$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 31, 2015 Check-out: Feb 1, 2015

Hyatt Regency Washington

4 stars
400 New Jersey Ave Northwest, WASHINGTON, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
315 reviews
amazing trip to Washington DC

It was amazing trip to see Washington DC I stayed 8 nights in this hotel it is very nice hotel ,the... See full review

  • Saba A.
  • Jan 9, 2015
Nice Hotel

Great Location, very close to museums and monuments. See full review

  • Roberto A.
  • Dec 31, 2014
A spectacular newly remodeled five-story atrium lobby welcomes guests with a handsome contemporary atmosphere. Our 834 deluxe guest rooms, include 32 suites, Hyatt Business Plan and exclusive Regency Club accommodations. Our three-meal restaurant Article One-American Grill, is located on the lobby level. The restaurant offers a casual location for breakfast and lunch each day, while featuring upscale dining for dinner each evening. At the end of the day, relax over a few cocktails in a lively atmosphere at Article One Lounge. Our 8,000 square-foot Fitness Center offers an indoor heated lap pool, state-of-the-art Life Fitness equipment, free weights, aerobic mats and sun deck. Our 38,000 square feet of versatile meeting space consists of 32 meeting rooms which can accommodate from 10 to 1,200 people for your conference and/or banquet, including our 11,000 square-foot column-free ballroom and the Thornton Room with views of Washington, DC. Hyatt Regency Washington is located on Capitol Hill within walking distance to the US Capitol, National Mall, Congressional office buildings, US Supreme Court, Library of Congress, Amtrak's Union Station and Washington's Metro subway. Only 8 blocks from the Verizon Center and ten blocks to the Washington Convention Center. Convenient to the Smithsonian Museums, Washington Monument, Botanical Gardens, Air & Space Museum, National Gallery of Art, National Museum of the American Indian, shopping, night spots and theaters. The hotel is ideally located just 10 minutes from Reagan National Airport; 45 minutes from Washington- Dulles Airport; and 60 minutes from Baltimore-Washington Airport. Make your next trip to Washington, DC memorable when you stay at Hyatt Regency Washington for the luxury and convenience of this preferred Capitol Hill location. You'll enjoy both the ambiance and authentic hospitality that is unique to Hyatt Regency Washington.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hyatt Regency Washington also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hyatt Regency Washington Rooms

Business Plan
Business Plan rooms include daily breakfast for one adult, daily internet for one computer (24hrs), one bottle of water daily, newspaper daily, once pressed shirt or blouse daily and local, 1-800 and long distance calls to the US and Canada. Choice of ki
Club
View Floors, Lounge Access, Continental Breakfast: Hors d oeuvres: Robe
Standard
Deluxe room accommodations with the choice of king or two double beds. Each room has cable tv, working desk, data-ports, bathroom amenities and feather pillows.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Jogging track
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Conference suite
Computer rental
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • National Postal Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Union Station: 0.3 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Newseum: 0.5 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.6 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Union Station: 0.3 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Newseum: 0.5 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.6 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • National Archives: 0.6 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.6 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.8 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.8 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.9 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.9 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.9 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.9 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1 mi
  • National Theatre: 1 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1 mi

Dining

Article One
Article One is located on the lobby level. Serving a casual breakfast, and lunch with a more upscale grill menu for dinner. Reservations are requested for six or more.
Article One Lounge
Article One Lounge is located in the bustling atrium lobby, the lounge provides a relaxing atmosphere serving beer, wine, cocktails and lite fare daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (315)

Ratings and reviews for Hyatt Regency Washington

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
315 out of 315
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Disappointed in Florida
Business
Melbourne FL
Sep 4, 2010

Holiday Inn with a fancy name

I stayed at a HI Express in Jacksonville recently that had a refrigerator, microwave, free wireless and a bathroom that would hold more than one person (all for $89 a night) - none of which this Hyatt had. When I questioned their charging $9.99 a day for the wireless all I got was bad attitude. IMPORTANT: The location is not all that great - it appears great on a map and the long photo shot in the brochures show the Capitol - but The Mall, The Capitol and The Metro are all the better part of a mile away. Highly recommend getting a hotel close to the wonderful Metro - your feet will thank you. Another thing, the area around the hotel, even during the day, is not the best - I got hit on by panhandlers every day and they are very vocal if you don't contribute - I got cursed at almost every day, and they use the F word like punctuation. One last thing: if you think you're going to get a great nighttime view of the Capitol - guess again - almost every room faces a building that is London Ugly - of the hundreds of rooms in the hotel there may be only two or three that are on the right corner and high enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Super Sheli
Business
cleveland,OH
May 24, 2009

