$94 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 18, 2014 Check-out: Dec 21, 2014

Hotel Lombardy

3 stars
2019 Pennsylvania Avenue Nw, Washington, DC 20006
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
194 reviews
Nice place

Staff was really nice and the hotel was extremely clean See full review

  • Ericandnina
  • Nov 9, 2014
Great Downtown DC Hotel!!!

We have traveled all over the world and this hotel was a great price and value for the downtown DC... See full review

  • Natalia Americana
  • Jun 24, 2014
Foggy Bottom hotel with 1920s European elegance and modern amenities

The Hotel Lombardy was built in 1926 as an apartment building and retains its original character with 1920's decor and elegant interior design. Cafe Lombardy, a European-inspired bistro, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and offers a children's menu. The Venetian Room Bar and Lounge charms guests with its cozy fireplace. Guests can indulge in a glass of wine or a cocktail and a bite to eat from the small plates menu. The hotel is between Georgetown and downtown D.C., and near George Washington University.

Highlights
  • Recognized as a Historic Hotel of America, with 1920s European decor
  • The Venetian Room Bar and Lounge serves wine and cocktails in an elegant setting with exquisite decor and fireplace
  • Near George Washington University
Location

The Hotel Lombardy is located on Pennsylvania Avenue in D.C.'s Foggy Bottom neighborhood and near George Washington University. The hotel is between Georgetown and downtown D.C., within walking distance of many museums and the White House.

Rooms

Rooms at the Hotel Lombardy have original art, Oriental rugs, chrome bathrooms, a stainless steel wet bar and luxury bedding. There are 20 suites with king bed and separate living room with a pull-out sofa bed.

Features

Cafe Lombardy serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and has a children's menu. The Venetian Room Bar and Lounge serves cocktails, wine and small plates. In-room spa services by Relax & Rejuvenate include massage, manicures, pedicures, facials, hair styling and make-up (fees apply). The on-site fitness room has cardio equipment. Guests receive complimentary passes to a nearby hotel pool during summer. High-speed Internet is complimentary. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Foggy Bottom Metro stop (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Regan National Airport (3.6 mi/ 5.8 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (22 mi/ 36 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/ 44 km)
Attractions
  • Dupont Circle (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • The White House (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Georgetown (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • The National Mall (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (0.8 mi/ 1.4 km)
    Washington Monument (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Smithsonian Institution (1.3 mi/ 2.2 km)
  • United States Capitol (2 mi/ 3.3 km)
Business
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet
  • 1,500 square feet of meeting space

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Lombardy also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Lombardy Rooms

Suite
One king bed and room amenities include: imported Italian and German fabrics, oriental woolen rugs, original local art, dining area, beautiful chrome and enamel bathrooms, fine bedding and wonderful hand painted silk renderings.
Standard Room
One king bed or two double beds, room amenities include: imported Italian and German fabrics, oriental woolen rugs, original local art, dining area, beautiful chrome and enamel bathrooms, fine bedding and wonderful hand painted silk renderings.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
General
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Department of Treasury: 0.2 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.4 mi
  • Blair House: 0.4 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.5 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Department of State: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.2 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.4 mi
  • Blair House: 0.4 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.5 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Department of State: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.6 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.7 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.9 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.9 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • District of Columbia War Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.9 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • West Potomac Park: 1.1 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Franklin D Roosevelt Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.2 mi

Dining

The Cafe Lombardy
The Café Lombardy is a bright and cheerful overlooking James Monroe Park. Our Chef, deights in preparing American inspired continental cuisine using only the freshest selection of ingredients. Please review our menu for a sample of dinner selections.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our International, Board, Venetian and Fortuny Rooms can accommodate up to 60 people For your next function. Our function rooms Are perfect for board meetings, receptions, Executive level business sessions and cocktail parties. For your event we can provide: High-speed data access (all conference rooms), Visual Display Boards, Projection Screens, AV equipment, and Butler service.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (194)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Lombardy

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
194 out of 194
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 3, 2010

