$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

Hyatt Regency Washington

4 stars
400 New Jersey Ave Northwest, WASHINGTON, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
291 reviews
nice hotel

nice hotel, nice room, great breakfast. had an overall pleasant stay. would recommend. See full review

  • lucassays
  • Aug 27, 2014
Perfect Location!

The Hyatt Regency Washington was perfect! Great location within walking distance of Union Station... See full review

  • Crochet Barb
  • Aug 25, 2014
Capitol Hill hotel with futuristic lobby atrium, amenities for business

The Hyatt Regency Washington's atrium impresses with its high, cascading ceilings and dark wood. The lobby gives an almost futuristic atmosphere to the hotel. Guests can use express check-in computer terminals to skip the reservation line. Unwind with friends or colleagues at Article One Lounge with its community tables and 13 flat-screen televisions. Guests escape from D.C. politics at the heated indoor lap pool covered by skylights and surrounded by greenery.

Highlights
  • Express check-in kiosks in strikingly modern lobby
  • Indoor lap pool in lush, plant-filled atrium
  • Business Plan Guestrooms include one complimentary pressed shirt or blouse, complimentary breakfast buffet, and complimentary newspapers
Location

The hotel is on Capitol Hill near monuments, museums, government buildings and Union Station.

Rooms

The 834 rooms and spacious suites of the Hyatt Regency Washington are traditionally decorated in caramel and gold colors and have modern wood furnishings. Rooms have oversized work desks, iHome stereos with iPod docking stations, Hyatt Grand Beds with pillow-top mattresses, fine linens, and 37-inch LCD televisions.

Features

Skip the check-in or check-out line by using the express computer terminals in the lobby. Article One, an American grill, serves a casual lunch and breakfast and an upscale dinner. The Article One Lounge offers space to enjoy cocktails and light fare. The hotel has an on-site health club and indoor, heated lap pool. High-speed Internet (fees apply) and valet parking (fees apply) are available.

Transportation
  • Judiciary Square Metro stop (0.2 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • Regan National Airport (3.5 mi/ 5.7 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (24 mi/ 39 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (26 mi/ 43 km)
Attractions
  • Union Station shops, restaurants, and transportation (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • United States Capitol (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Newseum (0.4 mi/ 0.7 km)
  • The National Mall (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Library of Congress (0.7 mi/ 1.1 km)
  • The White House (1.2 mi/ 2 km)
  • Eastern Market (1.2 mi/ 1.9 km)
  • Washington Monument (1.3 mi/ 2.1 km)
  • Dupont Circle (1.9 mi/ 3.1 km)
  • Georgetown (2.7 mi/ 4.3 km)
Business
  • High-speed Internet (fees apply)
  • 38,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Professional meeting planners and caterers
  • 24-hour FedEx office
  • 24-hour business center with extensive services
  • Business Plan guestrooms with special amenities for business travelers
Policies and Fees
  • The hotel charges $48 USD parking fee.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

38.8954 -77.0118
Nearby airports
Reagan National Airport, (DCA), 6.00, MI, N; Washington Dulles Intl Airport, (IAD), 28.00, MI, SE; Baltimore/Washington Intl Airport, (BWI), 28.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hyatt Regency Washington also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hyatt Regency Washington Rooms

Business Plan
Business Plan rooms include daily breakfast for one adult, daily internet for one computer (24hrs), one bottle of water daily, newspaper daily, once pressed shirt or blouse daily and local, 1-800 and long distance calls to the US and Canada. Choice of ki
Club
View Floors, Lounge Access, Continental Breakfast: Hors d oeuvres: Robe
Standard
Deluxe room accommodations with the choice of king or two double beds. Each room has cable tv, working desk, data-ports, bathroom amenities and feather pillows.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Jogging track
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Conference suite
Computer rental
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • National Postal Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Union Station: 0.3 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Newseum: 0.5 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.6 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Union Station: 0.3 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Newseum: 0.5 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.6 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • National Archives: 0.6 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.6 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.8 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.8 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.9 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.9 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.9 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.9 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1 mi
  • National Theatre: 1 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1 mi

Dining

Article One
Article One is located on the lobby level. Serving a casual breakfast, and lunch with a more upscale grill menu for dinner. Reservations are requested for six or more.
Article One Lounge
Article One Lounge is located in the bustling atrium lobby, the lounge provides a relaxing atmosphere serving beer, wine, cocktails and lite fare daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (291)

Ratings and reviews for Hyatt Regency Washington

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
291 out of 291
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
touristy tara
west virginia
Dec 17, 2013

great hotel

Hotel room was clean and comfortable with wonderfully comfortable bed The water pressure in shower was amazing Great location for sight seeing Go to union station for dining Only a short walk The staff was very helpful and friendly. Highly recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Union station has great food and tour trolley picks up at hotel.

