$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 8, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

Hyatt Regency Washington

4 stars
400 New Jersey Ave Northwest, WASHINGTON, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
421 reviews
TRIP FOR TWO

We really enjoyed the hotel and the very hospitable staff. Everything was comfortable and clean. I... See full review

  • boogiesmom
  • May 14, 2014
Great location and hotel

The hotel is great and it has a great location. I was there for sightseeing. See full review

  • SuperSuperSuper
  • Apr 23, 2014
Capitol Hill hotel with futuristic lobby atrium, amenities for business

The Hyatt Regency Washington's atrium impresses with its high, cascading ceilings and dark wood. The lobby gives an almost futuristic atmosphere to the hotel. Guests can use express check-in computer terminals to skip the reservation line. Unwind with friends or colleagues at Article One Lounge with its community tables and 13 flat-screen televisions. Guests escape from D.C. politics at the heated indoor lap pool covered by skylights and surrounded by greenery.

Highlights
  • Express check-in kiosks in strikingly modern lobby
  • Indoor lap pool in lush, plant-filled atrium
  • Business Plan Guestrooms include one complimentary pressed shirt or blouse, complimentary breakfast buffet, and complimentary newspapers
Location

The hotel is on Capitol Hill near monuments, museums, government buildings and Union Station.

Rooms

The 834 rooms and spacious suites of the Hyatt Regency Washington are traditionally decorated in caramel and gold colors and have modern wood furnishings. Rooms have oversized work desks, iHome stereos with iPod docking stations, Hyatt Grand Beds with pillow-top mattresses, fine linens, and 37-inch LCD televisions.

Features

Skip the check-in or check-out line by using the express computer terminals in the lobby. Article One, an American grill, serves a casual lunch and breakfast and an upscale dinner. The Article One Lounge offers space to enjoy cocktails and light fare. The hotel has an on-site health club and indoor, heated lap pool. High-speed Internet (fees apply) and valet parking (fees apply) are available.

Transportation
  • Judiciary Square Metro stop (0.2 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • Regan National Airport (3.5 mi/ 5.7 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (24 mi/ 39 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (26 mi/ 43 km)
Attractions
  • Union Station shops, restaurants, and transportation (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • United States Capitol (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Newseum (0.4 mi/ 0.7 km)
  • The National Mall (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Library of Congress (0.7 mi/ 1.1 km)
  • The White House (1.2 mi/ 2 km)
  • Eastern Market (1.2 mi/ 1.9 km)
  • Washington Monument (1.3 mi/ 2.1 km)
  • Dupont Circle (1.9 mi/ 3.1 km)
  • Georgetown (2.7 mi/ 4.3 km)
Business
  • High-speed Internet (fees apply)
  • 38,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Professional meeting planners and caterers
  • 24-hour FedEx office
  • 24-hour business center with extensive services
  • Business Plan guestrooms with special amenities for business travelers
Policies and Fees
  • The hotel charges $48 USD parking fee.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hyatt Regency Washington Rooms

Business Plan
Business Plan rooms include daily breakfast for one adult, daily internet for one computer (24hrs), one bottle of water daily, newspaper daily, once pressed shirt or blouse daily and local, 1-800 and long distance calls to the US and Canada. Choice of ki
Standard
Deluxe room accommodations with the choice of king or two double beds. Each room has cable tv, working desk, data-ports, bathroom amenities and feather pillows.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Jogging track
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Conference suite
Computer rental
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hyatt Regency Washington also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.8954 -77.0118
Nearby airports
Reagan National Airport, (DCA), 6.00, MI, N; Washington Dulles Intl Airport, (IAD), 28.00, MI, SE; Baltimore/Washington Intl Airport, (BWI), 28.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • National Postal Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Union Station: 0.3 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Newseum: 0.5 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.6 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Union Station: 0.3 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Newseum: 0.5 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.6 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • National Archives: 0.6 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.6 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.8 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.8 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.9 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.9 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.9 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.9 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1 mi
  • National Theatre: 1 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1 mi

Dining

Article One
Article One is located on the lobby level. Serving a casual breakfast, and lunch with a more upscale grill menu for dinner. Reservations are requested for six or more.
Article One Lounge
Article One Lounge is located in the bustling atrium lobby, the lounge provides a relaxing atmosphere serving beer, wine, cocktails and lite fare daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (421)

Ratings and reviews for Hyatt Regency Washington

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
164 out of 421
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
w bs
Eastern Shore MD
Jun 24, 2014

Our 40th!

