$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

Hyatt Regency Washington

4 stars
View map of 400 New Jersey Ave Northwest, WASHINGTON, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
349 reviews
Great weekend trip!!

The hotel was beautiful inside and out. It was very clean and well maintained. See full review

  • Antonietta M.
  • Jun 2, 2015
Great memory

My friend stayed at D.C. for two nights. The location is awesome, and the room is great. See full review

  • XiaoShuo G.
  • Apr 29, 2015

You will have plenty of room for leisure or work in your Capitol Suite at the Hyatt Regency Washington in Washington, D.C. The large couch in the sitting area has plenty of room for relaxing, and the table in the dining area is convenient for a meal or a meeting. Relax in the soaking tub, before you curl up in the king-sized bed in the separate bedroom. The hotel's gift shop is a convenient place to pick up any personal items you forgot to pack.

Location

The hotel is on Capitol Hill near monuments, museums, government buildings and Union Station.

Rooms

The 834 rooms and spacious suites of the Hyatt Regency Washington are traditionally decorated in caramel and gold colors and have modern wood furnishings. Rooms have oversized work desks, iHome stereos with iPod docking stations, Hyatt Grand Beds with pillow-top mattresses, fine linens, and 37-inch LCD televisions.

Property features

Skip the check-in or check-out line by using the express computer terminals in the lobby. Article One, an American grill, serves a casual lunch and breakfast and an upscale dinner. The Article One Lounge offers space to enjoy cocktails and light fare. The hotel has an on-site health club and indoor, heated lap pool. High-speed Internet (fees apply) and valet parking (fees apply) are available.

Highlights

If you like to sleep late while on vacation, you can enjoy having an available breakfast buffet at Article One, which is open until 11:00 a.m. each morning. Tasty local treats can be found on the lunch and dinner menus in the on-site restaurant as well. Stop by Article One Lounge in the afternoon or evening, for cocktails and appetizers. If you get hungry in the middle of the night, you will appreciate the 24-hour room service.

You can get some exercise in the indoor heated pool or visit the fitness center at the Hyatt Regency. If you want to exercise outdoors and see more of the District of Columbia, take a walk to the Smithsonian Museum or the National Gallery of Art, which are both less than a mile from the hotel. Legal Sea Food is approximately half a mile away if you want to wander out for dinner.

Nearby attractions
  • Union Station shops, restaurants, and transportation (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • United States Capitol (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Newseum (0.4 mi/ 0.7 km)
  • The National Mall (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Library of Congress (0.7 mi/ 1.1 km)
  • The White House (1.2 mi/ 2 km)
  • Eastern Market (1.2 mi/ 1.9 km)
  • Washington Monument (1.3 mi/ 2.1 km)
  • Dupont Circle (1.9 mi/ 3.1 km)
  • Georgetown (2.7 mi/ 4.3 km)
Business
  • High-speed Internet (fees apply)
  • 38,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Professional meeting planners and caterers
  • 24-hour FedEx office
  • 24-hour business center with extensive services
  • Business Plan guestrooms with special amenities for business travelers
Transportation
  • Judiciary Square Metro stop (0.2 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • Regan National Airport (3.5 mi/ 5.7 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (24 mi/ 39 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (26 mi/ 43 km)
Policies
  • The hotel charges $48 USD parking fee.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hyatt Regency Washington also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hyatt Regency Washington Rooms

Business Plan
Business Plan rooms include daily breakfast for one adult, daily internet for one computer (24hrs), one bottle of water daily, newspaper daily, once pressed shirt or blouse daily and local, 1-800 and long distance calls to the US and Canada. Choice of ki
Club
View Floors, Lounge Access, Continental Breakfast: Hors d oeuvres: Robe
Standard
Deluxe room accommodations with the choice of king or two double beds. Each room has cable tv, working desk, data-ports, bathroom amenities and feather pillows.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Jogging track
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Conference suite
Computer rental
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • National Postal Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Union Station: 0.3 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Newseum: 0.5 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.6 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Union Station: 0.3 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Newseum: 0.5 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.6 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • National Archives: 0.6 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.6 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.8 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.8 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.9 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.9 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.9 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.9 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1 mi
  • National Theatre: 1 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1 mi

