$114 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Hyatt Regency Washington

4 stars
View map of 400 New Jersey Ave Northwest, WASHINGTON, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hyatt Regency Washington

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
318 out of 318
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
424Sam
Couples
Wellington, Ohio
Oct 3, 2011

Recent DC Experience

My husband and I had a great Orbitz experience and will use Orbitz as our travel provider. I have stayed at the Hyatt for past business trips and was so glad that it was one of the choices when I put our package together. The Hotel is FIRST CLASS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Iowa
Jul 29, 2010

DC Family Vaca

Great location for visiting the capitol buildings and museums of Washington Mall! Staff ALWAYS friendly, courteous and helpful! Unbelievable price on pkg included awesome daily breakfast which helps so much when traveling with the entire family! Rooms and hallways looked tired and at least needed new carpeting. Only had full size beds, we prefer queen so its easier for kids to share a bed. Overall thought was a great deal!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JD the MD
Couples
Philadelphia, PA
Sep 7, 2009

Decent hotel

This was a great hotel. The room was very nice and it had a beautiful lobby, restaurant and bar. Also, the location was pretty good. You can see the Capitol building from the front of the hotel. Check in/out was very quick and easy with the check in/out kiosks that were available. Also, the Union Station metro stop was just two blocks away via a scenic walk through the park with a view of the Capitol. However, the downside is that the room did not have a microfridge and you had to pay if you wanted wireless internet access (two things that are usually standard in most hotels). Overall though it is a tremendous value for the price and i would probably stay here again based on the location and the overall cleanliness and appearance of the lobby and room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Union Station metro stop is about 2 blocks from the hotel and for about $1.35 will take you just about anywhere in the city you want to go (much cheaper than a cab).

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lola Betts
Couples
New York, NY
Sep 7, 2009

Love the hotel, love the price even more

It was already late (10:00 p.m.) when I called the Front Desk the first night, yet the man who answered sprightly addressed me by my name then quickly asked how he could be of help. Wow, talk of guest being first, I felt like a million! I just inquired if the water from the tap was safe to drink and he assured me it is, adding that the hotel has never had any issue of its potability. Kudos to this (young?) fellow and to the hotel for training its staff well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel's location is ideal especially for those without cars, due to proximity to public transport and the Capitol: Metrobuses ply both streets that bound the hotel, and the Union Station is just a 5-minute walk away. Even someone who walks with a cane (like my husband) won't mind the distance. Best of all, the Smithsonian museums are also spitting distance away, just 10 minutes walk.

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Carmel
Sep 25, 2009

Attentive staff , great people watching,

Make sure to visit with the wonderful bartender, [...]. He's been around DC for over 30 years. He hails from Jamacia and went out of his way to entertain me while I was waiting at the bar for my spouse. Thanks, [...]!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't waste money on rental car. Take the SuperSaver from the airport for only $15. Everyone takes taxis in DC when on Capitol Hill. Driving is hazardous in the congested DC with lots of construction blocking many routs. Taxis seem much cheaper than in other larger metropolitan cities.

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ontario, CA
Aug 8, 2007

Great Location!

The Hyatt Regency on Capital Hill had very friendly staff and is in an ideal location just blocks away from The Mall and Union Station. Although the hotel was experiencing maintenance challenges during our stay, the staff ensured our needs were met and any inconveniences compensated. The room and bathroom were relatively spacious for a family of four. We were pleased with the availability of the indoor pool and gym.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Definitely take advantage of the Metro located at Union Station. Various tour and inexpensive dining options are available at Union Station, as well. The DC Circulator bus can be picked up only a few blocks from the hotel which comes by every 10 minutes and drives around The Mall during the weekdays.

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J.W.
Single
Downers Grove, IL, USA
Aug 28, 2011

great location & comfortable

I found the hotel to be in a great location close to Capital Hill and transportation. Room was comfortable and quiet. Only blemish was an inflated breakfast buffet price. Still, a great rom for a great price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Most of the attractions are a medium walk or short drive from the hotel. No hills when walking. Most everything easy to find with area map.

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Erin B
Couples
Wilmington, DE, USA
Sep 27, 2011

Great weekend getaway

This hotel was great for an impromptu weekend getaway with my husband! Would return to this hotel in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Capitol is just steps away from the hotel and the National Mall is a 5 minute walk! Great location to see the museums.

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Brooklyn
Aug 26, 2008

Great for the price

The lobby was undergoing renovations, but that didn't really impede anything... it wasn't really more inconvenient or anything to get to the rooms, and the construction noises didn't filter up there either. The beds were very comfortable, and the bathrooms were large and were stocked with plenty of towels. Overall, the hotel was clean and well-kept, and in a fairly central location. For the price, it was a steal!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

A short walk from Union Station

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 26, 2008

Great Location

This was our first time in DC and we were without a car, so the location was very important to us. It is very close to the mall so we were able to walk anywhere we wanted to go. It is also close to the Metro and that too was a plus. The only thing I was dissappointed about was there was no hot tub that I saw.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top