$152 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 24, 2015 Check-out: Jul 26, 2015

Hotel Lombardy

3 stars
View map of 2019 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20006

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
214 reviews
Quick couples getaway

The Hotel Lombardy was fantastic! The staff were great and the location was exceptional. We will... See full review

  • Lona H.
  • Jun 8, 2015
Great overnight stay

In town only for one night, but this hotel was great. The room was big and comfortable and had... See full review

  • Nathalie M.
  • Apr 6, 2015

The Hotel Lombardy was built in 1926 as an apartment building and retains its original character with 1920's decor and elegant interior design. Cafe Lombardy, a European-inspired bistro, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and offers a children's menu. The Venetian Room Bar and Lounge charms guests with its cozy fireplace. Guests can indulge in a glass of wine or a cocktail and a bite to eat from the small plates menu. The hotel is between Georgetown and downtown D.C., and near George Washington University.

Location

The Hotel Lombardy is located on Pennsylvania Avenue in D.C.'s Foggy Bottom neighborhood and near George Washington University. The hotel is between Georgetown and downtown D.C., within walking distance of many museums and the White House.

Rooms

Rooms at the Hotel Lombardy have original art, Oriental rugs, chrome bathrooms, a stainless steel wet bar and luxury bedding. There are 20 suites with king bed and separate living room with a pull-out sofa bed.

Property features

Cafe Lombardy serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and has a children's menu. The Venetian Room Bar and Lounge serves cocktails, wine and small plates. In-room spa services by Relax & Rejuvenate include massage, manicures, pedicures, facials, hair styling and make-up (fees apply). The on-site fitness room has cardio equipment. Guests receive complimentary passes to a nearby hotel pool during summer. High-speed Internet is complimentary. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Recognized as a Historic Hotel of America, with 1920s European decor
  • The Venetian Room Bar and Lounge serves wine and cocktails in an elegant setting with exquisite decor and fireplace
  • Near George Washington University
Nearby attractions
  • Dupont Circle (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • The White House (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Georgetown (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • The National Mall (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (0.8 mi/ 1.4 km)
    Washington Monument (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Smithsonian Institution (1.3 mi/ 2.2 km)
  • United States Capitol (2 mi/ 3.3 km)
Business
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet
  • 1,500 square feet of meeting space
Transportation
  • Foggy Bottom Metro stop (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Regan National Airport (3.6 mi/ 5.8 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (22 mi/ 36 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/ 44 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Lombardy also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Lombardy Rooms

Suite
One king bed and room amenities include: imported Italian and German fabrics, oriental woolen rugs, original local art, dining area, beautiful chrome and enamel bathrooms, fine bedding and wonderful hand painted silk renderings.
Standard Room
One king bed or two double beds, room amenities include: imported Italian and German fabrics, oriental woolen rugs, original local art, dining area, beautiful chrome and enamel bathrooms, fine bedding and wonderful hand painted silk renderings.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
General
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Department of Treasury: 0.2 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.4 mi
  • Blair House: 0.4 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.5 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Department of State: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.2 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.4 mi
  • Blair House: 0.4 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.5 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Department of State: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.6 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.7 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.9 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.9 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • District of Columbia War Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.9 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • West Potomac Park: 1.1 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Franklin D Roosevelt Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.2 mi

Dining

The Cafe Lombardy
The Café Lombardy is a bright and cheerful overlooking James Monroe Park. Our Chef, deights in preparing American inspired continental cuisine using only the freshest selection of ingredients. Please review our menu for a sample of dinner selections.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our International, Board, Venetian and Fortuny Rooms can accommodate up to 60 people For your next function. Our function rooms Are perfect for board meetings, receptions, Executive level business sessions and cocktail parties. For your event we can provide: High-speed data access (all conference rooms), Visual Display Boards, Projection Screens, AV equipment, and Butler service.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Lombardy

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 214
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.4

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Glass Guy
Business
Newton MA
Apr 29, 2014

Fantastic Vacation

The Hotel and staff were great Old world ambiance with a modern touch. The location can't be beat,so convenient to the Metro and the sites. Would absolutely return and recommend for families for trip to DC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Monuments : Lincoln,Korean,Viet Nam,MLK

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ferrari, the fast one.
Business
St. Louis, Mo.
Jun 26, 2010

We loved this hotel!

