$198 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 20, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C.

5 stars
1401 Pennsylvania Ave Nw, Washington, DC 20004
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
65 reviews
Fantastic location

Fantastic location and fantastic service. I was well taken care of during my stay for a... See full review

  • Redheaded Runner
  • Sep 15, 2014
Wonderful!!

From the time we pulled up to the Willard, it was amazing. I took my 3 teenage daughter's to see... See full review

  • SooperMommi
  • Sep 2, 2014
D.C. hotel a home to presidents, literary and social figures of note

A historic landmark, the Willard InterContinental Washington has hosted almost every United States president in office since it opened in 1901. The luxurious, magical atmosphere of this famous hotel has attracted many a celebrity. The walls whisper stories of famed guests including Mark Twain, Walt Whitman, the Reverend Martin Luther King Jr. and Charles Dickens. There's a 24-hour fitness facility, on-site Red Door Spa, and several delectable dining options. Spacious rooms and suites seem fit for royalty.

Highlights
  • Historic landmark has hosted Mark Twain, the Reverend Martin Luther King Jr., and many U.S. presidents
  • The on-site Red Door Spa
  • Four upscale, on-site restaurants
Location

The Willard InterContinental Washington is one block from the White House in downtown D.C. and a short walk to the Metro, National Mall and convention center.

Rooms

The decor at the Willard InterContinental Washington evokes history and elegance with lavish fabrics in gold hues. Modern technology and amenities are not forgotten. Expect flat-screen televisions, mini-bar, international channels, bathrobe, music systems and DVD players. Some of the finest suites in the city are offered at the Willard InterContinental Washington. The executive suite has two entrances, two bathrooms, a parlor with dining table, and an elegant sitting area.

Features

The Elizabeth Arden Red Door Spa is on the second floor of the hotel and offers guests an array of luxurious services. The fitness center is open 24 hours. High-speed Internet (fees apply) and valet parking (fees apply) are available.

Dining

The Willard InterContinental Washington's charming French bistro Cafe du Parc serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The famous D.C. restaurant Occidental Grill & Seafood is open for lunch or dinner. At the Round Robin Bar, famous politician Henry Clay mixed D.C.'s first Mint Julep, which is the bar's signature drink. Peacock Alley Tea serves high tea.

Transportation
  • Metro Center Metro stop (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Regan National Airport (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (23 mi/38 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/44 km)
Attractions
  • The White House (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • The National Mall (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • The Washington Monument (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Dupont Circle (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • The Smithsonian Institution (1.1 mi/1.6 km)
  • United States Capitol (1.2 mi/2 km)
Business
  • Expansive business center
  • 22,000 square feet of meeting/event space
  • Executive office suites

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C. also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.1 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.2 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.2 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.3 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.3 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.3 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • Blair House: 0.4 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.4 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.1 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.2 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.2 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.3 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.3 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.3 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • Blair House: 0.4 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.5 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.5 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.5 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Monument: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • National Archives: 0.6 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.6 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.7 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.7 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.7 mi
  • Newseum: 0.7 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.8 mi

Dining

The Old Ebbitt Grill
The oldest Restaurant in Washingtonwith a great American menuficussing on fresh ingredients and classic recepies.open for Breakfast,Lunch and Dinner, popular meeting place for political insiders and celebrities.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (65)

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C.

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
immyumi
Chicago
Jan 3, 2013

Vert nice stay

Everything in the hotel is historical and classic. The room is clean, big and very pretty. Also, every attraction place is within walking distance, therefore very convenient. Me and my family had a very good time staying in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C.

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JIL
Business
New York City
Apr 27, 2011

Willard Hotel needs a big updating!

Location of the hotel was the best, but service and professionalism of the hotel's staff was not up to par for the 4 star rating. Although the lobby was beautiful, carpets needs replacing, the walls throughout the hotel need painting, the rooms are spacious although dated and furnishings in our room were well used and needs to be replaced. The overall experience was less than pleasant and not worth the money. We thought the hotel was VERY expensive ($400.00 a night for standard room) for the services and room provided. I wish I had checked on current reviews for this hotel, because I would never have booked this overrated hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C.

