InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C.

5 stars
1401 Pennsylvania Ave Nw, Washington, DC 20004
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
65 reviews
Fantastic location

Fantastic location and fantastic service. I was well taken care of during my stay for a... See full review

  • Redheaded Runner
  • Sep 15, 2014
Wonderful!!

From the time we pulled up to the Willard, it was amazing. I took my 3 teenage daughter's to see... See full review

  • SooperMommi
  • Sep 2, 2014
D.C. hotel a home to presidents, literary and social figures of note

A historic landmark, the Willard InterContinental Washington has hosted almost every United States president in office since it opened in 1901. The luxurious, magical atmosphere of this famous hotel has attracted many a celebrity. The walls whisper stories of famed guests including Mark Twain, Walt Whitman, the Reverend Martin Luther King Jr. and Charles Dickens. There's a 24-hour fitness facility, on-site Red Door Spa, and several delectable dining options. Spacious rooms and suites seem fit for royalty.

Highlights
  • Historic landmark has hosted Mark Twain, the Reverend Martin Luther King Jr., and many U.S. presidents
  • The on-site Red Door Spa
  • Four upscale, on-site restaurants
Location

The Willard InterContinental Washington is one block from the White House in downtown D.C. and a short walk to the Metro, National Mall and convention center.

Rooms

The decor at the Willard InterContinental Washington evokes history and elegance with lavish fabrics in gold hues. Modern technology and amenities are not forgotten. Expect flat-screen televisions, mini-bar, international channels, bathrobe, music systems and DVD players. Some of the finest suites in the city are offered at the Willard InterContinental Washington. The executive suite has two entrances, two bathrooms, a parlor with dining table, and an elegant sitting area.

Features

The Elizabeth Arden Red Door Spa is on the second floor of the hotel and offers guests an array of luxurious services. The fitness center is open 24 hours. High-speed Internet (fees apply) and valet parking (fees apply) are available.

Dining

The Willard InterContinental Washington's charming French bistro Cafe du Parc serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The famous D.C. restaurant Occidental Grill & Seafood is open for lunch or dinner. At the Round Robin Bar, famous politician Henry Clay mixed D.C.'s first Mint Julep, which is the bar's signature drink. Peacock Alley Tea serves high tea.

Transportation
  • Metro Center Metro stop (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Regan National Airport (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (23 mi/38 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/44 km)
Attractions
  • The White House (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • The National Mall (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • The Washington Monument (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Dupont Circle (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • The Smithsonian Institution (1.1 mi/1.6 km)
  • United States Capitol (1.2 mi/2 km)
Business
  • Expansive business center
  • 22,000 square feet of meeting/event space
  • Executive office suites

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Hotel Map

38.897 -77.0325
Nearby airports
Baltimore-Washington International Thurgood Marsha, (BWI), 40.00, MI, SW; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 26.00, MI, W; Reagan National Airport, (DCA), 5.00, MI, S;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.1 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.2 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.2 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.3 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.3 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.3 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • Blair House: 0.4 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.4 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.1 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.2 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.2 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.3 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.3 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.3 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • Blair House: 0.4 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.5 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.5 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.5 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Monument: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • National Archives: 0.6 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.6 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.7 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.7 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.7 mi
  • Newseum: 0.7 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.8 mi

Dining

The Old Ebbitt Grill
The oldest Restaurant in Washingtonwith a great American menuficussing on fresh ingredients and classic recepies.open for Breakfast,Lunch and Dinner, popular meeting place for political insiders and celebrities.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (65)

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C.

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lawyer and Lobbyist
Business
SLC, UT
Jan 17, 2014

Impeccable Hotel

Fabulous Historic Hotel in the Heart of Washington. I have stayed in many DC hotels but this is one of the very best. Cleanliness, decor, staff, location, ambience all first rate and got a good rate too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Genealogy Girl
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Apr 3, 2014

Wonderful, Historic Washington, DC

The room looked exactly like the picture on the website. Spotlessly clean room, knowledgeable and friendly staff. Good restaurant with room service right on time. They had everything I needed, including a flower shop, right in the hotel. A beautiful and historic hotel located in the heart of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
skipt
Business
lovington nm
Apr 25, 2014

a perfect place

the food, the location and the service is impeccable the history and the amenities make it an ideal place to stay while touring DC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

the corner diner has great food at very reasonable prices

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Dec 27, 2008

Great Experience!

