$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 8, 2014 Check-out: Aug 10, 2014

Hotel Lombardy

3 stars
2019 Pennsylvania Avenue Nw, Washington, DC 20006
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
309 reviews
Great Downtown DC Hotel!!!

We have traveled all over the world and this hotel was a great price and value for the downtown DC... See full review

  • Natalia Americana
  • Jun 24, 2014
Very friendly staff

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The staff was first class and my room was perfect! Would... See full review

  • Jeannie Anne
  • May 29, 2014
Foggy Bottom hotel with 1920s European elegance and modern amenities

The Hotel Lombardy was built in 1926 as an apartment building and retains its original character with 1920's decor and elegant interior design. Cafe Lombardy, a European-inspired bistro, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and offers a children's menu. The Venetian Room Bar and Lounge charms guests with its cozy fireplace. Guests can indulge in a glass of wine or a cocktail and a bite to eat from the small plates menu. The hotel is between Georgetown and downtown D.C., and near George Washington University.

Highlights
  • Recognized as a Historic Hotel of America, with 1920s European decor
  • The Venetian Room Bar and Lounge serves wine and cocktails in an elegant setting with exquisite decor and fireplace
  • Near George Washington University
Location

The Hotel Lombardy is located on Pennsylvania Avenue in D.C.'s Foggy Bottom neighborhood and near George Washington University. The hotel is between Georgetown and downtown D.C., within walking distance of many museums and the White House.

Rooms

Rooms at the Hotel Lombardy have original art, Oriental rugs, chrome bathrooms, a stainless steel wet bar and luxury bedding. There are 20 suites with king bed and separate living room with a pull-out sofa bed.

Features

Cafe Lombardy serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and has a children's menu. The Venetian Room Bar and Lounge serves cocktails, wine and small plates. In-room spa services by Relax & Rejuvenate include massage, manicures, pedicures, facials, hair styling and make-up (fees apply). The on-site fitness room has cardio equipment. Guests receive complimentary passes to a nearby hotel pool during summer. High-speed Internet is complimentary. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Foggy Bottom Metro stop (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Regan National Airport (3.6 mi/ 5.8 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (22 mi/ 36 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/ 44 km)
Attractions
  • Dupont Circle (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • The White House (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Georgetown (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • The National Mall (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (0.8 mi/ 1.4 km)
    Washington Monument (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Smithsonian Institution (1.3 mi/ 2.2 km)
  • United States Capitol (2 mi/ 3.3 km)
Business
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet
  • 1,500 square feet of meeting space

Hotel Lombardy Rooms

Suite
One king bed and room amenities include: imported Italian and German fabrics, oriental woolen rugs, original local art, dining area, beautiful chrome and enamel bathrooms, fine bedding and wonderful hand painted silk renderings.
Standard Room
One king bed or two double beds, room amenities include: imported Italian and German fabrics, oriental woolen rugs, original local art, dining area, beautiful chrome and enamel bathrooms, fine bedding and wonderful hand painted silk renderings.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
General
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Lombardy also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.9008 -77.0453
Area served
Washington D.C.
Nearby airports
Washington Dulles International Airport Washington Reagan National Airport BWI Airport
Area description
Hotel Lombardy is located in the heart of the Washington DCs business district just four blocks from the White House, four blocks from Historic Georgetown and within one mile of the Smithsonian Museums and the monuments.

Nearby points of interest

  • Department of Treasury: 0.2 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.4 mi
  • Blair House: 0.4 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.5 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Department of State: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.2 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.4 mi
  • Blair House: 0.4 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.5 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Department of State: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.6 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.7 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.9 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.9 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • District of Columbia War Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.9 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • West Potomac Park: 1.1 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Franklin D Roosevelt Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.2 mi

Dining

The Cafe Lombardy
The Café Lombardy is a bright and cheerful overlooking James Monroe Park. Our Chef, deights in preparing American inspired continental cuisine using only the freshest selection of ingredients. Please review our menu for a sample of dinner selections.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our International, Board, Venetian and Fortuny Rooms can accommodate up to 60 people For your next function. Our function rooms Are perfect for board meetings, receptions, Executive level business sessions and cocktail parties. For your event we can provide: High-speed data access (all conference rooms), Visual Display Boards, Projection Screens, AV equipment, and Butler service.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (309)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Lombardy