Beautiful boutique hotel~

We were greeted by friendly staff who opened the door and escorted us to the Reception desk, which smelled like lilacs. The elevator operator, in his red jacket was polite, sweeet and "elevated" the sense of tradition and service. The room was huge, to our suprise, and had a gleaming white bathroom, two comfy beds with 4 pillows a piece (a bonus for me!) and a side room with cafe table, chairs, and mini bar available next to the kitchenette. Oh- and a small vanity area prior to the bathroom, appointed with toile covered ottoman and table, cotton wisps and hair dryer. The whole thing was just divine, and as far as location, we took advantage of the MEtro line being just a block away for when we took the train up to the Nat'l Zoo, but the doorman got us a cab just as quickly when we prefered the cab later that night. Super experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Being oh-so-touristy, we took the Momuments by Moonlight trolley ride leaving from Union Station. We lucked out that there was actually a full moon that night, so when we walked around the Korean War memorial, it was transendent, and the moon reflecting off the water between the Washington Monument and the Jefferson Memorial- unbeatable. The knowledgeable driver gave insight, gossip and history as we drove past lots of points of interest that we never would have been able to see on our own in that tme and for that cost. Great time!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 14, 2008

Very friendly

The Hotel Lombardy was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is an older restored hotel that has much charm and character to it. The restaurant was very good & our service was outstanding. We would recommend this hotel to anyone who wanted to experience a bit of the old with the new. The location is ideal for walking to all the area sites and enjoying the city. We had a wonderful long weekend & look forward to our next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The White House, Memorial Park, Smithsonian, U.S. Treasury, Capital

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas
May 8, 2009

A Wonderful Surprise

This is a wonderful Hotel. The conference I was scheduled to attend was at a large "chain" hotel. While it was first class -- it certainly lacked the charm of Hotel Lombardy. From the greet by the doorman, to the man who seemed to live in the elevator (yes, an old fashioned elevator attendant), to the room service staff, the maids, and the resteraunt staff. This was a first class location -- not quite like the near next door neighbor (the White House) but near. Wonderful old world charm in the decor. Three block walk to the metro. A perfect place and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many ethnic Dining options nearby - try the Aroma (Indian) Resteraunt.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greensboro
Jun 8, 2008

Wonderful Hotel!

This hotel was wonderful! The rooms were very large, including a separate galley wet bar area. The bathroom had a small sitting room beside it. It is in a great location not far from a metro stop. There were good restaurants located within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brookings
Jul 5, 2008

Historic hotel

I loved the old elevator with the closing gate. The room was fine although the view was of another building. The bathroom has been remodeled but keeping in the old style. It seems that it is located on a quiet street in the middle of the block so not much traffic to worry about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maggie GW mom
Business
Scottsdale, AZ
Aug 26, 2010

Fabulous experience

Great location to move my son into The George Washington University. The staff was friendly, the rooms comfortable. Definitely will return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 18, 2008

My review of Hotel Lombardy

Overall, staying at the Hotel Lombardy in Washington DC was a great experience. The staff greats you at your car and provides valet parking services since parking is very difficult in the area. The front desk staff is very helpful in providing insight as to sightseeing and local attractions. Whats great about the rooms is that the hotel was previously an apartment complex, so each room is large and has a small kitchen area. I would recommend this hotel for any family or business trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

all Washington Monuments

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Durham, NC
Oct 3, 2008

My review of Hotel Lombardy

Staying at Hotel Lombardy was definitely a memorable experience-- from the old fashioned elevator to the Lombardy Cafe. The hotel is located in downtown DC-- close to the metro, restaurants and tourist attractions. The majority of the staff was excellent. I was however a bit turned off when I was checking in and the staff was gathered discussing disappointing tips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 29, 2008

Sophisticated , but not pricy

The Lombardy hotel was very nice. The room was big with three separate spaces ( bedroom, sitting area near minibar and sitting area with vanity mirror) . Old fashion style, very friendly staff and wonderful food. Close to the Washington mall, but still a 15 minutes walk. Carpet was old and needed to be cleaned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Georgetown is not too far. A good pleasant walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Yorktown, NY
Mar 3, 2009

"Visit Washington DC by foot"

Hotel Lombardy is an older hotel with sophisticated European charm. The staff were extremely helpful and pleasant, even when we requested another room farther from the "original" elevator, which was quite noisy. A modern one will be installed soon. We were graciously upgraded to a suite! Both rooms, however, were lovely and spacious with new mattresses. The Restaurant was quaint. Food was good. Service a bit rushed, but adequate. The lounge is warm and inviting. The location is the best for visiting the DC museums. We walked everywhere! George Washington University is just across the street. Overall, we had a top notch experience, and I would highly recommend this hotel to friends!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Peruvian Restaurant directly across the street, down the stairs. A must!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top