$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 12, 2015 Check-out: Jun 13, 2015

Hyatt Regency Washington

4 stars
View map of 400 New Jersey Ave Northwest, WASHINGTON, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hyatt Regency Washington

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
348 out of 348
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lola Betts
Business
New York, NY
Sep 7, 2009

Love the hotel, love the price even more

It was already late (10:00 p.m.) when I called the Front Desk the first night, yet the man who answered sprightly addressed me by my name then quickly asked how he could be of help. Wow, talk of guest being first, I felt like a million! I just inquired if the water from the tap was safe to drink and he assured me it is, adding that the hotel has never had any issue of its potability. Kudos to this (young?) fellow and to the hotel for training its staff well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel's location is ideal especially for those without cars, due to proximity to public transport and the Capitol: Metrobuses ply both streets that bound the hotel, and the Union Station is just a 5-minute walk away. Even someone who walks with a cane (like my husband) won't mind the distance. Best of all, the Smithsonian museums are also spitting distance away, just 10 minutes walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Carmel
Sep 25, 2009

Attentive staff , great people watching,

Make sure to visit with the wonderful bartender, [...]. He's been around DC for over 30 years. He hails from Jamacia and went out of his way to entertain me while I was waiting at the bar for my spouse. Thanks, [...]!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't waste money on rental car. Take the SuperSaver from the airport for only $15. Everyone takes taxis in DC when on Capitol Hill. Driving is hazardous in the congested DC with lots of construction blocking many routs. Taxis seem much cheaper than in other larger metropolitan cities.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ontario, CA
Aug 8, 2007

Great Location!

The Hyatt Regency on Capital Hill had very friendly staff and is in an ideal location just blocks away from The Mall and Union Station. Although the hotel was experiencing maintenance challenges during our stay, the staff ensured our needs were met and any inconveniences compensated. The room and bathroom were relatively spacious for a family of four. We were pleased with the availability of the indoor pool and gym.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Definitely take advantage of the Metro located at Union Station. Various tour and inexpensive dining options are available at Union Station, as well. The DC Circulator bus can be picked up only a few blocks from the hotel which comes by every 10 minutes and drives around The Mall during the weekdays.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J.W.
Business
Downers Grove, IL, USA
Aug 28, 2011

great location & comfortable

I found the hotel to be in a great location close to Capital Hill and transportation. Room was comfortable and quiet. Only blemish was an inflated breakfast buffet price. Still, a great rom for a great price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Most of the attractions are a medium walk or short drive from the hotel. No hills when walking. Most everything easy to find with area map.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Erin B
Business
Wilmington, DE, USA
Sep 27, 2011

Great weekend getaway

This hotel was great for an impromptu weekend getaway with my husband! Would return to this hotel in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Capitol is just steps away from the hotel and the National Mall is a 5 minute walk! Great location to see the museums.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn
Aug 26, 2008

Great for the price

The lobby was undergoing renovations, but that didn't really impede anything... it wasn't really more inconvenient or anything to get to the rooms, and the construction noises didn't filter up there either. The beds were very comfortable, and the bathrooms were large and were stocked with plenty of towels. Overall, the hotel was clean and well-kept, and in a fairly central location. For the price, it was a steal!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

A short walk from Union Station

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 26, 2008

Great Location

This was our first time in DC and we were without a car, so the location was very important to us. It is very close to the mall so we were able to walk anywhere we wanted to go. It is also close to the Metro and that too was a plus. The only thing I was dissappointed about was there was no hot tub that I saw.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ocala, Florida
Jul 12, 2010

Nice hotel

Easy walk to Union Station and the Capitol Bldg. Pool was small and indoors, full of kids so we didn't go in it! Restaurant was pretty good but very pricey for dinner. There really wasn't any other choice walking distance at night. Overall for the price it was a great place to stay, very nice room and service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great little breakfast place right around the corner on next to Starbucks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First time Boston
Business
Baltimore, MD
Jul 5, 2009

Good location

Hotel was in a great location. Very busy over 4th July weekend though so was probably noiser than normal. Staff very friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Only a 5 minute walk to the Capitol Building,National Mall and Union Station

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The rugby lovin' family
Business
Minnesota
Jul 8, 2011

Great location great price

Hotel staff was always friendly and helpful. The room was in perfect condition. TV had a little trouble with it's signal, but we weren't in DC to watch TV. Food in the hotel restaurant was delicious. Many different groups of people staying here (families, business travelers, wedding guests, etc.) There were restaurants, a metro station and the Capitol were all within close walking distance. I wish we had free wi-fi, but it was easy enough to find in surrounding cafes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

The Tourmobile is a great way to save your feet some soreness, save some walking time and a great way to get some history tidbits on the way. You get on and off at your leisure at the main monuments at the Mall and Arlington.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top