$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 30, 2015 Check-out: Feb 1, 2015

Hyatt Regency Washington

4 stars
400 New Jersey Ave Northwest, WASHINGTON, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
315 reviews
amazing trip to Washington DC

It was amazing trip to see Washington DC I stayed 8 nights in this hotel it is very nice hotel ,the... See full review

  • Saba A.
  • Jan 9, 2015
Nice Hotel

Great Location, very close to museums and monuments. See full review

  • Roberto A.
  • Dec 31, 2014
A spectacular newly remodeled five-story atrium lobby welcomes guests with a handsome contemporary atmosphere. Our 834 deluxe guest rooms, include 32 suites, Hyatt Business Plan and exclusive Regency Club accommodations. Our three-meal restaurant Article One-American Grill, is located on the lobby level. The restaurant offers a casual location for breakfast and lunch each day, while featuring upscale dining for dinner each evening. At the end of the day, relax over a few cocktails in a lively atmosphere at Article One Lounge. Our 8,000 square-foot Fitness Center offers an indoor heated lap pool, state-of-the-art Life Fitness equipment, free weights, aerobic mats and sun deck. Our 38,000 square feet of versatile meeting space consists of 32 meeting rooms which can accommodate from 10 to 1,200 people for your conference and/or banquet, including our 11,000 square-foot column-free ballroom and the Thornton Room with views of Washington, DC. Hyatt Regency Washington is located on Capitol Hill within walking distance to the US Capitol, National Mall, Congressional office buildings, US Supreme Court, Library of Congress, Amtrak's Union Station and Washington's Metro subway. Only 8 blocks from the Verizon Center and ten blocks to the Washington Convention Center. Convenient to the Smithsonian Museums, Washington Monument, Botanical Gardens, Air & Space Museum, National Gallery of Art, National Museum of the American Indian, shopping, night spots and theaters. The hotel is ideally located just 10 minutes from Reagan National Airport; 45 minutes from Washington- Dulles Airport; and 60 minutes from Baltimore-Washington Airport. Make your next trip to Washington, DC memorable when you stay at Hyatt Regency Washington for the luxury and convenience of this preferred Capitol Hill location. You'll enjoy both the ambiance and authentic hospitality that is unique to Hyatt Regency Washington.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hyatt Regency Washington also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hyatt Regency Washington Rooms

Business Plan
Business Plan rooms include daily breakfast for one adult, daily internet for one computer (24hrs), one bottle of water daily, newspaper daily, once pressed shirt or blouse daily and local, 1-800 and long distance calls to the US and Canada. Choice of ki
Club
View Floors, Lounge Access, Continental Breakfast: Hors d oeuvres: Robe
Standard
Deluxe room accommodations with the choice of king or two double beds. Each room has cable tv, working desk, data-ports, bathroom amenities and feather pillows.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Jogging track
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Conference suite
Computer rental
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • National Postal Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Union Station: 0.3 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Newseum: 0.5 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.6 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Union Station: 0.3 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Newseum: 0.5 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.6 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • National Archives: 0.6 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.6 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.8 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.8 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.9 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.9 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.9 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.9 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1 mi
  • National Theatre: 1 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1 mi

Dining

Article One
Article One is located on the lobby level. Serving a casual breakfast, and lunch with a more upscale grill menu for dinner. Reservations are requested for six or more.
Article One Lounge
Article One Lounge is located in the bustling atrium lobby, the lounge provides a relaxing atmosphere serving beer, wine, cocktails and lite fare daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (315)

Ratings and reviews for Hyatt Regency Washington

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
315 out of 315
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hsthoma1
Fairfax, VA
Jul 21, 2013

A nice hotel, great location

This was a two ay trip to Washington, DC to see the sights. Great location for the US Capitol and the mall. Staff was attentive. The gym and pool, for an inner city hotel, was phenomenal. Had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go on line to get tickets for the Capitol tours. The line at the Capitol to get tickets was very long.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Feb 13, 2011

More than expected!

The hotel is in a very central location, which made it easy to get to different restaurants and venues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Clydes

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Polenov
Business
miami,fl
Dec 24, 2010

good voyage

I am absolutely satisfied. Exellent location,nice room,perfect service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DC Rookies
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Dec 3, 2010

