$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 18, 2014 Check-out: Jul 20, 2014

Hotel Lombardy

3 stars
2019 Pennsylvania Avenue Nw, Washington, DC 20006
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
308 reviews
Great Downtown DC Hotel!!!

We have traveled all over the world and this hotel was a great price and value for the downtown DC... See full review

  • Natalia Americana
  • Jun 24, 2014
Very friendly staff

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The staff was first class and my room was perfect! Would... See full review

  • Jeannie Anne
  • May 29, 2014
Foggy Bottom hotel with 1920s European elegance and modern amenities

The Hotel Lombardy was built in 1926 as an apartment building and retains its original character with 1920's decor and elegant interior design. Cafe Lombardy, a European-inspired bistro, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and offers a children's menu. The Venetian Room Bar and Lounge charms guests with its cozy fireplace. Guests can indulge in a glass of wine or a cocktail and a bite to eat from the small plates menu. The hotel is between Georgetown and downtown D.C., and near George Washington University.

Highlights
  • Recognized as a Historic Hotel of America, with 1920s European decor
  • The Venetian Room Bar and Lounge serves wine and cocktails in an elegant setting with exquisite decor and fireplace
  • Near George Washington University
Location

The Hotel Lombardy is located on Pennsylvania Avenue in D.C.'s Foggy Bottom neighborhood and near George Washington University. The hotel is between Georgetown and downtown D.C., within walking distance of many museums and the White House.

Rooms

Rooms at the Hotel Lombardy have original art, Oriental rugs, chrome bathrooms, a stainless steel wet bar and luxury bedding. There are 20 suites with king bed and separate living room with a pull-out sofa bed.

Features

Cafe Lombardy serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and has a children's menu. The Venetian Room Bar and Lounge serves cocktails, wine and small plates. In-room spa services by Relax & Rejuvenate include massage, manicures, pedicures, facials, hair styling and make-up (fees apply). The on-site fitness room has cardio equipment. Guests receive complimentary passes to a nearby hotel pool during summer. High-speed Internet is complimentary. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Foggy Bottom Metro stop (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Regan National Airport (3.6 mi/ 5.8 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (22 mi/ 36 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/ 44 km)
Attractions
  • Dupont Circle (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • The White House (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Georgetown (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • The National Mall (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (0.8 mi/ 1.4 km)
    Washington Monument (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Smithsonian Institution (1.3 mi/ 2.2 km)
  • United States Capitol (2 mi/ 3.3 km)
Business
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet
  • 1,500 square feet of meeting space

Hotel Lombardy Rooms

Suite
One king bed and room amenities include: imported Italian and German fabrics, oriental woolen rugs, original local art, dining area, beautiful chrome and enamel bathrooms, fine bedding and wonderful hand painted silk renderings.
Standard Room
One king bed or two double beds, room amenities include: imported Italian and German fabrics, oriental woolen rugs, original local art, dining area, beautiful chrome and enamel bathrooms, fine bedding and wonderful hand painted silk renderings.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
General
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Lombardy also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.9008 -77.0453
Area served
Washington D.C.
Nearby airports
Washington Dulles International Airport Washington Reagan National Airport BWI Airport
Area description
Hotel Lombardy is located in the heart of the Washington DCs business district just four blocks from the White House, four blocks from Historic Georgetown and within one mile of the Smithsonian Museums and the monuments.

Nearby points of interest

  • Department of Treasury: 0.2 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.4 mi
  • Blair House: 0.4 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.5 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Department of State: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.2 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.4 mi
  • Blair House: 0.4 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.5 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Department of State: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.6 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.7 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.9 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.9 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • District of Columbia War Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.9 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • West Potomac Park: 1.1 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Franklin D Roosevelt Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.2 mi

Dining

The Cafe Lombardy
The Café Lombardy is a bright and cheerful overlooking James Monroe Park. Our Chef, deights in preparing American inspired continental cuisine using only the freshest selection of ingredients. Please review our menu for a sample of dinner selections.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our International, Board, Venetian and Fortuny Rooms can accommodate up to 60 people For your next function. Our function rooms Are perfect for board meetings, receptions, Executive level business sessions and cocktail parties. For your event we can provide: High-speed data access (all conference rooms), Visual Display Boards, Projection Screens, AV equipment, and Butler service.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (308)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Lombardy

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
308 out of 308
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
flatland citizen
Jacksonville, FL
Sep 8, 2012

mini vacation

We were greeted immediately at the curb when our taxi arrived and escorted to reception to check in. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable. The room had very comfortable beds and we appreciated the paper at the door in the morning. The AC was a little noisy when turning on and off, but not seriously offensive. We probably would have liked a more affordable breakfast; however, that is a personal observation from someone who is not especially fond of breakfast food. We were in DC for sightseeing and the staff was helpful in getting us set up with a tour. We think it is a great location for what we wanted to do. All in all a pleasant experience and we would book with them again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out nearby small shops, especially for breakfast or lunch.