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hollis, NH
May 31, 2010

excellent stay

I picked this hotel based upon its location and because of the positive reviews I read on this site, plus they were offering 40% off on the weekend we were staying in Washington. I was extremely happy with my choice! and it made our weekend that much more enjoyable. The location was perfect for us - great views of the Capitol around the corner, proximity to Union Station, and it was a relatively short walk to the Mall. (the travelers were two adults and one 8-year old little boy.) We did not rent a car and relied on public transportation and/or hoofed it.The staff was great, from helpful front desk people to cheerful support staff (meaning valets, maids, and people just sweeping up). Honestly, you could not walk by a staff member without them saying some type of friendly word. [...], one of the people who worked at the concierge desk (and I hope I'm spelling his name right) was immensely helpful - if you are touring the city, make it a point to talk to someone at the desk first. He helped finesse our plans after he applied his practical knowledge of the city. (for example, to go to the zoo, take the Cleveland Park Metro stop and walk downhill to the Zoo, and to get back, walk downhill and take the Woodley Park stop. A little detail, and it saved us an uphill walk in the sun.)The pool is small so don't look to be swimming laps, but it cooled us off each afternoon. Towels were abundant too, which was quite nice.When we come back to the city, we will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The Circulator (which is essentially a system of buses) was very easy to use, inexpensive, and convenient.

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montreal , Quebec , canada
May 25, 2010

Nicer than I expect

Good all in all

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
NJ
May 23, 2010

Hotel nice however got food poisioning

The hotel and location were great. Price was great for what was offered. The staff very friendly. We were 100% satisfied when we left. However, we got home and discovered we both got food poisioning from the restaurant. The food was excellent we thought at the time - we shared two dishes for lunch and then left and drove home. That was all we ate all day and about 9pm that night - we both started getting sick an hour apart from each other and it lasted 2 days. It was awful what we went through.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Charlie the romance troubadour.
Business
NYC
May 21, 2010

Costly Valet Parking! Watch out!

Valet parking fee was $41! Quite expensive and unexpected. No self-parking available. No restaurants very near although Chinatown was not too far, about 10 blocks or so.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Parking.

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Massachusetts
Apr 13, 2010

Great Hotel

The trip was fantastic. We had stayed at the Hyatt previously and enjoyed it. This stay was more enjoyable(if that's possible).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you plan to tour Washington, DC, please use The Tourmobile Do NOT use the Double Decker 'Hop on Hop off Washington' tour. On one occasion, wrong information was given. Where The Tourmobile has a tour guide, the 'Hop on Hop off' has a CD. In our opinion, the 'Hop on Hop off' was a waste of time and money.

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Retired visitor
Honolulu, Hawaii
Apr 13, 2010

great location for visitors

Hotel within easy access of Union Station and other visitor attractions. No view room due to construction of building next door. Staff very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BarBob
Colorado Springs
Apr 11, 2010

Hyatt Regency Washington

Was a great location. Walking distance to Union Station where the Metro and tourist trips began. Staff was very helpful--we certainly would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Long Island, New York
Apr 8, 2010

Friendly and informative staff.

Pleasant staff greet you the moment you arrive. Information on tours around the city was outstanding. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. Dining facility was available at your convenience. Great experience and is planning to return with friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The sites and surroundings were very clean. It reminded me of Rome with its tall marble pillars. It is recommended for people who haven't visited for a while or to those who haven't visit, its breath taking. It's a wonderful experience and I will recommend it to anyone.

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Apr 5, 2010

Cherry Blossom Festival Weekend

The hotel staff was very courteous. They were able to assist me in planning my visit around Washington. The consierge was helpful in pointing me in the right direction regarding transportation. The breakfast is pricey in the hotel, but since I was traveling alone the check-in staff gave me free breakfast coupons for 3 days. There is also a Starbucks and Billy Goat Tavern next door. What they don't tell you on this website is that there is a homeless shelter next door. It's not a bad area but I would be cautious at night if traveling alone. The rooms are very nice but the sound from the hallway and slamming doors is very loud. Also, if you like to keep your shades open, know that your neighbors can see everything from the reflections on the windows - keep the drapes closed. Union Station is 2 blocks away. There is plenty of food choices and transportation there. The tours can be picked up there as well. The Capitol is in view from some of the rooms of the hotel... only part of the Capitol though. I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
philadelphia
Apr 5, 2010

convenient, clean, great service

capital, museums,great restaurants all within walking distance. Union station and metro station within walking distance. Friendly service, clean and comforable rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search