$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 28, 2014

Hyatt Regency Washington

4 stars
400 New Jersey Ave Northwest, WASHINGTON, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
310 reviews
Perfect place for visiting the city. Clean comfortable rooms, friendly staff and nice gym

We had a wonderful time. Clean and friendly and a great location. It was perfect. See full review

  • The Sheriff
  • Nov 30, 2014
Very nice hotel.

I was very pleased that this hotel was so close to many sights in Washington DC including the train... See full review

  • usafr2
  • Nov 24, 2014
Capitol Hill hotel with futuristic lobby atrium, amenities for business

The Hyatt Regency Washington's atrium impresses with its high, cascading ceilings and dark wood. The lobby gives an almost futuristic atmosphere to the hotel. Guests can use express check-in computer terminals to skip the reservation line. Unwind with friends or colleagues at Article One Lounge with its community tables and 13 flat-screen televisions. Guests escape from D.C. politics at the heated indoor lap pool covered by skylights and surrounded by greenery.

Highlights
  • Express check-in kiosks in strikingly modern lobby
  • Indoor lap pool in lush, plant-filled atrium
  • Business Plan Guestrooms include one complimentary pressed shirt or blouse, complimentary breakfast buffet, and complimentary newspapers
Location

The hotel is on Capitol Hill near monuments, museums, government buildings and Union Station.

Rooms

The 834 rooms and spacious suites of the Hyatt Regency Washington are traditionally decorated in caramel and gold colors and have modern wood furnishings. Rooms have oversized work desks, iHome stereos with iPod docking stations, Hyatt Grand Beds with pillow-top mattresses, fine linens, and 37-inch LCD televisions.

Features

Skip the check-in or check-out line by using the express computer terminals in the lobby. Article One, an American grill, serves a casual lunch and breakfast and an upscale dinner. The Article One Lounge offers space to enjoy cocktails and light fare. The hotel has an on-site health club and indoor, heated lap pool. High-speed Internet (fees apply) and valet parking (fees apply) are available.

Transportation
  • Judiciary Square Metro stop (0.2 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • Regan National Airport (3.5 mi/ 5.7 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (24 mi/ 39 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (26 mi/ 43 km)
Attractions
  • Union Station shops, restaurants, and transportation (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • United States Capitol (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Newseum (0.4 mi/ 0.7 km)
  • The National Mall (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Library of Congress (0.7 mi/ 1.1 km)
  • The White House (1.2 mi/ 2 km)
  • Eastern Market (1.2 mi/ 1.9 km)
  • Washington Monument (1.3 mi/ 2.1 km)
  • Dupont Circle (1.9 mi/ 3.1 km)
  • Georgetown (2.7 mi/ 4.3 km)
Business
  • High-speed Internet (fees apply)
  • 38,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Professional meeting planners and caterers
  • 24-hour FedEx office
  • 24-hour business center with extensive services
  • Business Plan guestrooms with special amenities for business travelers
Policies and Fees
  • The hotel charges $48 USD parking fee.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hyatt Regency Washington also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hyatt Regency Washington Rooms

Business Plan
Business Plan rooms include daily breakfast for one adult, daily internet for one computer (24hrs), one bottle of water daily, newspaper daily, once pressed shirt or blouse daily and local, 1-800 and long distance calls to the US and Canada. Choice of ki
Club
View Floors, Lounge Access, Continental Breakfast: Hors d oeuvres: Robe
Standard
Deluxe room accommodations with the choice of king or two double beds. Each room has cable tv, working desk, data-ports, bathroom amenities and feather pillows.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Jogging track
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Conference suite
Computer rental
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • National Postal Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Union Station: 0.3 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Newseum: 0.5 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.6 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Union Station: 0.3 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Newseum: 0.5 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.6 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • National Archives: 0.6 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.6 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.8 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.8 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.9 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.9 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.9 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.9 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1 mi
  • National Theatre: 1 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1 mi

Dining

Article One
Article One is located on the lobby level. Serving a casual breakfast, and lunch with a more upscale grill menu for dinner. Reservations are requested for six or more.
Article One Lounge
Article One Lounge is located in the bustling atrium lobby, the lounge provides a relaxing atmosphere serving beer, wine, cocktails and lite fare daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (310)

Ratings and reviews for Hyatt Regency Washington

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
310 out of 310
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jersey Shore
Feb 22, 2011

Wonderful hotel close to the Capital

Wanted a hotel with some nice amenities close to some sites and found this Hyatt. Close to the Capital and the Smithsonian. Parked the car at arrival Friday afternoon and did not need to get back in it until we left on Sunday. Aside from convenient location the hotel had a nice pool, a small exercise room and a good restaurant. Spent a couple of days walking around DC and then came back to the hotel and relaxed in the pool, had a decent meal and just relaxed in the room. My only complaint was I found the bed to be a little uncomfortable but I have a bad back and a lot of beds are bad for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of things in walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Feb 21, 2011

