$199 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C.

5 stars
1401 Pennsylvania Ave Nw, Washington, DC 20004
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
65 reviews
Fantastic location

Fantastic location and fantastic service. I was well taken care of during my stay for a... See full review

  • Redheaded Runner
  • Sep 15, 2014
Wonderful!!

From the time we pulled up to the Willard, it was amazing. I took my 3 teenage daughter's to see... See full review

  • SooperMommi
  • Sep 2, 2014
D.C. hotel a home to presidents, literary and social figures of note

A historic landmark, the Willard InterContinental Washington has hosted almost every United States president in office since it opened in 1901. The luxurious, magical atmosphere of this famous hotel has attracted many a celebrity. The walls whisper stories of famed guests including Mark Twain, Walt Whitman, the Reverend Martin Luther King Jr. and Charles Dickens. There's a 24-hour fitness facility, on-site Red Door Spa, and several delectable dining options. Spacious rooms and suites seem fit for royalty.

Highlights
  • Historic landmark has hosted Mark Twain, the Reverend Martin Luther King Jr., and many U.S. presidents
  • The on-site Red Door Spa
  • Four upscale, on-site restaurants
Location

The Willard InterContinental Washington is one block from the White House in downtown D.C. and a short walk to the Metro, National Mall and convention center.

Rooms

The decor at the Willard InterContinental Washington evokes history and elegance with lavish fabrics in gold hues. Modern technology and amenities are not forgotten. Expect flat-screen televisions, mini-bar, international channels, bathrobe, music systems and DVD players. Some of the finest suites in the city are offered at the Willard InterContinental Washington. The executive suite has two entrances, two bathrooms, a parlor with dining table, and an elegant sitting area.

Features

The Elizabeth Arden Red Door Spa is on the second floor of the hotel and offers guests an array of luxurious services. The fitness center is open 24 hours. High-speed Internet (fees apply) and valet parking (fees apply) are available.

Dining

The Willard InterContinental Washington's charming French bistro Cafe du Parc serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The famous D.C. restaurant Occidental Grill & Seafood is open for lunch or dinner. At the Round Robin Bar, famous politician Henry Clay mixed D.C.'s first Mint Julep, which is the bar's signature drink. Peacock Alley Tea serves high tea.

Transportation
  • Metro Center Metro stop (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Regan National Airport (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (23 mi/38 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/44 km)
Attractions
  • The White House (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • The National Mall (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • The Washington Monument (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Dupont Circle (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • The Smithsonian Institution (1.1 mi/1.6 km)
  • United States Capitol (1.2 mi/2 km)
Business
  • Expansive business center
  • 22,000 square feet of meeting/event space
  • Executive office suites

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C. also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.1 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.2 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.2 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.3 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.3 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.3 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • Blair House: 0.4 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.4 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.1 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.2 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.2 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.3 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.3 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.3 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • Blair House: 0.4 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.5 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.5 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.5 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Monument: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • National Archives: 0.6 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.6 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.7 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.7 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.7 mi
  • Newseum: 0.7 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.8 mi

Dining

The Old Ebbitt Grill
The oldest Restaurant in Washingtonwith a great American menuficussing on fresh ingredients and classic recepies.open for Breakfast,Lunch and Dinner, popular meeting place for political insiders and celebrities.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (65)

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C.

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Redheaded Runner
Business
Houston, Texas
Sep 15, 2014

Fantastic location

Fantastic location and fantastic service. I was well taken care of during my stay for a half-marathon that I was running while in Washington. It would have been better if the ice machine on my floor was operable, but not a big deal for me. This trip has been one of the best I have taken.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SooperMommi
Business
Kent, Ohio
Sep 2, 2014

Wonderful!!