Dining

Article One
Article One is located on the lobby level. Serving a casual breakfast, and lunch with a more upscale grill menu for dinner. Reservations are requested for six or more.
Article One Lounge
Article One Lounge is located in the bustling atrium lobby, the lounge provides a relaxing atmosphere serving beer, wine, cocktails and lite fare daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hyatt Regency Washington

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
349 out of 349
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
None 2
Connecticut
Apr 24, 2013

Sightseeing

Great location. Everything in walking distance. Beside the Hyatt, few restaurants in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JB Couple
Business
california
May 5, 2014

about our stay...

The first night, we were not able to sleep due to banging noise...sounded as if someone was banging on some pipes, this went on in the early morning, roughly 1-3 a.m. not constant, but periodically, where we were awaken. The first indivdual we spoke to about this, was a bit stiff and not very friendly at all...we then spoke to another gentlemen, and he was very nice, and said that there was only one other room available. We were moved to another room the next day, which was near the elavator, however, we were not able to sleep well there as well, due to the elavator door chiming, door opening, and people's loud voices...the times were 2 am, 3:12 a.m, and 4 am. We will not be staying there in future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining: Art and Soul - EXCELLENT Food!

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DC Rookies
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Dec 3, 2010

DC Vacation

We selected this hotel because of its location and reputation. We got the location but it fell far short of its reputation. The room had no bathtub and no exhaust fan in the bathroom. We walked most places and a bathtub would have felt great at the end of the day. The maid told us that there were only about 3 rooms with showers only. We tried to contact the front desk regarding changing rooms and they forwarded us to the assistant front desk manager and all we got was his voicemail with a promise to return our call which he never did. The bed was comfortable but the climate control in the room was unworkable. We had to set the control at 80 degrees to get warm air and then it quickly got too warm. Any setting less than that blew cold air like air conditioning. The TV sound control was preset to a very low level which made it difficult to hear most programming. We made 3 calls regarding the exhaust fan in the bathroom and were told that it would be repaired the "next day". Our 4th call resulted in some double talk about a central air system and it wasn't a traditional exhaust fan. The restaurant in the hotel was outrageously expensive. We ordered in the bar the first night because it was a little less expensive but all the other nights we ate at other places. Local telephone calls cost $1.00!!!! A 4-star hotel that costs between $125 and $250 per night that charges for local calls. What an outrage. Ice machines and vending machines were not conveniently located. The costs of sodas in the vending machines were $2.50 and $3.00 in the hotel gift shop. Maid service was excellent and front desk help was very polite and helpful about nearby conveniences. However concierge was rude and not helpful when we inquired about transportation from the hotel to most attractions. In our opinion this hotel was a Motel 6 with a fancy Hyatt name.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Smithsonian museums all within 15 minute walk from hotel.

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Eddie 5515
Business
Greenville, SC, USA
Dec 11, 2011

Old and run down

Beds very hard. Carpet in hall didn't look like it had been replaced, cleaned, or vacuumed since it was put in. Had a low frequency noise every several minutes that literally vibrated the floor. Would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mrp1212
Business
washington, nj
Feb 4, 2013

rip off

The hotel room was amazingly inexpensive. I wondered why this was, I found out when I got there. Litteraly it cost me over $100.00 just to walk in the door not counting my room. This was for Parking and tips. I spent so much money at the hotel I could barely go out and see the sights. room service is extremely expensive with a ham sandwich being $15 plus 4.95 to bring to your room 21% gratuity and sales tax. Renting a movie in your room will run you close to $18. The staff was very nice but always and I do mean always had there hands out. I would never stay at another hyatt. If you have tons of money to blow this is the place to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Health for baby
Business
MA
Mar 26, 2013