Nice hotel; bad timing

It was way too crowded this time around with wet children running all over the place and taking over the indoor pool area all day and night. Ni really like this hotel, but I wish I knew it was going to be so rowdy and full.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dady Noel
Business
San Sebastian, Puerto Rico
Feb 18, 2011

Great Location and Services

Great location and service. You can walk (even if you are over wait like me) to the museums and attractions in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Harrisburg, PA
Feb 15, 2011

Great Valentine getaway

We had a fabulous time and wouldn't change anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Acqua Al 2 was wonderful and is a hidden gem

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Feb 13, 2011

More than expected!

The hotel is in a very central location, which made it easy to get to different restaurants and venues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Clydes

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Polenov
Business
miami,fl
Dec 24, 2010

good voyage

I am absolutely satisfied. Exellent location,nice room,perfect service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DC Rookies
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Dec 3, 2010

DC Vacation

We selected this hotel because of its location and reputation. We got the location but it fell far short of its reputation. The room had no bathtub and no exhaust fan in the bathroom. We walked most places and a bathtub would have felt great at the end of the day. The maid told us that there were only about 3 rooms with showers only. We tried to contact the front desk regarding changing rooms and they forwarded us to the assistant front desk manager and all we got was his voicemail with a promise to return our call which he never did. The bed was comfortable but the climate control in the room was unworkable. We had to set the control at 80 degrees to get warm air and then it quickly got too warm. Any setting less than that blew cold air like air conditioning. The TV sound control was preset to a very low level which made it difficult to hear most programming. We made 3 calls regarding the exhaust fan in the bathroom and were told that it would be repaired the "next day". Our 4th call resulted in some double talk about a central air system and it wasn't a traditional exhaust fan. The restaurant in the hotel was outrageously expensive. We ordered in the bar the first night because it was a little less expensive but all the other nights we ate at other places. Local telephone calls cost $1.00!!!! A 4-star hotel that costs between $125 and $250 per night that charges for local calls. What an outrage. Ice machines and vending machines were not conveniently located. The costs of sodas in the vending machines were $2.50 and $3.00 in the hotel gift shop. Maid service was excellent and front desk help was very polite and helpful about nearby conveniences. However concierge was rude and not helpful when we inquired about transportation from the hotel to most attractions. In our opinion this hotel was a Motel 6 with a fancy Hyatt name.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Smithsonian museums all within 15 minute walk from hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Abington, MA
Dec 1, 2010

Family Thanksgiving in DC

The location of the hotel was perfect. It is just off the main thoroughfare near the Capital and very close to Union Station. The kids loved the hotel pool and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. We arrived at the hotel at 10:00 a.m. since we drove all night from Massachusetts and they let us check into our room. D.C. is an amazing city and a great place to take your kids. The Hyatt provided us with a comfortable place to relax and rest when we were done with our day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Old Town Trolley was an excellent way to see the city. We used it as a way to get around, but also learned many things about the D.C. in the process. The drivers were all very knowledgeable and friendly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NEW ORLEANS, LA
Nov 29, 2010

GREAT VIEW AND LOCATION

THE STAY WAS WONDERFUL. WE WERE IN DC TO SEE THE WW II MONUMENT. WE WALKED TOWARD THE CAPITAL, RIGHT OUTSIDE THE HOTELS FRONT DOOR, AND WALKED THE MALL TO THE MONUMENT. IT WAS GREAT. THE ONLY DRAW BACK TO THE HOTEL'S LOCATION, IS THAT IT IS RIGHT BEHIND A HOMELESS SHELTER.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

ONE BLOCK AWAY FROM A DELIGHTFUL RESTAURANT CALLED BISTRO BIS

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Disappointed in Florida
Business
Melbourne FL
Sep 4, 2010

Holiday Inn with a fancy name

I stayed at a HI Express in Jacksonville recently that had a refrigerator, microwave, free wireless and a bathroom that would hold more than one person (all for $89 a night) - none of which this Hyatt had. When I questioned their charging $9.99 a day for the wireless all I got was bad attitude. IMPORTANT: The location is not all that great - it appears great on a map and the long photo shot in the brochures show the Capitol - but The Mall, The Capitol and The Metro are all the better part of a mile away. Highly recommend getting a hotel close to the wonderful Metro - your feet will thank you. Another thing, the area around the hotel, even during the day, is not the best - I got hit on by panhandlers every day and they are very vocal if you don't contribute - I got cursed at almost every day, and they use the F word like punctuation. One last thing: if you think you're going to get a great nighttime view of the Capitol - guess again - almost every room faces a building that is London Ugly - of the hundreds of rooms in the hotel there may be only two or three that are on the right corner and high enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top