$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2014 Check-out: May 11, 2014

Hyatt Regency Washington

4 stars
400 New Jersey Ave Northwest, WASHINGTON, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
271 reviews
A perfect stay

A great hotel, a great package deal that included air travel, the opportunity to enjoy the hotel... See full review

  • Marta Beatriz
  • Jan 2, 2014
great hotel

Hotel room was clean and comfortable with wonderfully comfortable bed The water pressure in shower... See full review

  • touristy tara
  • Dec 17, 2013
Capitol Hill hotel with futuristic lobby atrium, amenities for business

The Hyatt Regency Washington's atrium impresses with its high, cascading ceilings and dark wood. The lobby gives an almost futuristic atmosphere to the hotel. Guests can use express check-in computer terminals to skip the reservation line. Unwind with friends or colleagues at Article One Lounge with its community tables and 13 flat-screen televisions. Guests escape from D.C. politics at the heated indoor lap pool covered by skylights and surrounded by greenery.

Highlights
  • Express check-in kiosks in strikingly modern lobby
  • Indoor lap pool in lush, plant-filled atrium
  • Business Plan Guestrooms include one complimentary pressed shirt or blouse, complimentary breakfast buffet, and complimentary newspapers
Location

The hotel is on Capitol Hill near monuments, museums, government buildings and Union Station.

Rooms

The 834 rooms and spacious suites of the Hyatt Regency Washington are traditionally decorated in caramel and gold colors and have modern wood furnishings. Rooms have oversized work desks, iHome stereos with iPod docking stations, Hyatt Grand Beds with pillow-top mattresses, fine linens, and 37-inch LCD televisions.

Features

Skip the check-in or check-out line by using the express computer terminals in the lobby. Article One, an American grill, serves a casual lunch and breakfast and an upscale dinner. The Article One Lounge offers space to enjoy cocktails and light fare. The hotel has an on-site health club and indoor, heated lap pool. High-speed Internet (fees apply) and valet parking (fees apply) are available.

Transportation
  • Judiciary Square Metro stop (0.2 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • Regan National Airport (3.5 mi/ 5.7 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (24 mi/ 39 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (26 mi/ 43 km)
Attractions
  • Union Station shops, restaurants, and transportation (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • United States Capitol (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Newseum (0.4 mi/ 0.7 km)
  • The National Mall (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Library of Congress (0.7 mi/ 1.1 km)
  • The White House (1.2 mi/ 2 km)
  • Eastern Market (1.2 mi/ 1.9 km)
  • Washington Monument (1.3 mi/ 2.1 km)
  • Dupont Circle (1.9 mi/ 3.1 km)
  • Georgetown (2.7 mi/ 4.3 km)
Business
  • High-speed Internet (fees apply)
  • 38,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Professional meeting planners and caterers
  • 24-hour FedEx office
  • 24-hour business center with extensive services
  • Business Plan guestrooms with special amenities for business travelers
Policies and Fees
  • The hotel charges $48 USD parking fee.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hyatt Regency Washington Rooms

Business Plan
Business Plan rooms include daily breakfast for one adult, daily internet for one computer (24hrs), one bottle of water daily, newspaper daily, once pressed shirt or blouse daily and local, 1-800 and long distance calls to the US and Canada. Choice of ki
Standard
Deluxe room accommodations with the choice of king or two double beds. Each room has cable tv, working desk, data-ports, bathroom amenities and feather pillows.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Jogging track
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Conference suite
Computer rental
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hyatt Regency Washington also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.8954 -77.0118
Nearby airports
Reagan National Airport, (DCA), 6.00, MI, N; Washington Dulles Intl Airport, (IAD), 28.00, MI, SE; Baltimore/Washington Intl Airport, (BWI), 28.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • National Postal Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Union Station: 0.3 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Newseum: 0.5 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.6 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Union Station: 0.3 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Newseum: 0.5 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.6 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • National Archives: 0.6 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.6 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.8 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.8 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.9 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.9 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.9 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.9 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1 mi
  • National Theatre: 1 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1 mi

Dining

Article One
Article One is located on the lobby level. Serving a casual breakfast, and lunch with a more upscale grill menu for dinner. Reservations are requested for six or more.
Article One Lounge
Article One Lounge is located in the bustling atrium lobby, the lounge provides a relaxing atmosphere serving beer, wine, cocktails and lite fare daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (271)

Ratings and reviews for Hyatt Regency Washington

Overall score

4 / 5
271 out of 271
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

2
Jacksonsgirl79
Charlotte, NC
Nov 18, 2013

Dirty

Hotel has odd musty smell, bath tub was dirty upon arrival, mattress was extremely uncomfortable, pillows smelled like urine, glass and silverware were dirty at the one breakfast we ate here. Location is god- we were able to walk to monuments and museums during the day, however at night we took cabs everywhere bcs the largest homeless shelter in the city is right around the side of the hotel. We will never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street, at Art and Soul, you'll find amazing food. They source everything as fresh, local, and organic as possible and serve breakfast all day. The staff is amazing and friendly there as well.

