$103 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 21, 2014 Check-out: Nov 24, 2014

Hotel Lombardy

3 stars
2019 Pennsylvania Avenue Nw, Washington, DC 20006
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
193 reviews
Great Downtown DC Hotel!!!

We have traveled all over the world and this hotel was a great price and value for the downtown DC... See full review

  • Natalia Americana
  • Jun 24, 2014
Very friendly staff

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The staff was first class and my room was perfect! Would... See full review

  • Jeannie Anne
  • May 29, 2014
Foggy Bottom hotel with 1920s European elegance and modern amenities

The Hotel Lombardy was built in 1926 as an apartment building and retains its original character with 1920's decor and elegant interior design. Cafe Lombardy, a European-inspired bistro, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and offers a children's menu. The Venetian Room Bar and Lounge charms guests with its cozy fireplace. Guests can indulge in a glass of wine or a cocktail and a bite to eat from the small plates menu. The hotel is between Georgetown and downtown D.C., and near George Washington University.

Highlights
  • Recognized as a Historic Hotel of America, with 1920s European decor
  • The Venetian Room Bar and Lounge serves wine and cocktails in an elegant setting with exquisite decor and fireplace
  • Near George Washington University
Location

The Hotel Lombardy is located on Pennsylvania Avenue in D.C.'s Foggy Bottom neighborhood and near George Washington University. The hotel is between Georgetown and downtown D.C., within walking distance of many museums and the White House.

Rooms

Rooms at the Hotel Lombardy have original art, Oriental rugs, chrome bathrooms, a stainless steel wet bar and luxury bedding. There are 20 suites with king bed and separate living room with a pull-out sofa bed.

Features

Cafe Lombardy serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and has a children's menu. The Venetian Room Bar and Lounge serves cocktails, wine and small plates. In-room spa services by Relax & Rejuvenate include massage, manicures, pedicures, facials, hair styling and make-up (fees apply). The on-site fitness room has cardio equipment. Guests receive complimentary passes to a nearby hotel pool during summer. High-speed Internet is complimentary. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Foggy Bottom Metro stop (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Regan National Airport (3.6 mi/ 5.8 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (22 mi/ 36 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/ 44 km)
Attractions
  • Dupont Circle (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • The White House (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Georgetown (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • The National Mall (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (0.8 mi/ 1.4 km)
    Washington Monument (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Smithsonian Institution (1.3 mi/ 2.2 km)
  • United States Capitol (2 mi/ 3.3 km)
Business
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet
  • 1,500 square feet of meeting space

Hotel Map

38.9008 -77.0453
Area served
Washington D.C.
Nearby airports
Washington Dulles International Airport Washington Reagan National Airport BWI Airport
Area description
Hotel Lombardy is located in the heart of the Washington DCs business district just four blocks from the White House, four blocks from Historic Georgetown and within one mile of the Smithsonian Museums and the monuments.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Lombardy also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Lombardy Rooms

Suite
One king bed and room amenities include: imported Italian and German fabrics, oriental woolen rugs, original local art, dining area, beautiful chrome and enamel bathrooms, fine bedding and wonderful hand painted silk renderings.
Standard Room
One king bed or two double beds, room amenities include: imported Italian and German fabrics, oriental woolen rugs, original local art, dining area, beautiful chrome and enamel bathrooms, fine bedding and wonderful hand painted silk renderings.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
General
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Department of Treasury: 0.2 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.4 mi
  • Blair House: 0.4 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.5 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Department of State: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.2 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.4 mi
  • Blair House: 0.4 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.5 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Department of State: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.6 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.7 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.9 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.9 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • District of Columbia War Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.9 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • West Potomac Park: 1.1 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Franklin D Roosevelt Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our International, Board, Venetian and Fortuny Rooms can accommodate up to 60 people For your next function. Our function rooms Are perfect for board meetings, receptions, Executive level business sessions and cocktail parties. For your event we can provide: High-speed data access (all conference rooms), Visual Display Boards, Projection Screens, AV equipment, and Butler service.