From the time we pulled up to the Willard, it was amazing. I took my 3 teenage daughter's to see the sights of D.C. over the holiday weekend and it was spectacular. We were literally one block from the White House and walking distance to absolutely everything. The room was spacious, comfortable and the service, staff and amenities were great. We stayed one night but over the course of 2 days, in 5 hours, we saw everything, walked the streets and enjoyed some good food. We dined in the hotel as well, it was expensive but for what I paid for the room, two-forty, it was no problem. We also ate at local eateries and food was good. I would recommend Ollie Trolleys, a few blocks from hotel. Valet was a bit pricey at fifty a night. I never took my car back out as anything I needed was nearby with a short walk. Took a cab a few times just for the sake of time and it wasn't too pricey. overall, this was a great stay, and when I return to D.C., the Willard is where I will stay!!! Thanks Willard staff, Ashlyn, for your friendliness, courteousness, etc. was superb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Springer travel
Business
England
Aug 28, 2014

Perfect hotel to go with a lovely city

Stayed at the Willard for a long weekend. Beautiful hotel, lots of space to sit. Restaurants are the best quality, yummy breakfast too. Perfect location, White House around the corner, walking distance to Capitol, all museums and memorials.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Georgetown - great part of DC, pretty streets full of shops. Remember to see the canal (Lock 4 area in particular).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jsdennehy
Business
boston
Aug 13, 2014

Tourist location

It was clean and comfortable. It's location was perfect to walk and tour the sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anrec80
Business
New York, NY
Aug 5, 2014

Great hotel, excellent service

Historic, amazingly maintained building. Staff is professional and courteous, rooms and hallways are sparkling clean. Location close to White House and all landmarks. Bus tours depart right from the front of the hotel. Would stay again when in DC next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

White House

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NyMB820
Business
Westchester, new york
Jul 28, 2014

A last minute, one night stay.

For starters, this trip was booked last minute, just days before I went on a busy travel weekend. I am an loyalty member of the hotel, so I try to stay at their family of hotels. The rate I paid for this luxury hotel was comparable to mid-level/average hotels, so I got lucky. Hotel Look and Feel: 10/10 – the hotel was very elegant, and opulently decorated. Service:10/10 - the room wasn’t ready when I got there (many hours before actual check in) but they took my luggage and texted me when the room was ready; which was still hours before the stated check in time. Room: 10/10 - As an loyalty member, I get an automatic upgrade if available, but the front desk staff were awesome and bumped me up a few more levels. The room was huge and amazing. the rooms fit the elegant style of the overall hotel. THE VIEW was great ; the Washington monument out of one window (FULL VIEW nothing blocking it) and the treasury building out of the other. Cleanliness: 10/10 – the room was spotless and so were the common areas. The carpets all seemed well vacuumed and the floors well dusted. Hotel food: 7/10 We had a late lunch and Sunday brunch at the Café De Parc. The food we had was great, but there wasn’t much variety and no Eggs Benedict! (ai reduced the amenities rating due to the lack of food variety. Lastly, the hotel is perfectly located for walking to all the monuments. however it is a stop on the ho-on/off bus route. I will stay here again the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ND Couple
Business
Williston, ND
Jul 16, 2014

Nice visit to DC

I am surprised that the hotel of this caliber does not replace their beds on a regular basis. They simply put a down comforter under the sheets to try and make the bed more comfortable. Bed was OK but was definitely in need of replacement as my wife constantly rolled towards me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is just across from the White House putting it within walking distance to many sites.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jaye Small Business Owner
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 4, 2014

I'm staying here again

The staff was very hospitable from the minute my taxi cabb pulled to the front, to the time I checked out. Excellent location, room immaculate, and a sure 5 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Great dining in the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
skipt
Business
lovington nm
Apr 25, 2014

a perfect place

the food, the location and the service is impeccable the history and the amenities make it an ideal place to stay while touring DC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

the corner diner has great food at very reasonable prices

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LBandTony
Business
NYC
Apr 16, 2014

Fantastic location and stunning architecture

The Willard is a world famous hotel and enjoyed that historic feel. However, the internet went down 5 times in one morning, there was not sufficient hot water and the heat/ac controls didn't seem to work. Disappointing. Oh, the concierge is lovely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top