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

2
Lady Arbie
New Jersey
Aug 18, 2013

Room at Home is Better

The experience was great but the room was pathetic. The bathroom and the closet shared a door that slid on a track between the two, so from the small room you were either looking into the closet, or the bathroom. The room looked like a supply closet that was converted into a guest room. When I book my company's conference in DC late next spring, this Hotel will not be considered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

2
busy mom that travels with kids
West Linn, Oregon
Jul 10, 2009

OK, not what I expected from a Hyatt

The staff was friendly enough, the location was fine - easy walking distance to Union Station. We got exactly what we requested - adjoining rooms, one with two doubles, and one with a king. My complaints were: one of the toilets did not flush properly. the bottom sheet is not a fitted sheet, and it did not stay tucked - I am thinking it was not big enough, so the small amount that got tucked under never stayed - very annoying. the bathroom floor was not clean. the bathroom was not stocked with the proper number of towels, we had to call for the right ones. we called for a rollaway bed, we called again 30 minutes later, and they said it would still be another 30 minutes. We received a wake-up call very early in the morning, even though we had not requested one. Perhaps this is par for DC, but the one and only restaurant was quite expensive, though they did have a very reasonable children's menu. I know these seem like small complaints, nothing terrible, but I just had higher expectations from the Hyatt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

2
Health for baby
MA
Mar 30, 2013

a little Good

There is smoking area in front of entrance. Hence, a little good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

italian

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

1
ChamberBill
Business
Huntsville, Alabama
Apr 24, 2013

$900.Cost, But Cannot Get Air Conditioner Fixed

I had a 3 night stay at this hotel with a cost of over $900. The air conditioner fan kept cutting off, allowing for outdoor noise to be heard. I called the maintenance engineers three times to ask that it be fixed similar to the operation in other guest rooms. I was told that the problem would be taken care of, or that the computer would be re-programmed. No success. The group sales director who handled our group was contacted. No success. That makes 4 attempts to get the problem fixed. Hopefully, my 100 room group will stay elsewhere next year. The hotel has a good location, but there are 2 other hotels across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The $1.00 CIRCULATOR Bus leaves nearby Union Station every 10 minutes, and makes it easy to see the City above ground.

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

1
mrp1212
washington, nj
Feb 4, 2013

rip off

The hotel room was amazingly inexpensive. I wondered why this was, I found out when I got there. Litteraly it cost me over $100.00 just to walk in the door not counting my room. This was for Parking and tips. I spent so much money at the hotel I could barely go out and see the sights. room service is extremely expensive with a ham sandwich being $15 plus 4.95 to bring to your room 21% gratuity and sales tax. Renting a movie in your room will run you close to $18. The staff was very nice but always and I do mean always had there hands out. I would never stay at another hyatt. If you have tons of money to blow this is the place to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

1
Health for baby
MA
Mar 26, 2013

Disgusting smell of the cigar at the main entrance

The ramps for wheel chairs and strollers next to the main entrance is used as the smoking area. We were troubled by the smell of the cigar. It was really disgusting. And, there is no refrigerator in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Smithsonian museum

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Feb 22, 2010

Disaster of a Hotel

Upon entering my room their was no personal hygiene items left by house cleaning, the toilet then proceeded not to flush and maintenance had to come to repair it. Finally breakfast the next morning they proceeded to give me a bill, when I already had paid for it with the room. Front Desk clerk did not provide me with breakfast coupon. Therefore I had to wait until the mess was straighten out. It's great the capital is right their as soon as you walk out, but nothing to do in this part of town. Even the front desk and maintenance people said don't walk around the hotel area at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

1
Eddie 5515
Business
Greenville, SC, USA
Dec 11, 2011

Old and run down

Beds very hard. Carpet in hall didn't look like it had been replaced, cleaned, or vacuumed since it was put in. Had a low frequency noise every several minutes that literally vibrated the floor. Would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

1
JohnOH
Ohio
Jul 8, 2013

Dirty/Poor management/Noizy

This is just horrible experience. Dirty. Poor Management and too Noizy. This like sleeping in Union Station. You have use Queue to elivators. I don't know from where so many people are always in Lobby

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top