$93 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 15, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

Hyatt Regency Washington

4 stars
400 New Jersey Ave Northwest, WASHINGTON, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
422 reviews
Great Holidy Experiece!

The hotel was beautiful and the staff was great! Great breakfast bar, bar and restaurant. Able to... See full review

  • CecP
  • Jul 12, 2014
TRIP FOR TWO

We really enjoyed the hotel and the very hospitable staff. Everything was comfortable and clean. I... See full review

  • boogiesmom
  • May 14, 2014
Capitol Hill hotel with futuristic lobby atrium, amenities for business

The Hyatt Regency Washington's atrium impresses with its high, cascading ceilings and dark wood. The lobby gives an almost futuristic atmosphere to the hotel. Guests can use express check-in computer terminals to skip the reservation line. Unwind with friends or colleagues at Article One Lounge with its community tables and 13 flat-screen televisions. Guests escape from D.C. politics at the heated indoor lap pool covered by skylights and surrounded by greenery.

Highlights
  • Express check-in kiosks in strikingly modern lobby
  • Indoor lap pool in lush, plant-filled atrium
  • Business Plan Guestrooms include one complimentary pressed shirt or blouse, complimentary breakfast buffet, and complimentary newspapers
Location

The hotel is on Capitol Hill near monuments, museums, government buildings and Union Station.

Rooms

The 834 rooms and spacious suites of the Hyatt Regency Washington are traditionally decorated in caramel and gold colors and have modern wood furnishings. Rooms have oversized work desks, iHome stereos with iPod docking stations, Hyatt Grand Beds with pillow-top mattresses, fine linens, and 37-inch LCD televisions.

Features

Skip the check-in or check-out line by using the express computer terminals in the lobby. Article One, an American grill, serves a casual lunch and breakfast and an upscale dinner. The Article One Lounge offers space to enjoy cocktails and light fare. The hotel has an on-site health club and indoor, heated lap pool. High-speed Internet (fees apply) and valet parking (fees apply) are available.

Transportation
  • Judiciary Square Metro stop (0.2 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • Regan National Airport (3.5 mi/ 5.7 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (24 mi/ 39 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (26 mi/ 43 km)
Attractions
  • Union Station shops, restaurants, and transportation (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • United States Capitol (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Newseum (0.4 mi/ 0.7 km)
  • The National Mall (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Library of Congress (0.7 mi/ 1.1 km)
  • The White House (1.2 mi/ 2 km)
  • Eastern Market (1.2 mi/ 1.9 km)
  • Washington Monument (1.3 mi/ 2.1 km)
  • Dupont Circle (1.9 mi/ 3.1 km)
  • Georgetown (2.7 mi/ 4.3 km)
Business
  • High-speed Internet (fees apply)
  • 38,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Professional meeting planners and caterers
  • 24-hour FedEx office
  • 24-hour business center with extensive services
  • Business Plan guestrooms with special amenities for business travelers
Policies and Fees
  • The hotel charges $48 USD parking fee.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

38.8954 -77.0118
Nearby airports
Reagan National Airport, (DCA), 6.00, MI, N; Washington Dulles Intl Airport, (IAD), 28.00, MI, SE; Baltimore/Washington Intl Airport, (BWI), 28.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hyatt Regency Washington also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hyatt Regency Washington Rooms

Business Plan
Business Plan rooms include daily breakfast for one adult, daily internet for one computer (24hrs), one bottle of water daily, newspaper daily, once pressed shirt or blouse daily and local, 1-800 and long distance calls to the US and Canada. Choice of ki
Club
View Floors, Lounge Access, Continental Breakfast: Hors d oeuvres: Robe
Standard
Deluxe room accommodations with the choice of king or two double beds. Each room has cable tv, working desk, data-ports, bathroom amenities and feather pillows.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Jogging track
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Conference suite
Computer rental
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • National Postal Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Union Station: 0.3 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Newseum: 0.5 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.6 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Union Station: 0.3 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Newseum: 0.5 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.6 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • National Archives: 0.6 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.6 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.8 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.8 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.9 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.9 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.9 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.9 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1 mi
  • National Theatre: 1 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1 mi

Dining

Article One
Article One is located on the lobby level. Serving a casual breakfast, and lunch with a more upscale grill menu for dinner. Reservations are requested for six or more.
Article One Lounge
Article One Lounge is located in the bustling atrium lobby, the lounge provides a relaxing atmosphere serving beer, wine, cocktails and lite fare daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (422)

Ratings and reviews for Hyatt Regency Washington

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
422 out of 422
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
424Sam
Wellington, Ohio
Oct 3, 2011