We visited DC and celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary. It was a great visit . Hotel staff, especially the kind service people were the best. The bar while fun was very expensive. Les the tender was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Turn right and hit the café on next block. Breakfast to sandwiches to sushi

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AdventureBeyond
Manchester, New Hampshire
Jun 7, 2014

Good for fly in vacation

Walking distance to Union Station, lots of places to eat at Union Station, great cafe serving breakfast lunch and dinner at very reasonable prices to the left of the hotel. Close to Metro, last stop on Hop on Hop off bus red route right in front of the hotel. Meals at the hotel are not recommended $$$$ better selection and price found easily using restaurant locator apps on phone. Get used to using your smart phone for everything as Internet is 9.99 or 12.99 per night depending on your desired bandwidth. Hotel doesn't provide shuttle service to and from airport, others in the area do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Utilize Metro or hop on hop off transportation to avoid the valet parking fees

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
boogiesmom
virginia
May 14, 2014

TRIP FOR TWO

We really enjoyed the hotel and the very hospitable staff. Everything was comfortable and clean. I did have the impression from the description that the breakfast was included, which it is not! It is, however, very good. There is a little restaurant up the street by Union Station that is also very good and a lot cheaper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JB Couple
california
May 5, 2014

about our stay...

The first night, we were not able to sleep due to banging noise...sounded as if someone was banging on some pipes, this went on in the early morning, roughly 1-3 a.m. not constant, but periodically, where we were awaken. The first indivdual we spoke to about this, was a bit stiff and not very friendly at all...we then spoke to another gentlemen, and he was very nice, and said that there was only one other room available. We were moved to another room the next day, which was near the elavator, however, we were not able to sleep well there as well, due to the elavator door chiming, door opening, and people's loud voices...the times were 2 am, 3:12 a.m, and 4 am. We will not be staying there in future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining: Art and Soul - EXCELLENT Food!

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dom1234
Suffolk, New York
Apr 1, 2014

Not worth the money

We stayed for 4 nights. The guests where very nice and just a short walk from the metro. I wouldn't venture out late at night they have a homeless shelter one block away so everytime I left the hotel they would beg for change and sing for money. The view from my room overlooked the pool and gym. The hotel food was really amazing even though it was 25 bucks a person.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Crawbuck
New York, NY
Mar 27, 2014

Feeling ripped off!

We called the concierge to ask about breakfast options and no one mentioned breakfast was included with the room, only directed us to the room service menu. After spending way too much for mediocre eggs we went to the lobby to check out to find out that the EXACT same spread that we just paid for was there for free. Basically scooped up some of the free continental breakfast, put it on a tray and charged us $50. Left the hotel feeling deceived by the staff and ripped off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JLeiv
Bethesda, MD
Jan 3, 2014

Great Night on NYE

Staff was exceptional. Left an item in my vehicle at the front valet, but front desk and valet personnel helped to resolve the issue promptly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tannd
Kansas City KS
Jan 1, 2014

Capitol Hill Hyatt

We will definitely stay at this Hyatt when we return to WAshington It's close it Union Station and within walking distance of many landmarks. Great room and very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Ted's Bulletin is a great place to eat!!

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ltdny
smithtown ny
Dec 31, 2013

nice hotel but expensive parking

Beautiful hotel in a convenient location. The staff was very professional and accommodating. A lovely buffet breakfast was also included. Upon arrival is when we learned of the parking fee of $48 per night. Not a problem, but would have appreciated knowing that when booking. The only other issue was the family with young children above our room stayed up running around and shrieking until the early hours of the morning. Not much to be done except to call security, which of course we did not do. Occasional walks throughout the hotel by security would have alleviated that problem. Overall, it is a beautiful and comfortable hotel. Would go again and would recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
super senior 22
nyc
Dec 29, 2013

great for any age

the dining room was excellent.but no one offered to carry our luggage.. otherwise everything was really very nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top