DC Vacation

We selected this hotel because of its location and reputation. We got the location but it fell far short of its reputation. The room had no bathtub and no exhaust fan in the bathroom. We walked most places and a bathtub would have felt great at the end of the day. The maid told us that there were only about 3 rooms with showers only. We tried to contact the front desk regarding changing rooms and they forwarded us to the assistant front desk manager and all we got was his voicemail with a promise to return our call which he never did. The bed was comfortable but the climate control in the room was unworkable. We had to set the control at 80 degrees to get warm air and then it quickly got too warm. Any setting less than that blew cold air like air conditioning. The TV sound control was preset to a very low level which made it difficult to hear most programming. We made 3 calls regarding the exhaust fan in the bathroom and were told that it would be repaired the "next day". Our 4th call resulted in some double talk about a central air system and it wasn't a traditional exhaust fan. The restaurant in the hotel was outrageously expensive. We ordered in the bar the first night because it was a little less expensive but all the other nights we ate at other places. Local telephone calls cost $1.00!!!! A 4-star hotel that costs between $125 and $250 per night that charges for local calls. What an outrage. Ice machines and vending machines were not conveniently located. The costs of sodas in the vending machines were $2.50 and $3.00 in the hotel gift shop. Maid service was excellent and front desk help was very polite and helpful about nearby conveniences. However concierge was rude and not helpful when we inquired about transportation from the hotel to most attractions. In our opinion this hotel was a Motel 6 with a fancy Hyatt name.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Smithsonian museums all within 15 minute walk from hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Abington, MA
Dec 1, 2010

Family Thanksgiving in DC

The location of the hotel was perfect. It is just off the main thoroughfare near the Capital and very close to Union Station. The kids loved the hotel pool and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. We arrived at the hotel at 10:00 a.m. since we drove all night from Massachusetts and they let us check into our room. D.C. is an amazing city and a great place to take your kids. The Hyatt provided us with a comfortable place to relax and rest when we were done with our day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Old Town Trolley was an excellent way to see the city. We used it as a way to get around, but also learned many things about the D.C. in the process. The drivers were all very knowledgeable and friendly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NEW ORLEANS, LA
Nov 29, 2010

GREAT VIEW AND LOCATION

THE STAY WAS WONDERFUL. WE WERE IN DC TO SEE THE WW II MONUMENT. WE WALKED TOWARD THE CAPITAL, RIGHT OUTSIDE THE HOTELS FRONT DOOR, AND WALKED THE MALL TO THE MONUMENT. IT WAS GREAT. THE ONLY DRAW BACK TO THE HOTEL'S LOCATION, IS THAT IT IS RIGHT BEHIND A HOMELESS SHELTER.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

ONE BLOCK AWAY FROM A DELIGHTFUL RESTAURANT CALLED BISTRO BIS

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Disappointed in Florida
Business
Melbourne FL
Sep 4, 2010

Holiday Inn with a fancy name

I stayed at a HI Express in Jacksonville recently that had a refrigerator, microwave, free wireless and a bathroom that would hold more than one person (all for $89 a night) - none of which this Hyatt had. When I questioned their charging $9.99 a day for the wireless all I got was bad attitude. IMPORTANT: The location is not all that great - it appears great on a map and the long photo shot in the brochures show the Capitol - but The Mall, The Capitol and The Metro are all the better part of a mile away. Highly recommend getting a hotel close to the wonderful Metro - your feet will thank you. Another thing, the area around the hotel, even during the day, is not the best - I got hit on by panhandlers every day and they are very vocal if you don't contribute - I got cursed at almost every day, and they use the F word like punctuation. One last thing: if you think you're going to get a great nighttime view of the Capitol - guess again - almost every room faces a building that is London Ugly - of the hundreds of rooms in the hotel there may be only two or three that are on the right corner and high enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Meridianville, Al
Sep 4, 2010

Great Location for tourist.

Needs more ice machines on floors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Liberty Girl 14
Business
Boca Raton, FL
Aug 31, 2010

Mixed Bag

For anyone who has become accustomed to Hyatt and the look and feel of their hotels would be very disappointed with this one. This hotel is definitely not up to Hyatt standards. Rooms/Bathrooms very small no bathtub, had to keep air conditioner very low so room would not smell and feel humid. Thank goodness their Staff was very friendly and helpful and main restaurant food was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Getting away girl
Business
New Jersey
Aug 2, 2010

Phillies @ Nationals

Great location, near all the museums, monuments, Union Station to take subway, etc. Was only there one night to see baseball game, which stadium wasn't far either. Hotel's valet was around $40, but it was full. Luckily street parking was free saturday night into sunday, otherwise we would've had to pay at a parking garage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Iowa
Jul 29, 2010

DC Family Vaca

Great location for visiting the capitol buildings and museums of Washington Mall! Staff ALWAYS friendly, courteous and helpful! Unbelievable price on pkg included awesome daily breakfast which helps so much when traveling with the entire family! Rooms and hallways looked tired and at least needed new carpeting. Only had full size beds, we prefer queen so its easier for kids to share a bed. Overall thought was a great deal!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top