$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 7, 2015 Check-out: Feb 9, 2015

JW Marriott Washington, DC

4 stars
1331 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, 1331 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20004
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
99 reviews
Mikayla's Birthday trip to DC.

This was the smoothest trip I've ever taken. I brought my 7 year old granddaughter to DC for her... See full review

  • Bill V.
  • Dec 6, 2014
4 Day DC Getaway

Excellent choice for our family of four to experience Washington in style, yet reasonably priced.... See full review

  • Joe and Carina
  • Nov 28, 2014
Luxury giant with full services

The JW Marriott Hotel Washington, DC offers all things to all customers. The towering building features a huge 772 luxuriously designed rooms, making it a great destination for guests looking for a hotel with a thriving, big city atmosphere. The hotel offers full facilities for the business traveler or executive looking to arrange for meetings, thanks to the 29 meeting rooms with a total of 37,000 square feet of meeting space.

3 Reasons to Stay:
  • AAA 3 Diamond standard hotel with the respected Marriott reputation

  • Popular location near to the key Washington DC attractions and Metro, and a bustling atmosphere

  • High quality on site dining, concierge level, and facilities in room

JW Marriott Hotel Washington, DC Rooms

The JW Marriott Hotel Washington, DC divides its many guest rooms into a choice range of king bed rooms, king or double rooms with enhanced views of Pennsylvania Avenue, larger size (450 square feet) standard guest rooms, and rooms on the Concierge level offering an increased level of service and luxury. All rooms feature fine linens with a 300-thread count, with thick mattresses to ensure guests get the best night's sleep. Evening and daytime entertainment is well cared for with the 37-inch TVs with HD, premium channels, and a facility to connect to cameras, laptops, or even MP3 players to become an instant audio system. For families who wish to stay close together without sharing rooms, some standard size rooms are available with a connecting door. For those with disabilities, accessible rooms are also available with bathroom grab bars, wheelchair-friendly toilet design, and roll in shower in some accessible rooms. Internet access is available for a fee throughout the hotel, with wired outlets in each room and wireless access in public areas.

Things to Do:
  • Washington Monument (0.6mi/0.9km)

  • Lincoln Memorial (1.6mi/2.6km)

  • Jefferson Memorial (2.7mi/4.3km)

  • White House (0.4mi/0.7km)

  • US Capitol (1.4mi/2.3km)

Policies and fees
  • Check in 4:00 pm

  • Check out 12:00 pm

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed JW Marriott Washington, DC also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0 mi
  • National Theatre: 0 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.1 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.2 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.2 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.4 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.4 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0 mi
  • National Theatre: 0 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.1 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.2 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.2 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.4 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.4 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • National Archives: 0.5 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.6 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.6 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.7 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.7 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 0.7 mi

Dining

Starbucks®
Starbucks® is conveniently located at our hotel. Enjoy your favorite Starbucks® beverages, plus fresh fruits, pastries and juices.
Avenue Grill
Enjoy a great view of Pennsylvania Avenue while dining at Avenue Grill. This American-style restaurant near the White House serves freshly prepared salads, seafood and steaks.
1331
Discover 1331 restaurant in Washington, DC. 1331 features the flavors of America throughout its casual dining menus.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (99)

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott Washington, DC

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
99 out of 99
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.9

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott Washington, DC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
iowa city, IA
Jul 13, 2010

good stuff

We were in DC for a conference and this was the conference hotel. It was very clean and the beds were VERY comfortable. Great that it had a pool especially since we were traveling with kids. It is very close to most of the major attractions. Staff was knowledgeable about the area and always available. May not be the cheapest in DC, but having stayed at several other hotels, I may pay the extra on future trips. The downside is having to pay $40 a night for parking, but that's DC for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Washington, DC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Jul 10, 2010

Downtown Washington DC

Great location in the middle of downtown DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Dunkin Donuts is on 17th St. Wish it was closer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Washington, DC

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Japan Associates
Business
Washington DC
Jul 6, 2010

"NEVER GOING AGAIN"

It was terrible because a family of 4 had to sleep in 1 king sized bed. And when we requested 2 twin bed rooms. The staff said that since we were [...] customers we could not have the 2 twin bed room. The staff told us that we could cancel the stay. And we agreed but then they told us that whey would Not give our money back. They said that the customers of [...] are their least priority. So we stayed there, they put us in a room for handicapped. There was no bathtub but just a shower. So we did Not Enjoy the stay. [...]The people at the front desk were really unkind. So I am going to tell everyone that I know that [...] and Marriott are not the best choice. It was a misery that we chose [...] and Marriott.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Washington, DC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tri-wife
Business
NC
Jun 21, 2010

JW MArriott

it was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Washington, DC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ros
Business
Nashville, Tennessee
May 12, 2010

Wonderful place to stay

Attended a tea at the White House with the First Lady, went sight seeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Since I was visiting the White House the Marriott was very convenient and saved me cab fare.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Washington, DC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ladue
Business
St. Louis
Nov 8, 2009

Great location

I had stayed at the JW 7 years ago. Quality of service, rooms, food have maintained a constant...that is great level, and I am picky. And, of course, the location is perfect...business or pleasure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Washington, DC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Festive Travelers
Business
Bakersfield, CA
Nov 1, 2009

Hospitality Abounds

The staff was very attentive to all our requests and spoke with us each time we passed them. They also knew about great resturants and arranged all our transportation needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The DC metro is two blocks from the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Washington, DC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 4, 2009

unbeatble location for the price!

Excellent location enabled us to do all that we wanted and more!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

good walk though.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Washington, DC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, Wi
Sep 14, 2009

fantastic place

It was a great place to stay...we were there for just 2 nights for the rally...the service was really top notch and everyone very helpful, the location was superb....we were 'right there."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Washington, DC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Finker
Business
Detroit, MI
Aug 29, 2009

First-class treatment

Easy access to downtown D.C.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top