$186 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 22, 2014 Check-out: May 25, 2014

JW Marriott Washington, DC

4 stars
1331 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, 1331 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20004
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
88 reviews
Washington D.C.

I see where the hotel is rated 3 star. I would give it 5 stars. Very nice place. Enjoyed the indoor... See full review

  • ijim
  • Oct 23, 2013
Amazing Stay!

The staff at JW were so friendly and helpful, the room was great, and walking distance to... See full review

  • Woodyslc81
  • Aug 13, 2013
Luxury giant with full services

The JW Marriott Hotel Washington, DC offers all things to all customers. The towering building features a huge 772 luxuriously designed rooms, making it a great destination for guests looking for a hotel with a thriving, big city atmosphere. The hotel offers full facilities for the business traveler or executive looking to arrange for meetings, thanks to the 29 meeting rooms with a total of 37,000 square feet of meeting space.

3 Reasons to Stay:
  • AAA 3 Diamond standard hotel with the respected Marriott reputation

  • Popular location near to the key Washington DC attractions and Metro, and a bustling atmosphere

  • High quality on site dining, concierge level, and facilities in room

JW Marriott Hotel Washington, DC Rooms

The JW Marriott Hotel Washington, DC divides its many guest rooms into a choice range of king bed rooms, king or double rooms with enhanced views of Pennsylvania Avenue, larger size (450 square feet) standard guest rooms, and rooms on the Concierge level offering an increased level of service and luxury. All rooms feature fine linens with a 300-thread count, with thick mattresses to ensure guests get the best night's sleep. Evening and daytime entertainment is well cared for with the 37-inch TVs with HD, premium channels, and a facility to connect to cameras, laptops, or even MP3 players to become an instant audio system. For families who wish to stay close together without sharing rooms, some standard size rooms are available with a connecting door. For those with disabilities, accessible rooms are also available with bathroom grab bars, wheelchair-friendly toilet design, and roll in shower in some accessible rooms. Internet access is available for a fee throughout the hotel, with wired outlets in each room and wireless access in public areas.

Things to Do:
  • Washington Monument (0.6mi/0.9km)

  • Lincoln Memorial (1.6mi/2.6km)

  • Jefferson Memorial (2.7mi/4.3km)

  • White House (0.4mi/0.7km)

  • US Capitol (1.4mi/2.3km)

Policies and fees
  • Check in 4:00 pm

  • Check out 12:00 pm

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Wet bar

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed JW Marriott Washington, DC also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.8963 -77.0309
Nearby airports
Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport, (DCA), 4.00, MI, N; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 27.00, MI, E; Baltimore/Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport, (BWI), 32.00, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Nearby points of interest

  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0 mi
  • National Theatre: 0 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.1 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.2 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.2 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.4 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.4 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0 mi
  • National Theatre: 0 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.1 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.2 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.2 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.4 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.4 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • National Archives: 0.5 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.6 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.6 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.7 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.7 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 0.7 mi

Dining

Starbucks®
Starbucks is conveniently located at our hotel. Enjoy your favorite Starbucks beverages, plus fresh fruits, pastries and juices.
Avenue Grill
Enjoy a great view of Pennsylvania Avenue while dining at Avenue Grill. This American-style restaurant near the White House serves freshly prepared salads, seafood and steaks.
1331
Discover 1331 restaurant in Washington, DC. 1331 features the flavors of America throughout its casual dining menus.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (88)

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott Washington, DC

Overall score

4.2 / 5
88 out of 88
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.9

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott Washington, DC

Reviewer score

4
MBWright
Business
Iowa
Feb 28, 2013

JW Marriott

Good location to get around to where I needed to be on the Hill. Room was nice and clean. Fitness center was good. Overall a nice place to stay when in DC for business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott Washington, DC

Reviewer score

4
MONDIE
ST AUGUSTINE FL
Jan 29, 2013

As close to the MALL as you can get !

Best possible location at fair price !! I Would stay there at any time in DC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

14 ST AND PENN AVE CHECK THE MAP TO THE MUSEUMS

Review of JW Marriott Washington, DC

Reviewer score

3
DC Enthusiast
Richmond, Virginia
Jan 7, 2013

Great location but...caveat emptor!

Overall, we really enjoyed our weekend stay. First, I will mention the pros. The location was absolutely excellent. It is within very close walking distance to all of the major attractions. The White House is two blocks away. The Metro Center subway station is just 2 blocks away. There are many restaurants and a pharmacy within close walking distance of the hotel as well as several higher-end shopping options in the immediate vicinity. There is a “well-known brand name” coffee shop in the hotel. The restaurant/breakfast area is also very nice. The breakfast buffet is expansive, delicious and reasonable for a large, big city hotel which is right in the heart of the Downtown Area. The staff was very prompt, thorough and courteous. The rooms were fairly nicely appointed. The off-season timing also made this hotel an exceptional value considering the usual rates. However, there were several cons. The biggest detriment is the small size of the rooms. If you are traveling as a family, especially with greater than 3 total members, this may not be the hotel for you. If this is your absolute choice, I strongly suggest you consider a suite. There is very little extra space around the beds and other furniture. We requested a crib which took up nearly all of the floor space in the room with the exception of just enough area to maneuver around the beds, dresser and desk. The microfridge comes stocked with beverages and leaves almost no additional space for your personal items. Part of the limited desk space is taken up by an automated snack center which is filled with very expensive items that I am certain few guests ever utilize. The extra space would probably be more useful for most guests. The room decorations, moldings and fixtures, while at one time were likely quite nice and luxurious, are now showing their age and wear and could benefit from a bit of renovation. The bathroom leaves no room for maneuvering. There is only one sink and only one person can be in the bathroom at one time to do anything. This creates a great deal of congestion and really slows down the morning and bedtime routine. The positioning of the bathroom fixtures and door makes it extremely difficult to assist children with bathing. There is also no exhaust fan which allows the room to become rather humid after several people take a shower. Finally, there are no microwaves available for use in the rooms which makes it challenging for families with babies to prepare food. All things considered, we very much enjoyed our stay at the hotel but do not feel that it quite deserves its 4 start rating; perhaps a 3 or 3.5 would be more appropriate. However, if location and convenience to attractions, entertainment, transportation and cuisine is your metric, the hotel would be an excellent choice. Conversely, if you are traveling as a family or group, you may wish to consider some of the things noted above and weigh your options carefully. We would likely stay here as a family again but only if we choose to splurge for a suite. ** NOTE: We actually stayed in January 2013 but the website did not provide '2013' as a year choice. **

