$269 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 20, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C.

5 stars
1401 Pennsylvania Ave Nw, Washington, DC 20004
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
65 reviews
Fantastic location

Fantastic location and fantastic service. I was well taken care of during my stay for a... See full review

  • Redheaded Runner
  • Sep 15, 2014
Wonderful!!

From the time we pulled up to the Willard, it was amazing. I took my 3 teenage daughter's to see... See full review

  • SooperMommi
  • Sep 2, 2014
D.C. hotel a home to presidents, literary and social figures of note

A historic landmark, the Willard InterContinental Washington has hosted almost every United States president in office since it opened in 1901. The luxurious, magical atmosphere of this famous hotel has attracted many a celebrity. The walls whisper stories of famed guests including Mark Twain, Walt Whitman, the Reverend Martin Luther King Jr. and Charles Dickens. There's a 24-hour fitness facility, on-site Red Door Spa, and several delectable dining options. Spacious rooms and suites seem fit for royalty.

Highlights
  • Historic landmark has hosted Mark Twain, the Reverend Martin Luther King Jr., and many U.S. presidents
  • The on-site Red Door Spa
  • Four upscale, on-site restaurants
Location

The Willard InterContinental Washington is one block from the White House in downtown D.C. and a short walk to the Metro, National Mall and convention center.

Rooms

The decor at the Willard InterContinental Washington evokes history and elegance with lavish fabrics in gold hues. Modern technology and amenities are not forgotten. Expect flat-screen televisions, mini-bar, international channels, bathrobe, music systems and DVD players. Some of the finest suites in the city are offered at the Willard InterContinental Washington. The executive suite has two entrances, two bathrooms, a parlor with dining table, and an elegant sitting area.

Features

The Elizabeth Arden Red Door Spa is on the second floor of the hotel and offers guests an array of luxurious services. The fitness center is open 24 hours. High-speed Internet (fees apply) and valet parking (fees apply) are available.

Dining

The Willard InterContinental Washington's charming French bistro Cafe du Parc serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The famous D.C. restaurant Occidental Grill & Seafood is open for lunch or dinner. At the Round Robin Bar, famous politician Henry Clay mixed D.C.'s first Mint Julep, which is the bar's signature drink. Peacock Alley Tea serves high tea.

Transportation
  • Metro Center Metro stop (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Regan National Airport (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (23 mi/38 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/44 km)
Attractions
  • The White House (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • The National Mall (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • The Washington Monument (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Dupont Circle (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • The Smithsonian Institution (1.1 mi/1.6 km)
  • United States Capitol (1.2 mi/2 km)
Business
  • Expansive business center
  • 22,000 square feet of meeting/event space
  • Executive office suites

Hotel Map

38.897 -77.0325
Nearby airports
Baltimore-Washington International Thurgood Marsha, (BWI), 40.00, MI; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 26.00, MI; Reagan National Airport, (DCA), 5.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C. also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.1 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.2 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.2 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.3 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.3 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.3 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • Blair House: 0.4 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.4 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.1 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.2 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.2 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.3 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.3 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.3 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • Blair House: 0.4 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.5 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.5 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.5 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Monument: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • National Archives: 0.6 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.6 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.7 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.7 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.7 mi
  • Newseum: 0.7 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.8 mi

Dining

The Old Ebbitt Grill
The oldest Restaurant in Washingtonwith a great American menuficussing on fresh ingredients and classic recepies.open for Breakfast,Lunch and Dinner, popular meeting place for political insiders and celebrities.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (65)

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C.

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jsdennehy
boston
Aug 13, 2014

Tourist location

It was clean and comfortable. It's location was perfect to walk and tour the sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miramar, Florida
Sep 27, 2009

Beautiful hotel, location fabulous

The best of all the spacious room/bathroom

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Located right near (walking distance) the white house, monument, old post office, archives,museum (the national mall)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jaye Small Business Owner
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 4, 2014

I'm staying here again

The staff was very hospitable from the minute my taxi cabb pulled to the front, to the time I checked out. Excellent location, room immaculate, and a sure 5 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Great dining in the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
immyumi
Chicago
Jan 3, 2013

Vert nice stay

Everything in the hotel is historical and classic. The room is clean, big and very pretty. Also, every attraction place is within walking distance, therefore very convenient. Me and my family had a very good time staying in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DC sghtseer
Ventura, CA
May 21, 2009

A great hotel!

