$84 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 17, 2014 Check-out: Dec 20, 2014

Hyatt Regency Washington

4 stars
400 New Jersey Ave Northwest, WASHINGTON, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
306 reviews
Very nice hotel.

I was very pleased that this hotel was so close to many sights in Washington DC including the train... See full review

  • usafr2
  • Nov 24, 2014
Great weekend in DC!

The location was very close to National Capital Building and a ton of other attractions, as well as... See full review

  • Walked East
  • Nov 24, 2014
Capitol Hill hotel with futuristic lobby atrium, amenities for business

The Hyatt Regency Washington's atrium impresses with its high, cascading ceilings and dark wood. The lobby gives an almost futuristic atmosphere to the hotel. Guests can use express check-in computer terminals to skip the reservation line. Unwind with friends or colleagues at Article One Lounge with its community tables and 13 flat-screen televisions. Guests escape from D.C. politics at the heated indoor lap pool covered by skylights and surrounded by greenery.

Highlights
  • Express check-in kiosks in strikingly modern lobby
  • Indoor lap pool in lush, plant-filled atrium
  • Business Plan Guestrooms include one complimentary pressed shirt or blouse, complimentary breakfast buffet, and complimentary newspapers
Location

The hotel is on Capitol Hill near monuments, museums, government buildings and Union Station.

Rooms

The 834 rooms and spacious suites of the Hyatt Regency Washington are traditionally decorated in caramel and gold colors and have modern wood furnishings. Rooms have oversized work desks, iHome stereos with iPod docking stations, Hyatt Grand Beds with pillow-top mattresses, fine linens, and 37-inch LCD televisions.

Features

Skip the check-in or check-out line by using the express computer terminals in the lobby. Article One, an American grill, serves a casual lunch and breakfast and an upscale dinner. The Article One Lounge offers space to enjoy cocktails and light fare. The hotel has an on-site health club and indoor, heated lap pool. High-speed Internet (fees apply) and valet parking (fees apply) are available.

Transportation
  • Judiciary Square Metro stop (0.2 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • Regan National Airport (3.5 mi/ 5.7 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (24 mi/ 39 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (26 mi/ 43 km)
Attractions
  • Union Station shops, restaurants, and transportation (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • United States Capitol (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Newseum (0.4 mi/ 0.7 km)
  • The National Mall (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Library of Congress (0.7 mi/ 1.1 km)
  • The White House (1.2 mi/ 2 km)
  • Eastern Market (1.2 mi/ 1.9 km)
  • Washington Monument (1.3 mi/ 2.1 km)
  • Dupont Circle (1.9 mi/ 3.1 km)
  • Georgetown (2.7 mi/ 4.3 km)
Business
  • High-speed Internet (fees apply)
  • 38,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Professional meeting planners and caterers
  • 24-hour FedEx office
  • 24-hour business center with extensive services
  • Business Plan guestrooms with special amenities for business travelers
Policies and Fees
  • The hotel charges $48 USD parking fee.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hyatt Regency Washington also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hyatt Regency Washington Rooms

Business Plan
Business Plan rooms include daily breakfast for one adult, daily internet for one computer (24hrs), one bottle of water daily, newspaper daily, once pressed shirt or blouse daily and local, 1-800 and long distance calls to the US and Canada. Choice of ki
Club
View Floors, Lounge Access, Continental Breakfast: Hors d oeuvres: Robe
Standard
Deluxe room accommodations with the choice of king or two double beds. Each room has cable tv, working desk, data-ports, bathroom amenities and feather pillows.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Jogging track
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Conference suite
Computer rental
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • National Postal Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Union Station: 0.3 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Newseum: 0.5 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.6 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Union Station: 0.3 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Newseum: 0.5 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.6 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • National Archives: 0.6 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.6 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.8 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.8 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.9 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.9 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.9 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.9 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1 mi
  • National Theatre: 1 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1 mi

Dining

Article One
Article One is located on the lobby level. Serving a casual breakfast, and lunch with a more upscale grill menu for dinner. Reservations are requested for six or more.
Article One Lounge
Article One Lounge is located in the bustling atrium lobby, the lounge provides a relaxing atmosphere serving beer, wine, cocktails and lite fare daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (306)

Ratings and reviews for Hyatt Regency Washington

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
306 out of 306
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
touristy tara
west virginia
Dec 17, 2013

great hotel

Hotel room was clean and comfortable with wonderfully comfortable bed The water pressure in shower was amazing Great location for sight seeing Go to union station for dining Only a short walk The staff was very helpful and friendly. Highly recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Union station has great food and tour trolley picks up at hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Paul, Minnesota
Aug 10, 2009

A really nice place to stay in DC

The only drawback to this hotel were prices for food in first floor restaurant and soda/goodies in the first floor convenience store.Our room rates averaged like $90 a day I think because congress just finished session.I think the regular price was around $200/day and the room was up to that caliber.Two blocks to Union Station where food court offered very reasonable prices & very good food and plenty of variety.Also;two blocks in opposite direction is the capital.Lots of things to see in walking distance or a short cab ride.All staff and employees were very friendly and courteous.We would go back there in a moment!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Entertainment seemed the best category for Smithsonian. Four days wasn't enough time to take in as much as we wanted.It's all great to see--you just have to see the things on top of your list.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palatine, IL
Aug 9, 2009