The hotel was charming, quaint but most of all the staff was sooo friendly and helpful. The front desk employees always went out of their way to lead you in the right direction. The location was 3 blocks from the White House and convenient to the Metro & public transportation. The rooms were clean and quiet! After a long, hot day you need that. I would highly recommend this hotel and will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

take the Metro and save a ton on taxis.

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Susaninjapan
Business
Nishinomiya, Japan
Aug 19, 2012

Welcome Change

If you are looking for a nice change from the typical US hotel chain, this is the perfect choice! European-style elegance, great service, and charming rooms were most welcome. We stayed with two adults and one child, and all of the staff were most welcoming. The location was GREAT...closest Metro station two blocks away; CVS, Starbucks, Kinkos within a block; and many other good eateries and a Whole Foods right in the neighborhood. If you're looking for a break from the tour-group crazed larger hotel chains, I definitely recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a rechargeable SmarTrip card for the Metro and navigate the city with ease. Closest station is Foggy Bottom, two blocks away. Farragut West and Farragut North are also walking distance. Walking time to the White House right down Pennsylvania Ave. is 15 minutes.

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maggie GW mom
Business
Scottsdale, AZ
Oct 19, 2010

Wonderful place to stay while in DC

Our son attends The George Washington University. This lovely hotel is close to campus and convenient to many sightseeing spots. This is our favorite place to stay when in Foggy Bottom. Highly recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 28, 2007

Perfect stay

The staff are really super nice here. The old time elavator with operator was a treat for my ten year old. The room was clean and was really classy. The metro train stop was two blocks away. The White House is three or four blocks away. Georgetown is only about eight blocks away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a coffee shop near the metro.

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 11, 2008

Great Place to Stay

My mom and I recently stayed at Hotel Lombardy. This was my first visit to Washington D.C. and based on the hotel's location, it was suggested this was a good choice. It turns out it was a great choice! The staff was very friendly and we were able to get a double room when we checked in. It was very clean, linens were awesome, comfortable bed and overall cozy accomodations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Most everything you'd want to see is in walking distance.

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Carlos, California
Aug 24, 2009

The Perfect Place to stay in Washington

From the doorman to the manager, they made sure we were taken care of. Great people! Great place! The best vacation I've ever had. Thank you Hotel Lumbardy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 3, 2010

Beautiful boutique hotel~

We were greeted by friendly staff who opened the door and escorted us to the Reception desk, which smelled like lilacs. The elevator operator, in his red jacket was polite, sweeet and "elevated" the sense of tradition and service. The room was huge, to our suprise, and had a gleaming white bathroom, two comfy beds with 4 pillows a piece (a bonus for me!) and a side room with cafe table, chairs, and mini bar available next to the kitchenette. Oh- and a small vanity area prior to the bathroom, appointed with toile covered ottoman and table, cotton wisps and hair dryer. The whole thing was just divine, and as far as location, we took advantage of the MEtro line being just a block away for when we took the train up to the Nat'l Zoo, but the doorman got us a cab just as quickly when we prefered the cab later that night. Super experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Being oh-so-touristy, we took the Momuments by Moonlight trolley ride leaving from Union Station. We lucked out that there was actually a full moon that night, so when we walked around the Korean War memorial, it was transendent, and the moon reflecting off the water between the Washington Monument and the Jefferson Memorial- unbeatable. The knowledgeable driver gave insight, gossip and history as we drove past lots of points of interest that we never would have been able to see on our own in that tme and for that cost. Great time!

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greensboro
Jun 8, 2008

Wonderful Hotel!

This hotel was wonderful! The rooms were very large, including a separate galley wet bar area. The bathroom had a small sitting room beside it. It is in a great location not far from a metro stop. There were good restaurants located within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maggie GW mom
Business
Scottsdale, AZ
Aug 26, 2010

Fabulous experience

Great location to move my son into The George Washington University. The staff was friendly, the rooms comfortable. Definitely will return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top