$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Hyatt Regency Washington

4 stars
400 New Jersey Ave Northwest, WASHINGTON, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
290 reviews
Perfect Location!

The Hyatt Regency Washington was perfect! Great location within walking distance of Union Station... See full review

  • Crochet Barb
  • Aug 25, 2014
Great Holidy Experiece!

The hotel was beautiful and the staff was great! Great breakfast bar, bar and restaurant. Able to... See full review

  • CecP
  • Jul 12, 2014
Capitol Hill hotel with futuristic lobby atrium, amenities for business

The Hyatt Regency Washington's atrium impresses with its high, cascading ceilings and dark wood. The lobby gives an almost futuristic atmosphere to the hotel. Guests can use express check-in computer terminals to skip the reservation line. Unwind with friends or colleagues at Article One Lounge with its community tables and 13 flat-screen televisions. Guests escape from D.C. politics at the heated indoor lap pool covered by skylights and surrounded by greenery.

Highlights
  • Express check-in kiosks in strikingly modern lobby
  • Indoor lap pool in lush, plant-filled atrium
  • Business Plan Guestrooms include one complimentary pressed shirt or blouse, complimentary breakfast buffet, and complimentary newspapers
Location

The hotel is on Capitol Hill near monuments, museums, government buildings and Union Station.

Rooms

The 834 rooms and spacious suites of the Hyatt Regency Washington are traditionally decorated in caramel and gold colors and have modern wood furnishings. Rooms have oversized work desks, iHome stereos with iPod docking stations, Hyatt Grand Beds with pillow-top mattresses, fine linens, and 37-inch LCD televisions.

Features

Skip the check-in or check-out line by using the express computer terminals in the lobby. Article One, an American grill, serves a casual lunch and breakfast and an upscale dinner. The Article One Lounge offers space to enjoy cocktails and light fare. The hotel has an on-site health club and indoor, heated lap pool. High-speed Internet (fees apply) and valet parking (fees apply) are available.

Transportation
  • Judiciary Square Metro stop (0.2 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • Regan National Airport (3.5 mi/ 5.7 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (24 mi/ 39 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (26 mi/ 43 km)
Attractions
  • Union Station shops, restaurants, and transportation (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • United States Capitol (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Newseum (0.4 mi/ 0.7 km)
  • The National Mall (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Library of Congress (0.7 mi/ 1.1 km)
  • The White House (1.2 mi/ 2 km)
  • Eastern Market (1.2 mi/ 1.9 km)
  • Washington Monument (1.3 mi/ 2.1 km)
  • Dupont Circle (1.9 mi/ 3.1 km)
  • Georgetown (2.7 mi/ 4.3 km)
Business
  • High-speed Internet (fees apply)
  • 38,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Professional meeting planners and caterers
  • 24-hour FedEx office
  • 24-hour business center with extensive services
  • Business Plan guestrooms with special amenities for business travelers
Policies and Fees
  • The hotel charges $48 USD parking fee.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

38.8954 -77.0118
Nearby airports
Reagan National Airport, (DCA), 6.00, MI, N; Washington Dulles Intl Airport, (IAD), 28.00, MI, SE; Baltimore/Washington Intl Airport, (BWI), 28.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hyatt Regency Washington also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hyatt Regency Washington Rooms

Business Plan
Business Plan rooms include daily breakfast for one adult, daily internet for one computer (24hrs), one bottle of water daily, newspaper daily, once pressed shirt or blouse daily and local, 1-800 and long distance calls to the US and Canada. Choice of ki
Club
View Floors, Lounge Access, Continental Breakfast: Hors d oeuvres: Robe
Standard
Deluxe room accommodations with the choice of king or two double beds. Each room has cable tv, working desk, data-ports, bathroom amenities and feather pillows.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Jogging track
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Conference suite
Computer rental
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • National Postal Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Union Station: 0.3 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Newseum: 0.5 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.6 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Union Station: 0.3 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Newseum: 0.5 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.6 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • National Archives: 0.6 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.6 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.8 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.8 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.9 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.9 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.9 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.9 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1 mi
  • National Theatre: 1 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1 mi

Dining

Article One
Article One is located on the lobby level. Serving a casual breakfast, and lunch with a more upscale grill menu for dinner. Reservations are requested for six or more.
Article One Lounge
Article One Lounge is located in the bustling atrium lobby, the lounge provides a relaxing atmosphere serving beer, wine, cocktails and lite fare daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (290)

Ratings and reviews for Hyatt Regency Washington

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
290 out of 290
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eiso
Business
New York City
Sep 9, 2013