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Needed the Net
Boston
Jun 7, 2010

Hotel Lombardy

building was quaint with a small elevator. The rooms were nice. The location was decent in terms of walking distance to Metro and museums.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

use the Metro to get to Union Station for the tours.

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
windrider883
ohio
May 26, 2009

rolling thunder run to the wall

overall the hotel was nice staff i dealt with friendly but very expensive and parking cost extra

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

was within walking distance to alot of washingtons attractions no pool

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Antonio, TX
Apr 11, 2011

Good location in Foggy Bottom

The room was so tiny that it was impossible to move in it! The mini bar was not stocked and the dresser drawers were falling off. Will not stay here again in spite of location. Was not worth what I paid for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to GWU which is what I wanted

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The Arkansasn
Dermott, Arkansas
Jul 18, 2009

Antiquated but clean

The Hotel Lombardy was not anything I expected from the virtual review that was available--very misleading in the spaciousness of those extremely small areas. The hotel was clean, but bathroom is too anitquated with a window above the tub area; there was not a micro wave in the room and that is standard even in Best Western hotels. The staff was constantly cleaning something in the entrance area and were always there to hail a taxi or assist with baggage. I don't think I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pennsylvania Avenue NW is a very good location to venture from plus there are plenty of dining areas located near the Hotel Lombardy. The best we found was Kinkeads in a small shopping area less than a block across from the Hotel Lombardy. Great place to eat, but bring your money and it is well worth it.

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mom XOXO
New Jersey
Mar 4, 2013

Disappointing

I visit Washington frequently and am always trying new hotels. The Hotel Lombardy is an older hotel that has been updated in a few areas. Our room was quite small and looked out onto an office building across an alley. needless to say, the blinds had to be closed during the day. The good news was that the bathroom was newly renovated. We left Saturday morning at 9AM and put the 'make up the room' sign out but when we returned at 4, the room had not been cleaned nor had the room service tray been removed. ( Room service for fruit and cereal took over 45 minutes to arrive by the way). When I called the front desk, the woman just said, "OH, I'll get back to you on that" We said we would be leaving again at 5:30 and to make up the room then but the maid arrived at 5 to clean. Our friends down the hall had no troubles and had a large room with a kitchenette and extra seating. Their room was also cleaned on time. Overall, it was very disappointing and we will not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Antonio, TX
Apr 11, 2011

Good location in Foggy Bottom

The room was so tiny that it was impossible to move in it! The mini bar was not stocked and the dresser drawers were falling off. Will not stay here again in spite of location. Was not worth what I paid for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to GWU which is what I wanted

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Couple on the move
Cambridge, ON, Canada
Mar 14, 2010

Nice hotel - horrible lack of parking

Hotel was very nice and charming. The lack of available guest parking made it a difficult stay. Location was great, easy walk to the White House and other sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

very easy access to shops and dining in the mall opposite hotel.

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Needed the Net
Boston
Jun 7, 2010

Hotel Lombardy

building was quaint with a small elevator. The rooms were nice. The location was decent in terms of walking distance to Metro and museums.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

use the Metro to get to Union Station for the tours.

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Couple on the move
Cambridge, ON, Canada
Mar 14, 2010

Nice hotel - horrible lack of parking

Hotel was very nice and charming. The lack of available guest parking made it a difficult stay. Location was great, easy walk to the White House and other sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

very easy access to shops and dining in the mall opposite hotel.

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The Arkansasn
Dermott, Arkansas
Jul 18, 2009

Antiquated but clean

The Hotel Lombardy was not anything I expected from the virtual review that was available--very misleading in the spaciousness of those extremely small areas. The hotel was clean, but bathroom is too anitquated with a window above the tub area; there was not a micro wave in the room and that is standard even in Best Western hotels. The staff was constantly cleaning something in the entrance area and were always there to hail a taxi or assist with baggage. I don't think I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pennsylvania Avenue NW is a very good location to venture from plus there are plenty of dining areas located near the Hotel Lombardy. The best we found was Kinkeads in a small shopping area less than a block across from the Hotel Lombardy. Great place to eat, but bring your money and it is well worth it.

Back to menu Return to top