$114 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Hyatt Regency Washington

4 stars
View map of 400 New Jersey Ave Northwest, WASHINGTON, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hyatt Regency Washington

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
318 out of 318
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SkylarNY
Couples
NYC, New York
Nov 25, 2012

Good location but basic amenities

Our three day trip to Washington DC was great but the stay at the Hyatt regency a bit disappointing. First they gave us a room facing the swimming pool and the fitness center with full exposure with the curtain opened. They gave us the only one available on a corner, very small, the tv facing the window not the bed and with only one chair for two people. The loading dock just beneath us despite being on the fifth floor was very noisy early in the morning made the room shaking. The pool was nice and warm and good fitness equipment but free wifi would have been nice. As for the location, it is close to the Smithsonian museums, however coming back after dark was a bit scary, not much light and rarely anyone around. Restaurants are scarce around the hotel so you need to plan ahead where to dine. It is conveniently located a fews blocks from Union Station where you can grab a bite before heading to the museums.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jazzhen
Family
elizabeth city, nc
Jan 1, 2013

Great location, but.......

The staff -- porters, valet service, restarurant staff, check in, and maids were very friendly.The rooms were nicely decorated with an outstanding view but the beds were too small, no microwave, no refrigerator the pillows were awful and no FREE WIFI The parking was outrageous --- FORTY FIVE dollars a day to park in the hotels garage. There were no amenities for the price we were paying to stay.--- we should have received breakfast or parking, or wif freei. You could walk to the national mall if you wanted to. the capital building could be seen from the hote.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
H and F
Couples
Oxford, MS
Jul 9, 2013

Just Average

Felt staff was not very concerned about guest. Almost everything outside the basic room had an additional charge - making the total value no better than average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LuLus
Family
NYC
Aug 20, 2013

Amenities

This is a great location, only there is really nothing to the room. The bedspread looks like a teenage boys, no fridge, or free continential breakfast. I tend to wonder if they give you the lesser rooms because one books with an outside vendor??? Although the staff was VERY nice! One thing about the maids, they didn't put away the iron and ironing board?? Wierd.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Charlie the romance troubadour.
Business
NYC
May 21, 2010

Costly Valet Parking! Watch out!

Valet parking fee was $41! Quite expensive and unexpected. No self-parking available. No restaurants very near although Chinatown was not too far, about 10 blocks or so.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Parking.

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Parents of DC kids
Couples
Ewing, New Jersey
Jun 7, 2010

Weekend in DC

The staff at the Hyatt were wonderful, from the front door personnel to the housekeepers. Food at the restaurant was good, wine was very expensive $14 for a glass of Pino Grigio. The hotel is located close to the Metro at Union Station, so it is easy to get around DC. Furniture in the lounge was stained and dirty, the rugs are worn and faded. In the morning, you can see that the guest room was not vacuumed under the bed in a very long time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park your car in the public lot on E Street, $38 for two days. Parking at the hotel is $41 per day.

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jimboluke
Family
Cincinnati, Ohio
Jul 20, 2009

A bit expensive

My main complaint was everything in the Hotel was expensive. $20.00 for breakfast per person is pretty steep for a family of four. $17.00 for a 12 inch cheese pizza with some outragous delivery charge would end up costing $25.00. I know we had other options like going to other places to eat and believe me we did. We found a carry out across from the Hotel and they even had a deli and their prices were very resonable. We stocked up on soda and snacks and ate breakfast there twice for about $20.00 for a family of four on a budget.The pool area needs to be policed better by Hotel personel. Every evening kids would get out large exercise balls out of weight room and use them as beach balls. One lady got hit with one in the head and it caused her to hit her head on edge of pool. I took it upon myself to remove the balls as I seen them in the pool. The pool got very busy almost to many people in at one time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Station was only a couple of blocks away and you can get anything you want or need from there. Such as food and gifts.

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
NJ
May 23, 2010

Hotel nice however got food poisioning

The hotel and location were great. Price was great for what was offered. The staff very friendly. We were 100% satisfied when we left. However, we got home and discovered we both got food poisioning from the restaurant. The food was excellent we thought at the time - we shared two dishes for lunch and then left and drove home. That was all we ate all day and about 9pm that night - we both started getting sick an hour apart from each other and it lasted 2 days. It was awful what we went through.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Palatine, IL
Aug 9, 2009

Hyatt downtown

The location is simply outstanding. Only a block or two from the Capitol. The $31 to $41 per day for parking was a bit dissapointing, I guess all one could say is relative to the area, It was not a big shocker. It's still an "in your face" gouge. Everything was clean, and looked like the standards are kept high. I expected that from a Hyatt hotel, and they delivered. $10 per day, for internet connection was nickel and Diming. Only issue was when we needed towels and called housekeeping and they did not deliver as promsed. I went to the front desk, and they contacted housekeeping again. A half hour later, still no towels, so I found a guy cleaning rooms down the hall and he gave me a couple towels.. Problem solved, not a big deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Paul Hubby deluxe
Couples
Alexandria LA.
Jun 6, 2011

Nice People, THIN walls.

Everyone we encountered were very nice and as helpful as you would expect. However the rooms were small and the walls were very thin. Our room was across from the ice machine and we heard that all night long. Also our neighbors at the first of the week long stay were quiet but for the last three days stayed up late and we heard total conversations. Beautiful lobby but over priced "Grill".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Go out! Union Station is close and a lot less expensive.

Back to menu Return to top