size (450 square feet) standard guest rooms, and rooms on the Concierge level offering an increased level of service and luxury. All rooms feature fine linens with a 300-thread count, with thick mattresses to ensure guests get the best night's sleep. Evening and daytime entertainment is well cared for with the 37-inch TVs with HD, premium channels, and a facility to connect to cameras, laptops, or even MP3 players to become an instant audio system. For families who wish to stay close together without sharing rooms, some standard size rooms are available with a connecting door. For those with disabilities, accessible rooms are also available with bathroom grab bars, wheelchair-friendly toilet design, and roll in shower in some accessible rooms. Internet access is available for a fee throughout the hotel, with wired outlets in each room and wireless access in public areas.

Things to Do:
  • Washington Monument (0.6mi/0.9km)

  • Lincoln Memorial (1.6mi/2.6km)

  • Jefferson Memorial (2.7mi/4.3km)

  • White House (0.4mi/0.7km)

  • US Capitol (1.4mi/2.3km)

Policies and fees
  • Check in 4:00 pm

  • Check out 12:00 pm

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Wet bar

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed JW Marriott Washington, DC also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.8963 -77.0309
Nearby airports
Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport, (DCA), 4.00, MI, N; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 27.00, MI, E; Baltimore/Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport, (BWI), 32.00, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Nearby points of interest

  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0 mi
  • National Theatre: 0 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.1 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.2 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.2 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.4 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.4 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0 mi
  • National Theatre: 0 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.1 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.2 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.2 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.4 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.4 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • National Archives: 0.5 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.6 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.6 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.7 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.7 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 0.7 mi

Dining

Starbucks®
Starbucks is conveniently located at our hotel. Enjoy your favorite Starbucks beverages, plus fresh fruits, pastries and juices.
Avenue Grill
Enjoy a great view of Pennsylvania Avenue while dining at Avenue Grill. This American-style restaurant near the White House serves freshly prepared salads, seafood and steaks.
1331
Discover 1331 restaurant in Washington, DC. 1331 features the flavors of America throughout its casual dining menus.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (145)

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott Washington, DC

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 145
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott Washington, DC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MBWright
Business
Iowa
Feb 28, 2013

JW Marriott

Good location to get around to where I needed to be on the Hill. Room was nice and clean. Fitness center was good. Overall a nice place to stay when in DC for business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott Washington, DC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Andrea Opinion
Business
Denver, CO
Oct 14, 2012

Great location, great service, room impression average

I have stayed at many Marriott properties includes 4 and 5 star properties. This was a very nice hotel but didn't impress me as 4 star. The location alone could have made it 5 stars (2 blocks from the White House and close to terrific restaurants). The service was great, but the hotel seemed worn. The decor seemed dated. My room was small. The beds were nice but not the most comfortable. There is a Starbucks inside which was handy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Oyamel restaurant - ~10 minute walk down Pennsylvania Ave

Review of JW Marriott Washington, DC

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Franco the Frequent business traveler
Business
San Francisco, Ca.
Aug 1, 2011

Mediocre all around

Service was slow and rude from every department from checkin to wait staff in lounges and valet was always a 30-40 minute wait for car. Large group event at hotel that was extremely noisy until the late hours of the morning in both the hallways, lots of loud and intoxicated people wandering halls yelling after 1am and ballroom was blaring loud music until 1am. We were on the second floor. It was likely not so bad if you were on an upper floor. Hotel team did nothing about any aspect of our stay, no relocation to another room, no service improvement was offered and no attempt was made to produce customer satisfaction in any way. I will never stay at this hotel again. The said they were fully booked sorry! This hotel had no redeeming features except for close to the Whitehouse if you are on vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

I would not eat or drink at this hotel the service is super slow and staff are surley.

Review of JW Marriott Washington, DC

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Franco the Frequent business traveler
Business
San Francisco, Ca.
Aug 1, 2011

Mediocre all around

Service was slow and rude from every department from checkin to wait staff in lounges and valet was always a 30-40 minute wait for car. Large group event at hotel that was extremely noisy until the late hours of the morning in both the hallways, lots of loud and intoxicated people wandering halls yelling after 1am and ballroom was blaring loud music until 1am. We were on the second floor. It was likely not so bad if you were on an upper floor. Hotel team did nothing about any aspect of our stay, no relocation to another room, no service improvement was offered and no attempt was made to produce customer satisfaction in any way. I will never stay at this hotel again. The said they were fully booked sorry! This hotel had no redeeming features except for close to the Whitehouse if you are on vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

I would not eat or drink at this hotel the service is super slow and staff are surley.

Review of JW Marriott Washington, DC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jul 10, 2011

THE worst customer service EVER!

I checked in for a conference on a Friday evening. The man who attended me and checked me in was THE MOST RUDE person ever. He didn't give me a receipt when I checked in, he kept asking me the same questions repeatedly, and when I asked for a late check out the next day because the conference ended after 12 he said, "Sure, it will be an additional $125 and we can charge that to your room right now" Excuse me? Since when does 2 additional hours constitute nearly half a room stay? And what type of establishment does that? I am very disappointed in the accommodations and service. I am also very surprised because Marriotts are generally great hotels. Needless to say, don't stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott Washington, DC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jul 10, 2011

THE worst customer service EVER!

I checked in for a conference on a Friday evening. The man who attended me and checked me in was THE MOST RUDE person ever. He didn't give me a receipt when I checked in, he kept asking me the same questions repeatedly, and when I asked for a late check out the next day because the conference ended after 12 he said, "Sure, it will be an additional $125 and we can charge that to your room right now" Excuse me? Since when does 2 additional hours constitute nearly half a room stay? And what type of establishment does that? I am very disappointed in the accommodations and service. I am also very surprised because Marriotts are generally great hotels. Needless to say, don't stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott Washington, DC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago
Feb 16, 2011

Excellent hotel!

Service was excellent! The rooms were very clean and had the latest amenities. Security at hotel is excellent (especially for women traveling alone). Location is one of the best in D.C.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott Washington, DC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago
Feb 16, 2011

Excellent hotel!

Service was excellent! The rooms were very clean and had the latest amenities. Security at hotel is excellent (especially for women traveling alone). Location is one of the best in D.C.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott Washington, DC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lancaster, OH
Nov 12, 2010

JW Marriott

Good time, as always.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Mall, White House

Review of JW Marriott Washington, DC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lancaster, OH
Nov 12, 2010

JW Marriott

Good time, as always.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Mall, White House

Back to menu Return to top