Dining

The Cafe Lombardy
The Café Lombardy is a bright and cheerful overlooking James Monroe Park. Our Chef, deights in preparing American inspired continental cuisine using only the freshest selection of ingredients. Please review our menu for a sample of dinner selections.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (193)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Lombardy

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
193 out of 193
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 10, 2007

My review of Hotel Lombardy

Lovely stay, great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

bistro at hotel good as well

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Evansville, IN
Apr 22, 2009

A first class hotel

My business trip was made easier by this hotel. Reminded me of a European hotel. I was made to feel welcome, valued, and at home. I look forward to staying again. One of the nicest hotels I've stayed at with the Waldorf on top!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A great location between two M stations. A short walk to Kennedy Center, Georgetown, and White House.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, OH
May 8, 2007

Reasonably Priced Hotel in DC

Ended up in this hotel because my normal hotels were booked. It is an old hotel that has been updated and is reasonably priced for DC. Convenient to The White House area. Nothing extraordinary but if you looking for a decent place to stay for a good price this is a good choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 28, 2007

Perfect stay

The staff are really super nice here. The old time elavator with operator was a treat for my ten year old. The room was clean and was really classy. The metro train stop was two blocks away. The White House is three or four blocks away. Georgetown is only about eight blocks away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a coffee shop near the metro.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake Tahoe, NV
May 28, 2009

Perfect hotel for our Memorial Day stay

The location of Hotel Lombardy was perfect. We were able to walk to see all the Mall memorials and to nearby Georgetown. The nearby Metro stations made travel throughout the city easy and convenient. The staff was friendly and always helpful. The room was very comfortable with a excellent bed that afforded us a well deserved rest after each day of touring. The Cafe Lombardy served excellent meals with excellent service. Our room only had one chair. An additional chair or sofa would be a nice touch. Highly recommended... would definitely return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 21, 2008

Classy and comfy

Excellent service, clean and comfortable rooms, with separate powder room and breakfast nook. Many added little touches that set it apart from the others. My only complaint that it did not have an indoor pool, or access to one in a nearby hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There were several places to eat nearby of varying price ranges.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 11, 2008

Great Place to Stay

My mom and I recently stayed at Hotel Lombardy. This was my first visit to Washington D.C. and based on the hotel's location, it was suggested this was a good choice. It turns out it was a great choice! The staff was very friendly and we were able to get a double room when we checked in. It was very clean, linens were awesome, comfortable bed and overall cozy accomodations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Most everything you'd want to see is in walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Feb 22, 2008

Excellent location with friendly staff

The Hotel Lombardy is located on Pennsylvania Ave. in the heart of DC. We were greeted by a friendly bellman and gracious staff at check-in, even though we arrived late in the evening! This historic hotel has an elevator operator - a unique experience - and was quick to meet all of our needs! The room was comfortable with a view of the court yard below. It was quiet which was surprising since we were right on a main road! There was excellent access to the Metro two blocks away along with waiting taxis anytime we needed one! The staff offered to help with any arrangements we needed! We ate several meals including dinner and breakfast in the hotel cafe, but were directed to other restaurants nearby when we looked for a change!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

All of the sights are with a several block walk, short drive or short ride on the Metro. The Mall area, Capitol complex and National Zoo are all easily accessible.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Aug 23, 2009

Fantastic, service was top notch

Wonderful location, just a couple of blocks from the subway. The staff was very attentive. When we arrived the A/C was not working in our room and we were immediatly upgraged to a suite. Grand old hotel with old world charm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The seqway tour 624 9th ST NW, (877)734-8687 was a total blast. (across the street from a metro station)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Carlos, California
Aug 24, 2009

The Perfect Place to stay in Washington

From the doorman to the manager, they made sure we were taken care of. Great people! Great place! The best vacation I've ever had. Thank you Hotel Lumbardy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top