Recent DC Experience

My husband and I had a great Orbitz experience and will use Orbitz as our travel provider. I have stayed at the Hyatt for past business trips and was so glad that it was one of the choices when I put our package together. The Hotel is FIRST CLASS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ltdny
smithtown ny
Dec 31, 2013

nice hotel but expensive parking

Beautiful hotel in a convenient location. The staff was very professional and accommodating. A lovely buffet breakfast was also included. Upon arrival is when we learned of the parking fee of $48 per night. Not a problem, but would have appreciated knowing that when booking. The only other issue was the family with young children above our room stayed up running around and shrieking until the early hours of the morning. Not much to be done except to call security, which of course we did not do. Occasional walks throughout the hotel by security would have alleviated that problem. Overall, it is a beautiful and comfortable hotel. Would go again and would recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JD the MD
Philadelphia, PA
Sep 7, 2009

Decent hotel

This was a great hotel. The room was very nice and it had a beautiful lobby, restaurant and bar. Also, the location was pretty good. You can see the Capitol building from the front of the hotel. Check in/out was very quick and easy with the check in/out kiosks that were available. Also, the Union Station metro stop was just two blocks away via a scenic walk through the park with a view of the Capitol. However, the downside is that the room did not have a microfridge and you had to pay if you wanted wireless internet access (two things that are usually standard in most hotels). Overall though it is a tremendous value for the price and i would probably stay here again based on the location and the overall cleanliness and appearance of the lobby and room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Union Station metro stop is about 2 blocks from the hotel and for about $1.35 will take you just about anywhere in the city you want to go (much cheaper than a cab).

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lady Politico
Business
Indiana
Jan 15, 2013

Business and pleasure.

The hotel was convenient to the capital for us. The staff were friendly and courteous. Then food was some of the best we've had at a hotel. The wait staff were tremendous. We would stay here again and recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lydia Ruyle
Greeley, Colorado
Sep 30, 2013

Weekend with my oldest granddaughter

Hyatt Regency was the perfect home for us for the weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jersey Shore
Feb 22, 2011

Wonderful hotel close to the Capital

Wanted a hotel with some nice amenities close to some sites and found this Hyatt. Close to the Capital and the Smithsonian. Parked the car at arrival Friday afternoon and did not need to get back in it until we left on Sunday. Aside from convenient location the hotel had a nice pool, a small exercise room and a good restaurant. Spent a couple of days walking around DC and then came back to the hotel and relaxed in the pool, had a decent meal and just relaxed in the room. My only complaint was I found the bed to be a little uncomfortable but I have a bad back and a lot of beds are bad for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of things in walking distance.

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The rugby lovin' family
Minnesota
Jul 8, 2011

Great location great price

Hotel staff was always friendly and helpful. The room was in perfect condition. TV had a little trouble with it's signal, but we weren't in DC to watch TV. Food in the hotel restaurant was delicious. Many different groups of people staying here (families, business travelers, wedding guests, etc.) There were restaurants, a metro station and the Capitol were all within close walking distance. I wish we had free wi-fi, but it was easy enough to find in surrounding cafes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

The Tourmobile is a great way to save your feet some soreness, save some walking time and a great way to get some history tidbits on the way. You get on and off at your leisure at the main monuments at the Mall and Arlington.

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
USRobo
Business
Pittsburgh
Apr 9, 2012

Hyatt Regency Washington

This is a typical Hyatt Hotel. It was very nice. Parking for large SUV is $45/night. Other than that it is basically everything you would expect from a Hyatt Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Breakfast Buffet is $21 per person

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lola Betts
New York, NY
Sep 7, 2009

Love the hotel, love the price even more

It was already late (10:00 p.m.) when I called the Front Desk the first night, yet the man who answered sprightly addressed me by my name then quickly asked how he could be of help. Wow, talk of guest being first, I felt like a million! I just inquired if the water from the tap was safe to drink and he assured me it is, adding that the hotel has never had any issue of its potability. Kudos to this (young?) fellow and to the hotel for training its staff well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel's location is ideal especially for those without cars, due to proximity to public transport and the Capitol: Metrobuses ply both streets that bound the hotel, and the Union Station is just a 5-minute walk away. Even someone who walks with a cane (like my husband) won't mind the distance. Best of all, the Smithsonian museums are also spitting distance away, just 10 minutes walk.

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Patrick - Marketing Consultant
Business
2 places: Omaha, NE and Cave Creek, AZ
Aug 4, 2009

Washington DC trip - AAFCO 7/30-8-3/09

Location perfect - my mtg's in Hotel & allowed to tour heart of Washington with excellent location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Can "stage" your touring nicely from there - ck with the concierge to find out which 'places of interest' close when - either 5:30, 7:00, or 10PM - then can make a round about tour...

Back to menu Return to top