$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

Hyatt Regency Washington

4 stars
View map of 400 New Jersey Ave Northwest, WASHINGTON, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hyatt Regency Washington

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
350 out of 350
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Eric and Lisa
Business
Bronx, NY
May 9, 2011

Great location, a lot of extra charges

Ok the location is great, walking distance to union station to pickup tour busses and metro, tour busses also drop you off in front of the hotel at the end of trip. The decor in room is nothing fancy, I thought it would be much nicer since its a Hyatt. We drove down from NYC, no self parking at hotel, valet parking was $41 per day and internet $10 per day, didnt like these charges at all. Breakfast buffet was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stevebruin
Business
Oregon Coast
Jan 2, 2010

A Mixed Bag

Great location near museums. We weren't informed that internet connectivity would be $9.99/day. We were there six days and bathroom floor was never cleaned. Maids would take drinking glasses and not replace them. When I called "Guest Services" with a question, was bumped to front desk, made to wait 10 minutes and the system hung up on me. I tried a second time with a repeat. Understaffed and not very caring.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid horrendous costs of hotel restaurants and numerous eateries on/around Capitol Hill; eat at Union Station.

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Big L.E.
Business
Anchorage, AK
Jun 14, 2010

It was okay

It was a great price in a great location just blocks from Union Station and the Capital Building. The rooms were nice; however, the noise in the hallways is amplified. In additon, the ice machine in the hallway contributed to the noise. Even though the price ($89) was a great, I had to pay an additional $45.00 a day for parking. There is no free Wi-Fi and to use the computers in the business area was 0.40 cents a minute. Not good for business use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fredericksburg Virginia
Jun 27, 2010

Pros and Cons

Great hotel and friendly staff, parking attendant actually saved me $40 by telling me where to park instead of using valet parking. My vehicle was safe and I received no tickets. Only down fall is that if you are a middle class American who only travels occassionally due to economic restraints, it is very unfortunate that you can not eat at the hotel because of the outragious prices. I understand that things are a little bit more expensive when you are vacationing however, $14 for two scrambled eggs is ridiculous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jack from texas
Business
Friendswood Texas
Aug 27, 2009

WGL Stay

Generally good in all catagories, but bed is VERY uncomfortable. Worn out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Coastal Flower In VA
Business
Hampton VA
Aug 25, 2009

good location 10-15 min walk to sites

This trip was leisure. Sightseeing. The rooms are small but clean. Similiar expereince at similiar level hotels in large city. Met expectations. However, the room I was checked into was "out of service" and I was still checked into the room. A/C not operable and in Aug in Washington DC, it was not pleasant. I was told I would be given rewards to complimentary accomodations on another booking, however, that has not happened yet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
milwaukee
May 22, 2011

plus minus

the location is wonderful. the area around is very nice and short walks to many attractions. The hotel is clean and service is good. The room size and configuration is satisfactory. The major negative is the lack of quality of the mattress.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

library of congress is the most beautiful building in D.C. It is a short walk from the Hyatt.

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake Elsinore Ca.
Aug 23, 2009

Great place to stay

Great location, right down the street from the Capitol. All of the parking in our hotel was full. We parked across the street at another hotel at a price of $45.00 a day. The hotel we stayed at was $41.00 a day. We never used our car as Cabs were cheap and plentiful. We enjoyed a night tour of DC using a local tour agency. The tour guide was very knowledgable and friendly.We also toured the Museums, about 2 a day.Food was very expensive all over.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the rail system in DC as an all day pass can be bought at $9.00 for 24 hours. The rail was cool on a hot day and less crowded as the streets.

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
pittsburgh, pa
Jul 12, 2009

Check first before booking

The hotel is nice. But bring a large check book to eat at the resturant or park in the area. The inhouse mini-store also charges different prices everytime you by something. The service desk stated that alot of the itmes listed on the web site are not available and have never been. Call first on what is available. The rooms are comfortable but most of the rooms only have a view of another wall of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the National Mall and Union Station.

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Not Happy Nancy
Business
PA
Mar 8, 2010

There is room for improvement!!

The staff was friendly and when told of mistakes, they were quick to respond. However, it was annoying that there were so many mistakes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top