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
133 out of 309
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 14, 2008

Very friendly

The Hotel Lombardy was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is an older restored hotel that has much charm and character to it. The restaurant was very good & our service was outstanding. We would recommend this hotel to anyone who wanted to experience a bit of the old with the new. The location is ideal for walking to all the area sites and enjoying the city. We had a wonderful long weekend & look forward to our next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The White House, Memorial Park, Smithsonian, U.S. Treasury, Capital

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
NYC
Dec 7, 2009

We love the Lombardy!

My husband and I love this hotel. Our 2nd stay here. Super friendly, helpful staff. Our room had an extremely comfortable bed with separate kitchen and dressing area. About a 15 minute walk to the White House and 30+ min to the Lincoln Memorial.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Old Ebbetts Grill for dinner next to the White House. ABout a 15 minute walk from the Lombardy. One of the best places I've ever eaten. Beautiful Old World Ambiance...but fun not stuffy.

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lady Yoli
New York, NY
May 26, 2009

A Real Jewel of a Hotel !

Very accommodating and knowledgeable staff. Helpful to a fault! We thoroughly enjoyed our visit!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We asked about the location of the closest Catholic church for Mass on Sunday and found out that there was a Latin Mass a bit further away at the Cathedral of St Matthew. The interior of the church was spectacular and the Gregorian chant was heavenly. We would never have known about this church without this tip from the fellow at the front desk.

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marina K.
Lexington, MA
Nov 27, 2011

Wonderful couple getaway with charm and comfort

This old elegant hotel is situated in an excellent location, close to all the major sites and public transportation. It has been nicely updated with modern amenities while it maintains its old ambiance and charm. Our room was small but quiet and impeccably clean. The staff was extremely polite and efficient. This was our second stay and we are happy to recommend this hotel without reservations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Founding Farmers Restaurant across the street from the hotel has fabulous breakfast and lunch at very reasonable prices. Make sure you have reservations because it is very popular.

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jan 21, 2008

pleasant staff & great location

We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Lombardy. The staff was very pleasant, the room was clean and nice, there was a fitness center for working out, free internet, great location...I could go on. It was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

close to the white house and many restaurants.

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Dec 22, 2008

convienient location

The Hotel Lombardy in Washington is very conveniently located, near all the sights and is a very comfortable stylish hotel. The restaurant attached to this facility is excellent, we enjoyed dining in such friendly surrounding with the really excellent food. The intimate bar has a wonderful ambiance and seems popular with locals too. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The only slight draw back was the old lifts that are manually operated. We were very pleased with our stay in this friendly hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

On is close to the White house, and a short walk to catch the hop on hop off' bus tour, most sights are within short walking distance.

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco
Apr 16, 2011

Fabulous Boutique Hotel

Staff was friendly and helpful. Hotel restaurant and lounge were great. [...], the maitre 'd at the Cafe Lombardy went out of his way to welcome new guests, notice your preferences and provide charming conversation and service.Bellmen were always at the door to welcome you home! Walkable to all monuments and 5 blocks to White House.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kinkead's just acrpss the street.

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Italy 008
Richmond, VA
Jun 19, 2013

Great trip

We thoroughly enjoyed this hotel...spotlessly clean and wonderful location. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Kennedy Center

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Durham
Jan 4, 2009

great people hotel and location

great people hotel and location- I would not hesitate in returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

close to all DC life! metro station nearby plenty of free weekend parking.

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Little Rock, AR
Aug 17, 2009

Wonderful!

Loved the hotel. The staff was very friendly. When we first arrived, we were given a room in the back by the dumpster. The man carrying our bags told us this was not a great room because it was small and noisy and we should go down and get the room changed. We did have it changed and with no problems. Our new room had a great view and we were very pleased. We had read negative remarks about the elevator. We had no problems, there was always someone at the elevator whenever we needed it. Overall, we loved the hotel and its charm. Would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top