East Coast Road Trip

when we were there we decided to sit back and relax by the bar, then wake up early to sight-see. I think the hotel would be better if they could include a hot-tub, more helpful and friendly valet attendants, and not as many alarm drills!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

whether you drive or take the bus, your stuck in traffic. I felt it was more adventurous and time-saving that we walked from our hotel, all the way through D.C. of course if you have limited mobility in your legs it might not be a smart idea : )

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DAMATALL
Business
BETHESDA MARYLAND
May 1, 2011

BEWARE!!!

BEWARE AT THE TIME YOU CHOOSE THIS HOTEL AND USE VALET PARKING THERE BECAUSE THEIR OVERNITE CHARGE IS $41 PER NIGHT, SO THIS OUTREAGEOUS FEE WILL ADD UP. THE HOTEL IS OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

BECAREFUL, WITH WALK AROUND THIS NEIGHBOR TOO MANY HOMELESS AROUND, SO TAKE A TAXI EVEN THOU IS A SHORT WALK

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Liberty Girl 14
Business
Boca Raton, FL
Aug 31, 2010

Mixed Bag

For anyone who has become accustomed to Hyatt and the look and feel of their hotels would be very disappointed with this one. This hotel is definitely not up to Hyatt standards. Rooms/Bathrooms very small no bathtub, had to keep air conditioner very low so room would not smell and feel humid. Thank goodness their Staff was very friendly and helpful and main restaurant food was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
busy mom that travels with kids
Business
West Linn, Oregon
Jul 10, 2009

OK, not what I expected from a Hyatt

The staff was friendly enough, the location was fine - easy walking distance to Union Station. We got exactly what we requested - adjoining rooms, one with two doubles, and one with a king. My complaints were: one of the toilets did not flush properly. the bottom sheet is not a fitted sheet, and it did not stay tucked - I am thinking it was not big enough, so the small amount that got tucked under never stayed - very annoying. the bathroom floor was not clean. the bathroom was not stocked with the proper number of towels, we had to call for the right ones. we called for a rollaway bed, we called again 30 minutes later, and they said it would still be another 30 minutes. We received a wake-up call very early in the morning, even though we had not requested one. Perhaps this is par for DC, but the one and only restaurant was quite expensive, though they did have a very reasonable children's menu. I know these seem like small complaints, nothing terrible, but I just had higher expectations from the Hyatt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hyatt Capitol Hill
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 8, 2009

Disappointing

I've stayed at a number of Hyatt's recently and have to say that this one was by far the most disappointing. We've had positive epxeriences at all but this one. The rooms were old and outdated despite the newer more modern lamps, the staff was slow and unresponsive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 17, 2008

Full of school trips

We only have one experience of this hotel so it may be unrepresentative but our experience was not what we expected as it was chaotic around check in/reception/restaurants with loads of kids and people with clipboards. Not recommended if you're after a relaxing trip. Having said that, the room was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pookie Mom
Business
Texas
Jul 13, 2009

Good luck on parking

We enjoyed seeing D.C. and all it's glory. But did not like the fact that the hotel does not have parking. That put a big dent in our pockets in having to find a garage to park in, and parking was not cheap either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Most attractions are in walking distance. Plan on during a lot of walking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chicago traveler
Business
chicago, il
Jan 12, 2010

Not that impressive

was ok. they let us check in at 11 instead of 3, which was great. we weren't impressed with the room at all. it was a "la quinta inn" type of room. nothing like the pictures. lobby and restaurant was nice, didn't have food, even with the 50% off cupon they gave us it was pretty expensive. they had a nice starbucks in the hotel, expensive as well. loved the location. very close to any major transportation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
needs rest
Business
washington dc
Oct 9, 2012

room

I could hear the guests in the other rooms. This was because the doors that connected the rooms where thin. I could hear guests on both sides of me like there were no doors there at all. Other then this that stay was enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top