Hotel Lombardy

3 stars
2019 Pennsylvania Avenue Nw, Washington, DC 20006
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
308 reviews
Great Downtown DC Hotel!!!

We have traveled all over the world and this hotel was a great price and value for the downtown DC... See full review

  • Natalia Americana
  • Jun 24, 2014
Very friendly staff

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The staff was first class and my room was perfect! Would... See full review

  • Jeannie Anne
  • May 29, 2014
Foggy Bottom hotel with 1920s European elegance and modern amenities

The Hotel Lombardy was built in 1926 as an apartment building and retains its original character with 1920's decor and elegant interior design. Cafe Lombardy, a European-inspired bistro, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and offers a children's menu. The Venetian Room Bar and Lounge charms guests with its cozy fireplace. Guests can indulge in a glass of wine or a cocktail and a bite to eat from the small plates menu. The hotel is between Georgetown and downtown D.C., and near George Washington University.

Highlights
  • Recognized as a Historic Hotel of America, with 1920s European decor
  • The Venetian Room Bar and Lounge serves wine and cocktails in an elegant setting with exquisite decor and fireplace
  • Near George Washington University
Location

The Hotel Lombardy is located on Pennsylvania Avenue in D.C.'s Foggy Bottom neighborhood and near George Washington University. The hotel is between Georgetown and downtown D.C., within walking distance of many museums and the White House.

Rooms

Rooms at the Hotel Lombardy have original art, Oriental rugs, chrome bathrooms, a stainless steel wet bar and luxury bedding. There are 20 suites with king bed and separate living room with a pull-out sofa bed.

Features

Cafe Lombardy serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and has a children's menu. The Venetian Room Bar and Lounge serves cocktails, wine and small plates. In-room spa services by Relax & Rejuvenate include massage, manicures, pedicures, facials, hair styling and make-up (fees apply). The on-site fitness room has cardio equipment. Guests receive complimentary passes to a nearby hotel pool during summer. High-speed Internet is complimentary. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Foggy Bottom Metro stop (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Regan National Airport (3.6 mi/ 5.8 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (22 mi/ 36 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/ 44 km)
Attractions
  • Dupont Circle (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • The White House (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Georgetown (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • The National Mall (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (0.8 mi/ 1.4 km)
    Washington Monument (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Smithsonian Institution (1.3 mi/ 2.2 km)
  • United States Capitol (2 mi/ 3.3 km)
Business
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet
  • 1,500 square feet of meeting space

Hotel Lombardy Rooms

Suite
One king bed and room amenities include: imported Italian and German fabrics, oriental woolen rugs, original local art, dining area, beautiful chrome and enamel bathrooms, fine bedding and wonderful hand painted silk renderings.
Standard Room
One king bed or two double beds, room amenities include: imported Italian and German fabrics, oriental woolen rugs, original local art, dining area, beautiful chrome and enamel bathrooms, fine bedding and wonderful hand painted silk renderings.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
General
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest

Hotel Map

38.9008 -77.0453
Area served
Washington D.C.
Nearby airports
Washington Dulles International Airport Washington Reagan National Airport BWI Airport
Area description
Hotel Lombardy is located in the heart of the Washington DCs business district just four blocks from the White House, four blocks from Historic Georgetown and within one mile of the Smithsonian Museums and the monuments.

Nearby points of interest

  • Department of Treasury: 0.2 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.4 mi
  • Blair House: 0.4 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.5 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Department of State: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.2 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.4 mi
  • Blair House: 0.4 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.5 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Department of State: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.6 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.7 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.9 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.9 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • District of Columbia War Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.9 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • West Potomac Park: 1.1 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Franklin D Roosevelt Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our International, Board, Venetian and Fortuny Rooms can accommodate up to 60 people For your next function. Our function rooms Are perfect for board meetings, receptions, Executive level business sessions and cocktail parties. For your event we can provide: High-speed data access (all conference rooms), Visual Display Boards, Projection Screens, AV equipment, and Butler service.

Dining

The Cafe Lombardy
The Café Lombardy is a bright and cheerful overlooking James Monroe Park. Our Chef, deights in preparing American inspired continental cuisine using only the freshest selection of ingredients. Please review our menu for a sample of dinner selections.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (308)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Lombardy

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
308 out of 308
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jsteies
Business
minneapolis, minnesota
Apr 29, 2014

Hotel Lombardy

The Hotel Lombardy was a cute spot just west of the White House. Room was great and the staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New york, NY
May 31, 2010

great value for the price

went for a weekend in d.c, and wanted to stay in this area, the price was great and the rooms were big, lovely bathrooms, kitchenette, very quiet. overall really great for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SanFran Visitor
San Francisco, CA
Jun 14, 2009