Disgusting smell of the cigar at the main entrance

The ramps for wheel chairs and strollers next to the main entrance is used as the smoking area. We were troubled by the smell of the cigar. It was really disgusting. And, there is no refrigerator in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Smithsonian museum

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ChamberBill
Business
Huntsville, Alabama
Apr 24, 2013

$900.Cost, But Cannot Get Air Conditioner Fixed

I had a 3 night stay at this hotel with a cost of over $900. The air conditioner fan kept cutting off, allowing for outdoor noise to be heard. I called the maintenance engineers three times to ask that it be fixed similar to the operation in other guest rooms. I was told that the problem would be taken care of, or that the computer would be re-programmed. No success. The group sales director who handled our group was contacted. No success. That makes 4 attempts to get the problem fixed. Hopefully, my 100 room group will stay elsewhere next year. The hotel has a good location, but there are 2 other hotels across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The $1.00 CIRCULATOR Bus leaves nearby Union Station every 10 minutes, and makes it easy to see the City above ground.

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JohnOH
Business
Ohio
Jul 8, 2013

Dirty/Poor management/Noizy

This is just horrible experience. Dirty. Poor Management and too Noizy. This like sleeping in Union Station. You have use Queue to elivators. I don't know from where so many people are always in Lobby

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Feb 22, 2010

Disaster of a Hotel

Upon entering my room their was no personal hygiene items left by house cleaning, the toilet then proceeded not to flush and maintenance had to come to repair it. Finally breakfast the next morning they proceeded to give me a bill, when I already had paid for it with the room. Front Desk clerk did not provide me with breakfast coupon. Therefore I had to wait until the mess was straighten out. It's great the capital is right their as soon as you walk out, but nothing to do in this part of town. Even the front desk and maintenance people said don't walk around the hotel area at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DC Rookies
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Dec 3, 2010

DC Vacation

We selected this hotel because of its location and reputation. We got the location but it fell far short of its reputation. The room had no bathtub and no exhaust fan in the bathroom. We walked most places and a bathtub would have felt great at the end of the day. The maid told us that there were only about 3 rooms with showers only. We tried to contact the front desk regarding changing rooms and they forwarded us to the assistant front desk manager and all we got was his voicemail with a promise to return our call which he never did. The bed was comfortable but the climate control in the room was unworkable. We had to set the control at 80 degrees to get warm air and then it quickly got too warm. Any setting less than that blew cold air like air conditioning. The TV sound control was preset to a very low level which made it difficult to hear most programming. We made 3 calls regarding the exhaust fan in the bathroom and were told that it would be repaired the "next day". Our 4th call resulted in some double talk about a central air system and it wasn't a traditional exhaust fan. The restaurant in the hotel was outrageously expensive. We ordered in the bar the first night because it was a little less expensive but all the other nights we ate at other places. Local telephone calls cost $1.00!!!! A 4-star hotel that costs between $125 and $250 per night that charges for local calls. What an outrage. Ice machines and vending machines were not conveniently located. The costs of sodas in the vending machines were $2.50 and $3.00 in the hotel gift shop. Maid service was excellent and front desk help was very polite and helpful about nearby conveniences. However concierge was rude and not helpful when we inquired about transportation from the hotel to most attractions. In our opinion this hotel was a Motel 6 with a fancy Hyatt name.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Smithsonian museums all within 15 minute walk from hotel.

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Crawbuck
Business
New York, NY
Mar 27, 2014

Feeling ripped off!

We called the concierge to ask about breakfast options and no one mentioned breakfast was included with the room, only directed us to the room service menu. After spending way too much for mediocre eggs we went to the lobby to check out to find out that the EXACT same spread that we just paid for was there for free. Basically scooped up some of the free continental breakfast, put it on a tray and charged us $50. Left the hotel feeling deceived by the staff and ripped off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top