$259 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: May 30, 2015

InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C.

5 stars
View map of 1401 Pennsylvania Ave Nw, Washington, DC 20004

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C.

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
69 out of 69
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anrec80
Business
New York, NY
Aug 5, 2014

Great hotel, excellent service

Historic, amazingly maintained building. Staff is professional and courteous, rooms and hallways are sparkling clean. Location close to White House and all landmarks. Bus tours depart right from the front of the hotel. Would stay again when in DC next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

White House

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jsdennehy
Business
boston
Aug 13, 2014

Tourist location

It was clean and comfortable. It's location was perfect to walk and tour the sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Springer travel
Business
England
Aug 28, 2014

Perfect hotel to go with a lovely city

Stayed at the Willard for a long weekend. Beautiful hotel, lots of space to sit. Restaurants are the best quality, yummy breakfast too. Perfect location, White House around the corner, walking distance to Capitol, all museums and memorials.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Georgetown - great part of DC, pretty streets full of shops. Remember to see the canal (Lock 4 area in particular).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SooperMommi
Business
Kent, Ohio
Sep 2, 2014

Wonderful!!

From the time we pulled up to the Willard, it was amazing. I took my 3 teenage daughter's to see the sights of D.C. over the holiday weekend and it was spectacular. We were literally one block from the White House and walking distance to absolutely everything. The room was spacious, comfortable and the service, staff and amenities were great. We stayed one night but over the course of 2 days, in 5 hours, we saw everything, walked the streets and enjoyed some good food. We dined in the hotel as well, it was expensive but for what I paid for the room, two-forty, it was no problem. We also ate at local eateries and food was good. I would recommend Ollie Trolleys, a few blocks from hotel. Valet was a bit pricey at fifty a night. I never took my car back out as anything I needed was nearby with a short walk. Took a cab a few times just for the sake of time and it wasn't too pricey. overall, this was a great stay, and when I return to D.C., the Willard is where I will stay!!! Thanks Willard staff, Ashlyn, for your friendliness, courteousness, etc. was superb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Redheaded Runner
Business
Houston, Texas
Sep 15, 2014

Fantastic location

Fantastic location and fantastic service. I was well taken care of during my stay for a half-marathon that I was running while in Washington. It would have been better if the ice machine on my floor was operable, but not a big deal for me. This trip has been one of the best I have taken.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Checking In Please
Business
Miami, Florida
Jan 4, 2010

BEST Hotel in DC!!!!

I have never had such a great experience with a hotel in the US. The staff was excellent and even though there was a great deal of people during the Christmas and New Year's season, it was all handled very carefully with a great attention to detail. There is a large number of rooms with a great deal of people but inside the rooms you can't even hear a pin drop. The hotel manager, [...]is an abosulte dear who is always on top of everything going on in the hotel. Duing this season, they even brought in carolers to spread the Christmas cheer!! In order to fully experience the best in DC, you MUST stay at The Willard!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Irvine, CA
Oct 1, 2010

Great Stay

This was our first visit to Washington, D.C., and everything dazzled us - but especially the Willard. The room we had overlooked Pershing Park, right next to the White House. When we arrived, we could see the Washington Monument out our window, and a brief look to the right revealed the Lincoln Memorial. At sunrise on our first day, traffic beneath our window was stopped. Police lights flashed. Nine or ten black SUVs poured out of the White House and headed south on 14th followed by an ambulance. It was the President on his way somewhere, and my wife and I were impressed.We stayed a full week and had a tour of the White House and Congress. Both tours had to be arranged through our representatives, both took some six months to line up, and both were spectacular. All the Smithsonian Museums are free, and we took full advantage, checking out everything from the Wright Brothers' Kitty Hawk and the original Declaration of Independence to the American flag that flew over Fort McHenry and inspired our National Anthem. Amazing. We visited the Lincoln Memorial a few times, and each time we were so moved we had to leave - which is why we kept going back. To stand at the spot where Martin Luther King said, "I have a dream," and to look out across the mall to the Washington Monument and see the Capitol Building in the background... No matter what follies Americans engage in, we have a reassuring foundation of greatness and nobility. But, you want to hear about the hotel. Late one night, my wife and I wanted a cookie. We asked the concierge. He directed us to the restaurant at the Willard, and, sure enough, we found exactly what we wanted. The next evening, after a full day of museums and miles of walking, we returned to our room to find two waters, a plate full of cookies, and a note, "Compliments of the concierge, [...]." The place is supremely elegant, intriguingly visited often by men with little coiled wires behind their ears and by innumerable, black SUVs, centrally and conveniently located - if you're going to Washington, D.C., to get some sort of experience at the seat of American power, this is place. But surpassing all expectations was [...]'s friendly touch - the cookies. It was the cookies that conveyed the spirit of the Willard, and we loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ebbit Grill.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Dec 27, 2008

Great Experience!

The Willard Intercontinental was a wonderful experience. The staff was very helpful and friendly, the room was spacious and comfortable, housekeeping was prompt and helpful and the concierge was a real help to us as we made dinner and tour plans. We really enjoyed having the sitting area to kick back and relax. The bathroom was huge and we enjoyed having the nice bar area for our coffee. The location could not be any better - just a few blocks from the White House and the National Mall. We were able to walk almost anywhere. There is a Metro Station close by and taxis were always there waiting. Overall this was one of the best experiences we have ever had in a hotel. One that is full of beauty, comfort and history. We can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
none 123
Business
Rochester, NY, USA
Dec 9, 2011

Early December visit

The hotel was beautiful, decked out for the holidays. Staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and spacious except for the closest. there was not enough room to hang clothes for two for a three day stay. The safe takes up most of the space where clothes would hang. The doors don't open all the way so getting things in and out of the small closet was difficult. Room service dishes were left out in the hall from another room for most of the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tanima
Business
Boston, MA
Sep 19, 2012

Excellent Location

This hotel is in the perfect location, just a short walk from the White House and the Monuments. There are lots of restaurant choices in the area. CVS is a couple of blocks away and there plenty of Starbucks. No need for a rental car unless you want to explore other cities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of choices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top