Hyatt downtown

The location is simply outstanding. Only a block or two from the Capitol. The $31 to $41 per day for parking was a bit dissapointing, I guess all one could say is relative to the area, It was not a big shocker. It's still an "in your face" gouge. Everything was clean, and looked like the standards are kept high. I expected that from a Hyatt hotel, and they delivered. $10 per day, for internet connection was nickel and Diming. Only issue was when we needed towels and called housekeeping and they did not deliver as promsed. I went to the front desk, and they contacted housekeeping again. A half hour later, still no towels, so I found a guy cleaning rooms down the hall and he gave me a couple towels.. Problem solved, not a big deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA
Aug 9, 2009

Top Notch

Great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Patrick - Marketing Consultant
Business
2 places: Omaha, NE and Cave Creek, AZ
Aug 4, 2009

Washington DC trip - AAFCO 7/30-8-3/09

Location perfect - my mtg's in Hotel & allowed to tour heart of Washington with excellent location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Can "stage" your touring nicely from there - ck with the concierge to find out which 'places of interest' close when - either 5:30, 7:00, or 10PM - then can make a round about tour...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amberli Super Traveler
Business
Atlanta, GA
Aug 2, 2009

Loved it!

Loved the location. Two blocks from Union Station which is served by the red line. Several bus tours and trolley tours left from Union Station. I can recommend graylinedc.com, A Taste of DC trolley tour. Lasted for 2 hours, hit all the major landmarks and stopped for photo ops at the Capitol and White House. I also recommend the Spy Museum and try out the Operation Spy simulation. U street between 11th and 18th. Lots of restaurants, lounges, clubs, boutiques. The buffet is superb. Smoked salmon, fresh fruit, yum. And the staff was fantastic and attentive. Concierge gave great info.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Spy Museum - Operation Spy simulation. Too fun!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palmdale, CA
Jul 29, 2009

Great centrally located hotel

Hotel and staff were great. Location was wonderful, close to most things we did. Negative - $48.00 per night for parking is too much!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Mount Vernon - George Washington's resting place

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jimboluke
Business
Cincinnati, Ohio
Jul 20, 2009

A bit expensive

My main complaint was everything in the Hotel was expensive. $20.00 for breakfast per person is pretty steep for a family of four. $17.00 for a 12 inch cheese pizza with some outragous delivery charge would end up costing $25.00. I know we had other options like going to other places to eat and believe me we did. We found a carry out across from the Hotel and they even had a deli and their prices were very resonable. We stocked up on soda and snacks and ate breakfast there twice for about $20.00 for a family of four on a budget.The pool area needs to be policed better by Hotel personel. Every evening kids would get out large exercise balls out of weight room and use them as beach balls. One lady got hit with one in the head and it caused her to hit her head on edge of pool. I took it upon myself to remove the balls as I seen them in the pool. The pool got very busy almost to many people in at one time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Station was only a couple of blocks away and you can get anything you want or need from there. Such as food and gifts.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alli Travels
Business
New York, NY
Jul 19, 2009

Loved it!

I am an avid traveler and decided to go to DC with my boyfriend last minute! We booked this hotel and headed on our way. When we got there late - at 3 am!- the staff was incredibly friendly. When we had to get something from our car - which was in the parking garage- they brought us right down to the garage. The location is also perfect - right near the Capital and Union Station. The only slight gripe is that we needed to pay for parking. Maybe it was an off weekend - D.C. was not very packed for a beautiful summer weekend - but there was plenty of street parking. Since we arrived at 3 a.m. we did not even look for street parking. We used the hotel parking garage. The sign said $41 a night (We were there from 3 am on and one other night) but were only charged about $35 for the entire weekend. The garage staff was careful, quick and friendly. If you do not want to pay for parking you can probably find street parking. Overall, I felt safer knowing my car was in the hotel garage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

We started our morning searching for a quick bite for breakfast outside of the hotel. We walked around until we were directed to Union Station. We needed to pass our hotel ot get there. If we would have known about it - it was only about two blocks away- we would have went there right away and saved time. Another tip - We used the hop on/hop off red bus. If you want to get a lot done and have a small group, or a large group who moves quickly, this is the route to take. I have used them in several cities and it is a huge time saver! With the $30 price tag you can visit about 40 sites as well as take a nighttime ride - very beautiful! You can get on by the Capital or Union Station - those are the closest to the hotel. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Poofs
Business
Huntsville, AL
Jul 17, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

The bathroom didn't have much space for my personal belongings and I would have liked to had a safe in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location to Union Station. We went all over the area on the Metro for $20.00 for the whole week.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jul 14, 2009

Hyatt Regency - Washington, DC

Great place to stay for sightseeing in Wash, DC. Located steps to US Capitol/National Mall. Walking distance to Chinatown/shops. Short cab ride to Georgetown. Beautiful hotel with great food, although rather pricey. Excellent plus to take advantage of free breakfast passes. This saved the day regarding food expenses. Would have liked parking facilities ($41 per night valet parking only - I paid $32 for 4 days at a local indoor lot.) Overall, I would recommend & definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Take advantage of free breakfast passes. Great food & all you can eat buffet. Totally worth it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top