The Willard Intercontinental was a wonderful experience. The staff was very helpful and friendly, the room was spacious and comfortable, housekeeping was prompt and helpful and the concierge was a real help to us as we made dinner and tour plans. We really enjoyed having the sitting area to kick back and relax. The bathroom was huge and we enjoyed having the nice bar area for our coffee. The location could not be any better - just a few blocks from the White House and the National Mall. We were able to walk almost anywhere. There is a Metro Station close by and taxis were always there waiting. Overall this was one of the best experiences we have ever had in a hotel. One that is full of beauty, comfort and history. We can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Checking In Please
Business
Miami, Florida
Jan 4, 2010

BEST Hotel in DC!!!!

I have never had such a great experience with a hotel in the US. The staff was excellent and even though there was a great deal of people during the Christmas and New Year's season, it was all handled very carefully with a great attention to detail. There is a large number of rooms with a great deal of people but inside the rooms you can't even hear a pin drop. The hotel manager, [...]is an abosulte dear who is always on top of everything going on in the hotel. Duing this season, they even brought in carolers to spread the Christmas cheer!! In order to fully experience the best in DC, you MUST stay at The Willard!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Irvine, CA
Oct 1, 2010

Great Stay

This was our first visit to Washington, D.C., and everything dazzled us - but especially the Willard. The room we had overlooked Pershing Park, right next to the White House. When we arrived, we could see the Washington Monument out our window, and a brief look to the right revealed the Lincoln Memorial. At sunrise on our first day, traffic beneath our window was stopped. Police lights flashed. Nine or ten black SUVs poured out of the White House and headed south on 14th followed by an ambulance. It was the President on his way somewhere, and my wife and I were impressed.We stayed a full week and had a tour of the White House and Congress. Both tours had to be arranged through our representatives, both took some six months to line up, and both were spectacular. All the Smithsonian Museums are free, and we took full advantage, checking out everything from the Wright Brothers' Kitty Hawk and the original Declaration of Independence to the American flag that flew over Fort McHenry and inspired our National Anthem. Amazing. We visited the Lincoln Memorial a few times, and each time we were so moved we had to leave - which is why we kept going back. To stand at the spot where Martin Luther King said, "I have a dream," and to look out across the mall to the Washington Monument and see the Capitol Building in the background... No matter what follies Americans engage in, we have a reassuring foundation of greatness and nobility. But, you want to hear about the hotel. Late one night, my wife and I wanted a cookie. We asked the concierge. He directed us to the restaurant at the Willard, and, sure enough, we found exactly what we wanted. The next evening, after a full day of museums and miles of walking, we returned to our room to find two waters, a plate full of cookies, and a note, "Compliments of the concierge, [...]." The place is supremely elegant, intriguingly visited often by men with little coiled wires behind their ears and by innumerable, black SUVs, centrally and conveniently located - if you're going to Washington, D.C., to get some sort of experience at the seat of American power, this is place. But surpassing all expectations was [...]'s friendly touch - the cookies. It was the cookies that conveyed the spirit of the Willard, and we loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ebbit Grill.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kjw Mom
Business
ny
Oct 9, 2011

attentive service

Fabulous! Service is excellent. Friendly staff. Conceirge is excellent. Would be nice to have a pool for the kids. otherwise we had not one complaint!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GaryW
Business
Dover, DE
Oct 31, 2011

The Willard Rocks!

Was in town to catch a show at the Warner, 2 blocks away. The staff was friendly and attentive, from valet, to check in, to bar staff. Lot's to do in the surrounding neighborhood. Not my first stay, definitely not my last. Also, this was my first (and very positive Orbitz experience).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Major DC attractions and many great restaurants, etc., within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Suzie Boston
Business
Boston MA
Jun 5, 2012

The Willard is perfect!

There are so many good things to say about the Willard. First though - the location. We could walk to so many places very easily - White House, Newseum, National Gallery, more. The staff are great; the lobby is a great place to meet/greet friends; have tea; read the paper; have a drink. Just super elegant, comfortable and very professional staff. No complaints at all; perfect hotel. If the weather is good eat outside at Cafe du Parc; so relaxing and deluxe for people watching.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You need to plan at least 4+ months in advance to visit the White House due to increased security procedures. No more dropping by; it's Fort Knox now.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental THE WILLARD WASHINGTON D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kim from RI
Business
Lincoln, RI
Sep 27, 2012

Washington get-away

The hotel iful but even more important, the staff was helpful and freindly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Library of Congress and Women in Art Museum both spectacular!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top