$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 12, 2015 Check-out: Jun 13, 2015

Hyatt Regency Washington

4 stars
View map of 400 New Jersey Ave Northwest, WASHINGTON, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hyatt Regency Washington

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
348 out of 348
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jer in Utah
Utah
Aug 21, 2013

DC Trip

The hotel was lovely, the room very comfortable and the staff helpful and kind. The parking was a little tricky and I wish we had known it was $50 a day to park our car at the hotel. We may have chosen not to get a rental car had we been aware of the charge. Other than that, our stay was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Feb 13, 2011

More than expected!

The hotel is in a very central location, which made it easy to get to different restaurants and venues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Clydes

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Polenov
Business
miami,fl
Dec 24, 2010

good voyage

I am absolutely satisfied. Exellent location,nice room,perfect service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Polenov
Business
miami,fl
Dec 24, 2010

good voyage

I am absolutely satisfied. Exellent location,nice room,perfect service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DC Rookies
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Dec 3, 2010

DC Vacation

We selected this hotel because of its location and reputation. We got the location but it fell far short of its reputation. The room had no bathtub and no exhaust fan in the bathroom. We walked most places and a bathtub would have felt great at the end of the day. The maid told us that there were only about 3 rooms with showers only. We tried to contact the front desk regarding changing rooms and they forwarded us to the assistant front desk manager and all we got was his voicemail with a promise to return our call which he never did. The bed was comfortable but the climate control in the room was unworkable. We had to set the control at 80 degrees to get warm air and then it quickly got too warm. Any setting less than that blew cold air like air conditioning. The TV sound control was preset to a very low level which made it difficult to hear most programming. We made 3 calls regarding the exhaust fan in the bathroom and were told that it would be repaired the "next day". Our 4th call resulted in some double talk about a central air system and it wasn't a traditional exhaust fan. The restaurant in the hotel was outrageously expensive. We ordered in the bar the first night because it was a little less expensive but all the other nights we ate at other places. Local telephone calls cost $1.00!!!! A 4-star hotel that costs between $125 and $250 per night that charges for local calls. What an outrage. Ice machines and vending machines were not conveniently located. The costs of sodas in the vending machines were $2.50 and $3.00 in the hotel gift shop. Maid service was excellent and front desk help was very polite and helpful about nearby conveniences. However concierge was rude and not helpful when we inquired about transportation from the hotel to most attractions. In our opinion this hotel was a Motel 6 with a fancy Hyatt name.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Smithsonian museums all within 15 minute walk from hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DC Rookies
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Dec 3, 2010

DC Vacation

We selected this hotel because of its location and reputation. We got the location but it fell far short of its reputation. The room had no bathtub and no exhaust fan in the bathroom. We walked most places and a bathtub would have felt great at the end of the day. The maid told us that there were only about 3 rooms with showers only. We tried to contact the front desk regarding changing rooms and they forwarded us to the assistant front desk manager and all we got was his voicemail with a promise to return our call which he never did. The bed was comfortable but the climate control in the room was unworkable. We had to set the control at 80 degrees to get warm air and then it quickly got too warm. Any setting less than that blew cold air like air conditioning. The TV sound control was preset to a very low level which made it difficult to hear most programming. We made 3 calls regarding the exhaust fan in the bathroom and were told that it would be repaired the "next day". Our 4th call resulted in some double talk about a central air system and it wasn't a traditional exhaust fan. The restaurant in the hotel was outrageously expensive. We ordered in the bar the first night because it was a little less expensive but all the other nights we ate at other places. Local telephone calls cost $1.00!!!! A 4-star hotel that costs between $125 and $250 per night that charges for local calls. What an outrage. Ice machines and vending machines were not conveniently located. The costs of sodas in the vending machines were $2.50 and $3.00 in the hotel gift shop. Maid service was excellent and front desk help was very polite and helpful about nearby conveniences. However concierge was rude and not helpful when we inquired about transportation from the hotel to most attractions. In our opinion this hotel was a Motel 6 with a fancy Hyatt name.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Smithsonian museums all within 15 minute walk from hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Abington, MA
Dec 1, 2010

Family Thanksgiving in DC

The location of the hotel was perfect. It is just off the main thoroughfare near the Capital and very close to Union Station. The kids loved the hotel pool and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. We arrived at the hotel at 10:00 a.m. since we drove all night from Massachusetts and they let us check into our room. D.C. is an amazing city and a great place to take your kids. The Hyatt provided us with a comfortable place to relax and rest when we were done with our day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Old Town Trolley was an excellent way to see the city. We used it as a way to get around, but also learned many things about the D.C. in the process. The drivers were all very knowledgeable and friendly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NEW ORLEANS, LA
Nov 29, 2010

GREAT VIEW AND LOCATION

THE STAY WAS WONDERFUL. WE WERE IN DC TO SEE THE WW II MONUMENT. WE WALKED TOWARD THE CAPITAL, RIGHT OUTSIDE THE HOTELS FRONT DOOR, AND WALKED THE MALL TO THE MONUMENT. IT WAS GREAT. THE ONLY DRAW BACK TO THE HOTEL'S LOCATION, IS THAT IT IS RIGHT BEHIND A HOMELESS SHELTER.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

ONE BLOCK AWAY FROM A DELIGHTFUL RESTAURANT CALLED BISTRO BIS

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Disappointed in Florida
Business
Melbourne FL
Sep 4, 2010

Holiday Inn with a fancy name

I stayed at a HI Express in Jacksonville recently that had a refrigerator, microwave, free wireless and a bathroom that would hold more than one person (all for $89 a night) - none of which this Hyatt had. When I questioned their charging $9.99 a day for the wireless all I got was bad attitude. IMPORTANT: The location is not all that great - it appears great on a map and the long photo shot in the brochures show the Capitol - but The Mall, The Capitol and The Metro are all the better part of a mile away. Highly recommend getting a hotel close to the wonderful Metro - your feet will thank you. Another thing, the area around the hotel, even during the day, is not the best - I got hit on by panhandlers every day and they are very vocal if you don't contribute - I got cursed at almost every day, and they use the F word like punctuation. One last thing: if you think you're going to get a great nighttime view of the Capitol - guess again - almost every room faces a building that is London Ugly - of the hundreds of rooms in the hotel there may be only two or three that are on the right corner and high enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Meridianville, Al
Sep 4, 2010

Great Location for tourist.

Needs more ice machines on floors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Liberty Girl 14
Business
Boca Raton, FL
Aug 31, 2010

Mixed Bag

For anyone who has become accustomed to Hyatt and the look and feel of their hotels would be very disappointed with this one. This hotel is definitely not up to Hyatt standards. Rooms/Bathrooms very small no bathtub, had to keep air conditioner very low so room would not smell and feel humid. Thank goodness their Staff was very friendly and helpful and main restaurant food was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top