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Feb 17, 2010

Don't bother - waste of money

THe experiance was miserable. The hotel was having construction on several floors and did not inform of the noise that we would have to suffer through House keeping barged into rooms. Room utilities did not function or work properly (hair dryer, refrigerator).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LBandTony
Business
NYC
Apr 16, 2014

Fantastic location and stunning architecture

The Willard is a world famous hotel and enjoyed that historic feel. However, the internet went down 5 times in one morning, there was not sufficient hot water and the heat/ac controls didn't seem to work. Disappointing. Oh, the concierge is lovely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JounalistReporter
Business
Virginia
Sep 11, 2012

Indifferent Staff At Great Hotel

The Willard is a great hotel but our stay demonstrated the hotel is understaffed and without a serious dining room. This should be the best hotel in Washingon but as an example of the problem minor issues in our room were never repaired over four days. Turn down service never occurred. The room was never properly cleaned. The rooms remain large and pleasant and the lobby is terrific. The front desk team is unfriendly and not very helpful. This is a great property waiting for management to match.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sushi at the Hamilton is first rate

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
the villages, florida
Oct 20, 2009

[...]

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Nov 15, 2010

Average and overpriced for what you pay

This was my first time going to DC, so I wanted to splurge a little and stay at the best place. The Good: - We were able to check in a lot early (around 11am) - Nice location if you are going to visit the DC monuments b\c you can walk there - The room is a nice size and clean - The outside cafe is a nice place to have a glass of wine and people watch The Bad: - No choice but to pay for parking ($35 overnight) - For the price you pay....there arent any extra perks except a free newspaper in the AM. I'm not a cheapskate by any means, but the SENSORED bar makes you pay for water, coffee, anything extra. As soon as u pick something up - You Bought It! - The "Round Robin & Scotch Bar" Bar is sloppy looking, small, and just all together not a great atmosphere. It wasn't packed by any means, and to get a drink took about 10 minutes. We were very excited to check out this round style bar and have some drinks but we couldn't wait to finish our 1 drink and leave. - All food places around you are pricey! Downtown DC however has very affordable and nice dining/bars options. - The bell hops standing outside were trying to make me pay the $35 even though I charged it to my room. There are WAY too many people outside surrounding you in front of the hotel...most of the time they are just "hanging out" outside. Overall: Average hotel but for what you pay there are better options in the area that are just as close to the attractions. I've stayed at cheaper hotels and just had an overall better experience. I'm pretty easy to please, but I left The Willard just thinking I threw away alot of money and didn't get much out of it. My advice, check out other hotels....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Dec 14, 2009

Rusty stars

The hotel did not live up to my expectations. This is a historic building, but the room condition was not suitable for a 5-star hotel. I have read many great reviews of the hotel, and probably the other guests were delighted just being in this hotel forgiving them their negligence or applying the "historic building" excuse to the decaying room conditions. The staff was friendly and helpful enough so no complains there. The location of the hotel is superb for visiting the museums and other historic attractions. I was told that the hotel is undergoing renovations, but as it is now it should not be marketed as a 5 star hotel. I have stayed in better 4 star hotels in Eastern Europe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
none 123
Business
Rochester, NY, USA
Dec 9, 2011

Early December visit

The hotel was beautiful, decked out for the holidays. Staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and spacious except for the closest. there was not enough room to hang clothes for two for a three day stay. The safe takes up most of the space where clothes would hang. The doors don't open all the way so getting things in and out of the small closet was difficult. Room service dishes were left out in the hall from another room for most of the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tanima
Business
Boston, MA
Sep 19, 2012

Excellent Location

This hotel is in the perfect location, just a short walk from the White House and the Monuments. There are lots of restaurant choices in the area. CVS is a couple of blocks away and there plenty of Starbucks. No need for a rental car unless you want to explore other cities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of choices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Davos Seaworth
Business
Westoros
May 21, 2013

Average

Lobby looks great, but the room interiors appeared a bit dated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top