$93 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 15, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

Hyatt Regency Washington

4 stars
400 New Jersey Ave Northwest, WASHINGTON, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
422 reviews
Great Holidy Experiece!

The hotel was beautiful and the staff was great! Great breakfast bar, bar and restaurant. Able to... See full review

  • CecP
  • Jul 12, 2014
TRIP FOR TWO

We really enjoyed the hotel and the very hospitable staff. Everything was comfortable and clean. I... See full review

  • boogiesmom
  • May 14, 2014
Capitol Hill hotel with futuristic lobby atrium, amenities for business

The Hyatt Regency Washington's atrium impresses with its high, cascading ceilings and dark wood. The lobby gives an almost futuristic atmosphere to the hotel. Guests can use express check-in computer terminals to skip the reservation line. Unwind with friends or colleagues at Article One Lounge with its community tables and 13 flat-screen televisions. Guests escape from D.C. politics at the heated indoor lap pool covered by skylights and surrounded by greenery.

Highlights
  • Express check-in kiosks in strikingly modern lobby
  • Indoor lap pool in lush, plant-filled atrium
  • Business Plan Guestrooms include one complimentary pressed shirt or blouse, complimentary breakfast buffet, and complimentary newspapers
Location

The hotel is on Capitol Hill near monuments, museums, government buildings and Union Station.

Rooms

The 834 rooms and spacious suites of the Hyatt Regency Washington are traditionally decorated in caramel and gold colors and have modern wood furnishings. Rooms have oversized work desks, iHome stereos with iPod docking stations, Hyatt Grand Beds with pillow-top mattresses, fine linens, and 37-inch LCD televisions.

Features

Skip the check-in or check-out line by using the express computer terminals in the lobby. Article One, an American grill, serves a casual lunch and breakfast and an upscale dinner. The Article One Lounge offers space to enjoy cocktails and light fare. The hotel has an on-site health club and indoor, heated lap pool. High-speed Internet (fees apply) and valet parking (fees apply) are available.

Transportation
  • Judiciary Square Metro stop (0.2 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • Regan National Airport (3.5 mi/ 5.7 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (24 mi/ 39 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (26 mi/ 43 km)
Attractions
  • Union Station shops, restaurants, and transportation (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • United States Capitol (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Newseum (0.4 mi/ 0.7 km)
  • The National Mall (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Library of Congress (0.7 mi/ 1.1 km)
  • The White House (1.2 mi/ 2 km)
  • Eastern Market (1.2 mi/ 1.9 km)
  • Washington Monument (1.3 mi/ 2.1 km)
  • Dupont Circle (1.9 mi/ 3.1 km)
  • Georgetown (2.7 mi/ 4.3 km)
Business
  • High-speed Internet (fees apply)
  • 38,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Professional meeting planners and caterers
  • 24-hour FedEx office
  • 24-hour business center with extensive services
  • Business Plan guestrooms with special amenities for business travelers
Policies and Fees
  • The hotel charges $48 USD parking fee.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hyatt Regency Washington Rooms

Business Plan
Business Plan rooms include daily breakfast for one adult, daily internet for one computer (24hrs), one bottle of water daily, newspaper daily, once pressed shirt or blouse daily and local, 1-800 and long distance calls to the US and Canada. Choice of ki
Club
View Floors, Lounge Access, Continental Breakfast: Hors d oeuvres: Robe
Standard
Deluxe room accommodations with the choice of king or two double beds. Each room has cable tv, working desk, data-ports, bathroom amenities and feather pillows.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Jogging track
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Conference suite
Computer rental
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hyatt Regency Washington also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.8954 -77.0118
Nearby airports
Reagan National Airport, (DCA), 6.00, MI, N; Washington Dulles Intl Airport, (IAD), 28.00, MI, SE; Baltimore/Washington Intl Airport, (BWI), 28.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • National Postal Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Union Station: 0.3 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Newseum: 0.5 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.6 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Union Station: 0.3 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Newseum: 0.5 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.6 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • National Archives: 0.6 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.6 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.8 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.8 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.9 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.9 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.9 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.9 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1 mi
  • National Theatre: 1 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1 mi

Dining

Article One
Article One is located on the lobby level. Serving a casual breakfast, and lunch with a more upscale grill menu for dinner. Reservations are requested for six or more.
Article One Lounge
Article One Lounge is located in the bustling atrium lobby, the lounge provides a relaxing atmosphere serving beer, wine, cocktails and lite fare daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (422)

Ratings and reviews for Hyatt Regency Washington

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
422 out of 422
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Stafford
Jan 4, 2009

Great trip

The Hyatt was a great experience in a great location. All and I mean all hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Restaurant had a great breakfast (expensive but great). Did not have dinner but did have some appetizers at the lounge. Starbucks was great for a coffee and bagel for a quick breakfast. Fitness center was great. Room was very clean and beds were VERY comfortable. Even though this hotal was a bit outside of night life and there were not a lot of dinign options in the near vicinity, we did not mind as part of the fun of being in the city was hopping in a cab. Would absolutely stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Capital was a 2 minute walk from the hotel and from there, wlaking to the Lincoln Memorial was absolutely fantastic with all that DC has to offer surrounding you.