Overall, a good stay

I read lots of reviews about the hotel and two things stuck out in my mind since people mentioned them often enough: the "loud elevator" and the "rude staff". My stay at the Hotel Lombardy confirmed one of these (the front desk staff really aren't very welcoming) and denied the other (the elevator really isn't that loud, unless you're staying in a room right next to it). Overall, I had a great stay. My room (414) was very small by American standards, but it was cozy, VERY clean (the bathroom was truly spotless, and I looked carefully), and well appointed. We found that by leaving a nice tip each day for the housekeeping staff (advice to all: LEAVE A TIP FOR THE HOUSEKEEPING STAFF!! - they work hard and provide you with a nice service you don't get at home - $3-4 per day is fine) we received nice "extras" - extra chocolates at night, and a general sense that they spent more time cleaning and straightening our room to perfection. Personally, I really liked the elevator. True, you sometimes have to wait for a staff person, but c'mon - relax a little, people! It's hand-driven, small, charming, full of "character" and fun. Don't demand perfection and speed with the elevator and you'll enjoy the unique experience. Since I was on the 4th floor, I often walked up and down the stairs, for exercise. I'm only giving 4 stars (instead of 5) since the front desk reception was not at all welcoming. On two occasions the front desk was staffed by a young woman (different woman each time). One was yapping on the phone (to a friend) when I walked up and did not acknowledge my presence for an uncomfortable 30 seconds until I made an obvious "displeased" hand motion, and the second time there was the barest minimum of a welcoming presence. I really recommend that the Hotel Lombardy management correct this poor service since it starts the customers off on a sour note. Very poor. Aside from the lousy front desk service, everything else is great. Try the Venetian Lounge on the first floor - small, cozy, bar/lounge with a bartender who enjoys people and loves his job (he said this!). Cozy sofas, and romantic nooks tucked away in corners. Within a two-block radius: Bank of America ATM, a wonderful excellent restaurant called Founding Farmers (I ate there THREE times, it was that good) and The George Washington University. The DC Circulator bus (only $1!) stops practically outside the front door of the hotel, at 21st and I streets. Clean, cheap, comfortable, and arrives every 10 minutes to take you to DC's favorite destinations. I really recommend it. Ditch the car and parking hassles, and take this well-designed service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Founding Farmers restaurant at the corner of 20th and Pennsylvania - amazing, locally-grown, organic, healthy food. I ate there THREE times..

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Jul 5, 2011

A great Foggy Bottom find!

We found the hotel to be a great jumping-off point for walks to the White House, the Lincoln Memorial, and other less well-known destinations in the Foggy Bottom neighborhood. It was a perfect location, with great dining options nearby and a pharmacy a block away, in addition to its proximity to the Mall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The Cafe Lombardy provided the best meals of our stay, and diners seated near us were similarly pleased with their dishes. Perfect option on a rainy evening!

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Jul 5, 2011

A great Foggy Bottom find!

We found the hotel to be a great jumping-off point for walks to the White House, the Lincoln Memorial, and other less well-known destinations in the Foggy Bottom neighborhood. It was a perfect location, with great dining options nearby and a pharmacy a block away, in addition to its proximity to the Mall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The Cafe Lombardy provided the best meals of our stay, and diners seated near us were similarly pleased with their dishes. Perfect option on a rainy evening!

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rueks
Waukesha, WI
May 8, 2009

Great location

Hotel Lombardy was everything we were looking for--quaint, old-world style, not your usual cookie-cutter hotel. Staff was great. Location was excellent--2 blocks from the Metro and within walking distance of restaurants, downtown DC, etc., couldn't ask for anything better. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
drivesouth
Lower Alabama
Jun 15, 2009

Hotel Lombardy Outstanding Stay

Loved the charm of the hotel especially the elevator. Some folks complained about the wait for the elevator but have to say, we never waited more then 1 minute for a ride to the top floor. The stay was exceptional and everyone was very cordial. The room had a kitchenette which came in very handy. My only complaint, the housekeeping staff did not always replace the drinking glasses each day so we had to make a couple trips down to pick up some replacements. However, every night they came by and handed out free chocolates so that made up for the missing glasses, by far! A fair selection of restaurants in the area. everything from italian, to indian to british pub so you should be able to find something to satisfy your taste.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk from hotel to metro station at Foggy Bottem. A mere 3 blocks. The metro is great and took us everywhere we needed to go from the mall, to the museums and even out to arlington cemtary. Not much in the way of shopping in this neighborhood, mostly office buildings but plenty up towards the Farragut North metro station.

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Delighted Work Traveler
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Oct 6, 2012

Charming and convenient

In DC for 2 weeks for work. Excellent walking distance from the office. Many dining options along the way. Easy and enjoyable walk back from the Mall on the weekend. Room was comfortable and welcoming for the extended stay. Loved the vanity to sit and primp in the mornings. The pillows were all synthetic and a bit too plump for my neck's preference...I'd preferred a down and less firm pillow option. Wish they'd have left 2 bottles of water each day. Architecture and 1920s detailing/craftsman ship rich; The lounge is sultry and the cafe simply charming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to nearby offices with Pret a Manger along the way, across from Founding Farmers...easy stroll to parks and the Mall for someone reasonably fit.

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ronjogers
Madison, CT
Aug 22, 2011

Terrific hotel

Location is great, staff are very friendly and accommodating. Highly recommend this hotel and plan to return in the near future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Indian restaraunt at M and 19th. Forgot the name but very good food and service at reasonable price.

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
0nus
Springfield, OH
Aug 7, 2012

Charming Gem of a Hotel

Delightful hotel. Room was spotless, in good repair and had very nice furnishings. Could tell that they "keep on top" of the maintenance. Close to the Metro too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top