$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: May 30, 2015

Hotel Lombardy

3 stars
View map of 2019 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20006

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Lombardy

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
213 out of 213
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 3, 2010

Beautiful boutique hotel~

We were greeted by friendly staff who opened the door and escorted us to the Reception desk, which smelled like lilacs. The elevator operator, in his red jacket was polite, sweeet and "elevated" the sense of tradition and service. The room was huge, to our suprise, and had a gleaming white bathroom, two comfy beds with 4 pillows a piece (a bonus for me!) and a side room with cafe table, chairs, and mini bar available next to the kitchenette. Oh- and a small vanity area prior to the bathroom, appointed with toile covered ottoman and table, cotton wisps and hair dryer. The whole thing was just divine, and as far as location, we took advantage of the MEtro line being just a block away for when we took the train up to the Nat'l Zoo, but the doorman got us a cab just as quickly when we prefered the cab later that night. Super experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Being oh-so-touristy, we took the Momuments by Moonlight trolley ride leaving from Union Station. We lucked out that there was actually a full moon that night, so when we walked around the Korean War memorial, it was transendent, and the moon reflecting off the water between the Washington Monument and the Jefferson Memorial- unbeatable. The knowledgeable driver gave insight, gossip and history as we drove past lots of points of interest that we never would have been able to see on our own in that tme and for that cost. Great time!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 14, 2008

Very friendly

The Hotel Lombardy was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is an older restored hotel that has much charm and character to it. The restaurant was very good & our service was outstanding. We would recommend this hotel to anyone who wanted to experience a bit of the old with the new. The location is ideal for walking to all the area sites and enjoying the city. We had a wonderful long weekend & look forward to our next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The White House, Memorial Park, Smithsonian, U.S. Treasury, Capital

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas
May 8, 2009

A Wonderful Surprise

This is a wonderful Hotel. The conference I was scheduled to attend was at a large "chain" hotel. While it was first class -- it certainly lacked the charm of Hotel Lombardy. From the greet by the doorman, to the man who seemed to live in the elevator (yes, an old fashioned elevator attendant), to the room service staff, the maids, and the resteraunt staff. This was a first class location -- not quite like the near next door neighbor (the White House) but near. Wonderful old world charm in the decor. Three block walk to the metro. A perfect place and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many ethnic Dining options nearby - try the Aroma (Indian) Resteraunt.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greensboro
Jun 8, 2008

Wonderful Hotel!

This hotel was wonderful! The rooms were very large, including a separate galley wet bar area. The bathroom had a small sitting room beside it. It is in a great location not far from a metro stop. There were good restaurants located within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brookings
Jul 5, 2008

Historic hotel

I loved the old elevator with the closing gate. The room was fine although the view was of another building. The bathroom has been remodeled but keeping in the old style. It seems that it is located on a quiet street in the middle of the block so not much traffic to worry about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maggie GW mom
Business
Scottsdale, AZ
Aug 26, 2010

Fabulous experience

Great location to move my son into The George Washington University. The staff was friendly, the rooms comfortable. Definitely will return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 18, 2008

My review of Hotel Lombardy

Overall, staying at the Hotel Lombardy in Washington DC was a great experience. The staff greats you at your car and provides valet parking services since parking is very difficult in the area. The front desk staff is very helpful in providing insight as to sightseeing and local attractions. Whats great about the rooms is that the hotel was previously an apartment complex, so each room is large and has a small kitchen area. I would recommend this hotel for any family or business trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

all Washington Monuments

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Durham, NC
Oct 3, 2008

My review of Hotel Lombardy

Staying at Hotel Lombardy was definitely a memorable experience-- from the old fashioned elevator to the Lombardy Cafe. The hotel is located in downtown DC-- close to the metro, restaurants and tourist attractions. The majority of the staff was excellent. I was however a bit turned off when I was checking in and the staff was gathered discussing disappointing tips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 29, 2008

Sophisticated , but not pricy

The Lombardy hotel was very nice. The room was big with three separate spaces ( bedroom, sitting area near minibar and sitting area with vanity mirror) . Old fashion style, very friendly staff and wonderful food. Close to the Washington mall, but still a 15 minutes walk. Carpet was old and needed to be cleaned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Georgetown is not too far. A good pleasant walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Yorktown, NY
Mar 3, 2009

"Visit Washington DC by foot"

Hotel Lombardy is an older hotel with sophisticated European charm. The staff were extremely helpful and pleasant, even when we requested another room farther from the "original" elevator, which was quite noisy. A modern one will be installed soon. We were graciously upgraded to a suite! Both rooms, however, were lovely and spacious with new mattresses. The Restaurant was quaint. Food was good. Service a bit rushed, but adequate. The lounge is warm and inviting. The location is the best for visiting the DC museums. We walked everywhere! George Washington University is just across the street. Overall, we had a top notch experience, and I would highly recommend this hotel to friends!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Peruvian Restaurant directly across the street, down the stairs. A must!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top