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Omaha, NE
Aug 10, 2007

Very Family Friendly

The Hyatt Regency was in a good location for visits to the Capitol. The accomodations were very comfortable. They had a great buffet breakfast. Overall it was a great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to Union Station and the US Capitol.

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alli Travels
New York, NY
Jul 19, 2009

Loved it!

I am an avid traveler and decided to go to DC with my boyfriend last minute! We booked this hotel and headed on our way. When we got there late - at 3 am!- the staff was incredibly friendly. When we had to get something from our car - which was in the parking garage- they brought us right down to the garage. The location is also perfect - right near the Capital and Union Station. The only slight gripe is that we needed to pay for parking. Maybe it was an off weekend - D.C. was not very packed for a beautiful summer weekend - but there was plenty of street parking. Since we arrived at 3 a.m. we did not even look for street parking. We used the hotel parking garage. The sign said $41 a night (We were there from 3 am on and one other night) but were only charged about $35 for the entire weekend. The garage staff was careful, quick and friendly. If you do not want to pay for parking you can probably find street parking. Overall, I felt safer knowing my car was in the hotel garage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

We started our morning searching for a quick bite for breakfast outside of the hotel. We walked around until we were directed to Union Station. We needed to pass our hotel ot get there. If we would have known about it - it was only about two blocks away- we would have went there right away and saved time. Another tip - We used the hop on/hop off red bus. If you want to get a lot done and have a small group, or a large group who moves quickly, this is the route to take. I have used them in several cities and it is a huge time saver! With the $30 price tag you can visit about 40 sites as well as take a nighttime ride - very beautiful! You can get on by the Capital or Union Station - those are the closest to the hotel. Enjoy!

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Getting away girl
New Jersey
Aug 2, 2010

Phillies @ Nationals

Great location, near all the museums, monuments, Union Station to take subway, etc. Was only there one night to see baseball game, which stadium wasn't far either. Hotel's valet was around $40, but it was full. Luckily street parking was free saturday night into sunday, otherwise we would've had to pay at a parking garage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Massachusetts
Apr 13, 2010

Great Hotel

The trip was fantastic. We had stayed at the Hyatt previously and enjoyed it. This stay was more enjoyable(if that's possible).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you plan to tour Washington, DC, please use The Tourmobile Do NOT use the Double Decker 'Hop on Hop off Washington' tour. On one occasion, wrong information was given. Where The Tourmobile has a tour guide, the 'Hop on Hop off' has a CD. In our opinion, the 'Hop on Hop off' was a waste of time and money.

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Westland
Jun 29, 2008

Central location

Hyatt Regency was a very nice hotel with excellent customer service. Room clean and nicely kept. There were some renovations taking place while I was there, but the staff made excellent efforts to accomodate. Only disappointment was that even in the business center, computer was a charge to rent time. No problem for me on a leisure trip this time, but may annoy some travelers more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Station only a couple of blocks away - access to Metro (from Reagan Airport) or Amtrak. No need to have a car if you are sightseeing in the city.

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
touristy tara
west virginia
Dec 17, 2013

great hotel

Hotel room was clean and comfortable with wonderfully comfortable bed The water pressure in shower was amazing Great location for sight seeing Go to union station for dining Only a short walk The staff was very helpful and friendly. Highly recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Union station has great food and tour trolley picks up at hotel.

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mccomb
Nov 20, 2008

Excellent location

The proximity to Capitol Hill and the Mall area is excellent. I had several hours of free time on a travel day and was able to walk anywhere. The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

National Archives, etc... All within a 5 - 10 minute walk

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Palm Springs
Jan 2, 2009

Great for capitol siteseeing

Excellent location for seeing the sights on the Capitol Mall! I will stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Couple on a short trip
Montréal
Sep 8, 2009

Very good hotel for that price

Very nice hotel and very good price for this kind of hotel. Nice location, near Capitol hill and Union station. Buffet is very good, specially Muslix for those who like it. If you stay longer (3 to 7 nights), ask for price special for breakfast, it could be surprising.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ebiz restaurant, very good and quiet

Back to menu Return to top