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Metro Center subway station is just 2 blocks away and provides access to 3 of the 5 Metro lines (Red, Orange and Blue).

Review of JW Marriott Washington, DC

Reviewer score

4
HollyCA
San Diego, CA
Jan 4, 2013

Great location

This hotel is in walking distance to almost everything! We were able to walk to many locations including the White House, The Capital, Ford's Theater, The National Archives, and the American History and Natural History museums. The room was a little small, but very clean. The only downside would be that the concierge was not a lot of help. Overall, we had a great experience though. The Starbuck's in the Lobby was a huge bonus with VERY friendly baristas who remembered our coffee orders after a couple of days!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hamilton at 600 14th Street is a very short walk from the hotel. The prices are reasonable, and it's a great experience.

Review of JW Marriott Washington, DC

Reviewer score

4
G.V.
Fort Lauderdale
Nov 27, 2012

D.C. Thanksgiving!

We found the hotel to be comfortable and convenient. Two blocks from the White House and easy walking distance to the National Mall, Washington Monument, and Lincoln Memorial. Thanksgiving dinner at J.W. Marriott was excellent! D.C. Trails bus tour to Mount Vernon was interesting and enjoyable. I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to see D.C.!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Corner bakery has great coffee and breakfast fare.

Review of JW Marriott Washington, DC

Reviewer score

3
Andrea Opinion
Business
Denver, CO
Oct 14, 2012

Great location, great service, room impression average

I have stayed at many Marriott properties includes 4 and 5 star properties. This was a very nice hotel but didn't impress me as 4 star. The location alone could have made it 5 stars (2 blocks from the White House and close to terrific restaurants). The service was great, but the hotel seemed worn. The decor seemed dated. My room was small. The beds were nice but not the most comfortable. There is a Starbucks inside which was handy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Oyamel restaurant - ~10 minute walk down Pennsylvania Ave

Review of JW Marriott Washington, DC

Reviewer score

5
Theresa
Southampton, England
Sep 19, 2012

Brilliant hotel, brilliant location

My mum and I stayed at the JW Marriott from 6th to 10th September 2012. Everything about the hotel was absolutely first class. The lift does take a little getting used to, but to be honest once I had worked it out, it was as easy as anything to use. All you need to do is press the number of the floor you want, and it tells you which lift to take. Room was spotlessly clean. Really nice shampoos etc were left in the bathroom. The only thing you need to watch out for is the mini bar. The drinks and sweets are kept on a weighing machine. If you move it by mistake or take it off to look at, it automatically charges to your room. It was no problem though, I was charged $7 for something that I didn't have and they changed it right away without any question. Going back to the room, it has tea coffee making facilities, bathrobes, a great shower and an iron and ironing board. The location was fantastic, just a couple of blocks from the White House. Turn left and down to the traffic lights - turn right and cross the road, you reach the hop on hop off bus stop. If you go out of the hotel, turn right, on the corner is a great breakfast diner. There are plenty of really nice restaurants to eat at during the evening, within walking distance of the hotel. Recommended trips: Definitely the hop on hop off bus tours, the night time bus tour of the sights. We did the Smithsonian Air and Space Museum, well worth a visit as is Fords Theatre (where Lincoln was assassinated). Unfortunately we didn't have time to go to Arlington Cemetery, but that will give us an excuse to go back. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would love to go back again some day. Make the most of the hotel swimming pool and jacuzzi - great after you have been walking all day. Highlight - seeing the Capitol building, I thought it was more impressive than the White House!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of JW Marriott Washington, DC

Reviewer score

4
Clarkeny
Brooklyn, NY
Aug 20, 2012

Excellent choice for a Washington DC stay.

The hotel is well adorned and beautiful, in addition the staff are very professional and attentive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of JW Marriott Washington, DC

Reviewer score

5
Lia Travel Lover
Newburg, Pa
Aug 14, 2012

Great Deal

The hotel is located close to all the sites. Can easily walk to museums.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of JW Marriott Washington, DC

Reviewer score

4
ChiTown Mom
Chicago
Aug 7, 2012

Friendly staff but didn't get the service promised.

I called to confirm that our room included 2 double beds since we had our two kids with us and was told that we would indeed have a double room. Upon check-in I was told they were "over-booked" on double rooms and we were given 1 King bed and a roll away for 2 adults and 2 kids (one being 16 yrs old). The room was very small to accomodate all 4 of us. The location is what sold us on this hotel, you can't beat 2 blocks from the WH and walking distance to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top