Good location and Good Value

I was in Washington, DC for three days of weekend sightseeing before and after a 2 hour investment company seminar at the hotel. My room, neat, clean and well arranged, though in no sense luxurious, was ready at Noon when I arrived (three hours early) and check-in took less than five minutes Both doorman staff and check-in desk staff were courtious and efficient. The room and bathroom were neat and clean. The concierge desk was not busy, so I was able to obtain local maps (on which the concierge marked for me the locations I wanted to visit) in less than 5 minutes. I ate one breakfast and one lunch in the hotel lobby area dining room. The breakfast buffet had good variety and the food was tasty. My lunch salad the next day was fresh, tasty and promptly served. Checking out took only a few minutes. I was also able to check my bags at the hotel baggage room at Noon on check-out day, then do some additional sightseeing in the Capitol Hill area and pick them up mid-afternoon before getting on the train home. Union Statuion is about a seven minute walk (or cab ride) from the hotel, which is also walking distance from the Mall, the Newseum and several other tourist sights. In summary, I was pleased with the location of the hotel and the quality of both the accommodations and hotel service. The price I paid (just over $100 per day) was good value. I will stay in the Hyatt Regency again on my next trip to Washington, DC, if comparable room pricing is available..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Newseum is a treasure trove of contemporary United States history. If you are interested in current events, photogrraphy, journalism or specific events, you are in for a treat. two day admission is available at a dixcounted price. The cafeteria in the Newseum serves a wide variety of foods for lunch, including both hot and cold dishes, sandwiches, wraps, etc. Beer and wine are available in addition to the usual cold juices and sodas.

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NJ19
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Sep 5, 2013

fantastic hotel

Nice and clean hotel in Washington. You can go to Capitol Hill by foot in 10 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
B and B Macs
Evansville, IN
Apr 4, 2013

Location was great!

We were pleasantly surprised at how well we liked the hotel and location. Having stayed in DC a couple of times a year, we've tried most of the neighborhoods and like the Capital Hill location the best. The Union Station metro stop was the easiest walk for us, and the West Wing Cafe beside the hotel was a perfect spot for quick food. Great prices and good food! (The hotel gift shop snacks are very expensive.) We are an older couple, but we were able to walk to the Smithsonians, Chinatown, and downtown from this location very easily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

West Wing Cafe is a perfect alternative to dining at the hotel. They are closed on Sundays. Also Union Station has lots of options for dining quickly.

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brooklyn
Aug 26, 2008

Great for the price

The lobby was undergoing renovations, but that didn't really impede anything... it wasn't really more inconvenient or anything to get to the rooms, and the construction noises didn't filter up there either. The beds were very comfortable, and the bathrooms were large and were stocked with plenty of towels. Overall, the hotel was clean and well-kept, and in a fairly central location. For the price, it was a steal!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

A short walk from Union Station

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SomeoneDifferent
Business
New York
Oct 5, 2012

Almost

The hotel provided all the necessities which was great. While these are not major issues a few extra minutes of thinking could make things that much better. First off put a shelf in the shower to hold the nice shampoo and coditioner that they so generously supplied. Other wise you have to keep them on the floor and thats not helpful. The layout of the room was good except that they put a chair right infront of the lamp, doesnt sound like a problem but the lamp shade is about 2 inches from the top of the chair so as soon as you lean back on the chair you hit your head on the lamp. The other problem I encountered was they ran out of various kinds of alcohol, now I did get to the bar late but to run out is kind of unheard of for a hotel chain of this size. The bar menu was fine the food was good, the breakfast menu was nice for people who are looking for something a little different. If you enjoy standard breakfast go to the buffet. The room was comfortable and it had everything I could have needed. It was clean and well laid out. The minor issues I listed shouldn't deter someone from staying I am just hoping that someone from the hotel reads this and maybe looks into fixing these small problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
K.K.R.
Pittsburgh, Pa
Sep 17, 2012

great weekend getaway

The location of the hotel near the Capitol and close to the Metro made sightseeing simple. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The West Wing Cafe next to the hotel had the best food choices at reasonable prices.

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hvega
Chile
Apr 29, 2014

Ver y godo óptimo

Very good location: 200 meters from Capitolio and Unión station (where all city tours start). Nice room. Unfortunately the hotel doesn't include breakfast, but there is a very good cafe within 50 meters.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Very good cafe for breakfast and lunch.

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
May 17, 2009

Courteous staff

Staff was very helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dennis from NC
Raleigh, NC
Dec 2, 2012

Seamless check-in

Check in was seamless and the amenities were great. Vital was extremely helpful in helping us find off site parking that saved us half the cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
C.Fresh
NYC
May 4, 2013

At it Again

Once again the location grabbed my attention. So I had to stay here again. It was great, I was given an excellent room. Also the staff was amazing and nice. I live the different feel that I am giving. Especially because I am from New York. You can not beat this location. The hotel is 2 blocks from the Red Metro line and 2 bus lines that take you to tourist and main sites. Thus is a hotel I would stay at again. They always give me exactly what I want.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you arrive during the week walk right to Massachusetts Avenue and check out the lines of food trucks. Awesome choices and such a good feel for the city's diverse food scene.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search