The hotel is in a perfect location for sightseeing Washington DC. It is a block from the White House and a long walk to all the monuments, the Mall and the museums. We even walked to the Capital, the Supreme Court and the National Arcives. A huge choice of great restaruants are within a short walking distance. For everything else we caught the Open-top double decker bus that has a stop in front of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Irvine, CA
Oct 1, 2010

Great Stay

This was our first visit to Washington, D.C., and everything dazzled us - but especially the Willard. The room we had overlooked Pershing Park, right next to the White House. When we arrived, we could see the Washington Monument out our window, and a brief look to the right revealed the Lincoln Memorial. At sunrise on our first day, traffic beneath our window was stopped. Police lights flashed. Nine or ten black SUVs poured out of the White House and headed south on 14th followed by an ambulance. It was the President on his way somewhere, and my wife and I were impressed.We stayed a full week and had a tour of the White House and Congress. Both tours had to be arranged through our representatives, both took some six months to line up, and both were spectacular. All the Smithsonian Museums are free, and we took full advantage, checking out everything from the Wright Brothers' Kitty Hawk and the original Declaration of Independence to the American flag that flew over Fort McHenry and inspired our National Anthem. Amazing. We visited the Lincoln Memorial a few times, and each time we were so moved we had to leave - which is why we kept going back. To stand at the spot where Martin Luther King said, "I have a dream," and to look out across the mall to the Washington Monument and see the Capitol Building in the background... No matter what follies Americans engage in, we have a reassuring foundation of greatness and nobility. But, you want to hear about the hotel. Late one night, my wife and I wanted a cookie. We asked the concierge. He directed us to the restaurant at the Willard, and, sure enough, we found exactly what we wanted. The next evening, after a full day of museums and miles of walking, we returned to our room to find two waters, a plate full of cookies, and a note, "Compliments of the concierge, [...]." The place is supremely elegant, intriguingly visited often by men with little coiled wires behind their ears and by innumerable, black SUVs, centrally and conveniently located - if you're going to Washington, D.C., to get some sort of experience at the seat of American power, this is place. But surpassing all expectations was [...]'s friendly touch - the cookies. It was the cookies that conveyed the spirit of the Willard, and we loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ebbit Grill.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sewnosy
Stephenville, Texas
Aug 11, 2011

Our Willard stay was perfection

Great location--we walked everywhere, even to dinner 3 nights at 3 different restaurants. The service is outstanding, the hotel is beautiful and our 2 queen room was very spacious. Information about all attractions is readily available through the concierge. We ate breakfast there the first morning and out the rest of the time. Easy walk to Corner Bakery and McDonald's. Many retail businesses within walking distance. Cabs plentiful and easy walk to Metro line. Would definately go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

DC food is expensive--but very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Meme of The Woodlands
The Woodlands Texas
Mar 16, 2010

Willard Washing DC

GREAT location so close to all the sights of the DC area!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Old Ebbitts Grill was Great you need reservations. Sat. we ate at the Ocidental Steak House it was very nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
Oct 26, 2009

Willard escape

Fabulous location with excellent service from all staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Pass on going up in the Washington Monument to view the city, and go to the US Postal Office and take a look from their clock tower...for free.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NyMB820
Westchester, new york
Jul 28, 2014

A last minute, one night stay.

For starters, this trip was booked last minute, just days before I went on a busy travel weekend. I am an loyalty member of the hotel, so I try to stay at their family of hotels. The rate I paid for this luxury hotel was comparable to mid-level/average hotels, so I got lucky. Hotel Look and Feel: 10/10 – the hotel was very elegant, and opulently decorated. Service:10/10 - the room wasn’t ready when I got there (many hours before actual check in) but they took my luggage and texted me when the room was ready; which was still hours before the stated check in time. Room: 10/10 - As an loyalty member, I get an automatic upgrade if available, but the front desk staff were awesome and bumped me up a few more levels. The room was huge and amazing. the rooms fit the elegant style of the overall hotel. THE VIEW was great ; the Washington monument out of one window (FULL VIEW nothing blocking it) and the treasury building out of the other. Cleanliness: 10/10 – the room was spotless and so were the common areas. The carpets all seemed well vacuumed and the floors well dusted. Hotel food: 7/10 We had a late lunch and Sunday brunch at the Café De Parc. The food we had was great, but there wasn’t much variety and no Eggs Benedict! (ai reduced the amenities rating due to the lack of food variety. Lastly, the hotel is perfectly located for walking to all the monuments. however it is a stop on the ho-on/off bus route. I will stay here again the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search