$152 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 10, 2015 Check-out: Jul 12, 2015

Hotel Lombardy

3 stars
View map of 2019 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20006

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Lombardy

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
214 out of 214
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mom XOXO
Business
New Jersey
Mar 4, 2013

Disappointing

I visit Washington frequently and am always trying new hotels. The Hotel Lombardy is an older hotel that has been updated in a few areas. Our room was quite small and looked out onto an office building across an alley. needless to say, the blinds had to be closed during the day. The good news was that the bathroom was newly renovated. We left Saturday morning at 9AM and put the 'make up the room' sign out but when we returned at 4, the room had not been cleaned nor had the room service tray been removed. ( Room service for fruit and cereal took over 45 minutes to arrive by the way). When I called the front desk, the woman just said, "OH, I'll get back to you on that" We said we would be leaving again at 5:30 and to make up the room then but the maid arrived at 5 to clean. Our friends down the hall had no troubles and had a large room with a kitchenette and extra seating. Their room was also cleaned on time. Overall, it was very disappointing and we will not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aurelism
Business
New York City
Dec 3, 2012

Hmmm

The overall look and feel of the hotel is pretty good and the labyrinthic way to access the room is somewhat delightfully old-fashioned and pleasant. But the smell of old-fashioned moth ball when walking in a bit of a turn-off. Same for the view right into the neighbor's apartments.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cat1900
Business
virginia
Dec 2, 2012

It is very convenient place

It is a great place to stay. everything is clean. the staffs are nice. the restroom is kind of small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rachel B.
Business
Southern Maryland
Nov 24, 2012

Wonderful Hotel

The staff was professional, courteous and helpful. The hotel had great character and an interesting history. The room was clean and comfortable. Overall a great value and I would love to stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveler 90125
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Nov 12, 2012

Decent value, but cannot recommend

Nice looking place, very comfortable bedding, polite staff. Adequate fitness center. Got only about 5 hrs sleep due to intermittent loud construction-type sounds in the alley all night. Not completely the hotel's fault, but worth noting. More importantly, I opened the bath towel to find a very long strand of black hair and a shorter one as well. So, no clear evidence that they wash the towels between guest visits. Nice woman at front checkout seemed neither surprised nor concerned when I mentioned it. Ick.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
irishgreek
Business
Chicago
Oct 12, 2012

Great location and sooo cute!

Great location for walking to many of the sites in DC and to Metro. Bed was very comfortable, room was immaculate and I loved the exrtra "little rooms" (kitchen area and dressing room). In addition, very helpful and polite staff. Great bang for your buck!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Could not find a CVS or any kind of store within walking distance to buy extras to keep in fridge.

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Delighted Work Traveler
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Oct 6, 2012

Charming and convenient

In DC for 2 weeks for work. Excellent walking distance from the office. Many dining options along the way. Easy and enjoyable walk back from the Mall on the weekend. Room was comfortable and welcoming for the extended stay. Loved the vanity to sit and primp in the mornings. The pillows were all synthetic and a bit too plump for my neck's preference...I'd preferred a down and less firm pillow option. Wish they'd have left 2 bottles of water each day. Architecture and 1920s detailing/craftsman ship rich; The lounge is sultry and the cafe simply charming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to nearby offices with Pret a Manger along the way, across from Founding Farmers...easy stroll to parks and the Mall for someone reasonably fit.

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
flatland citizen
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Sep 8, 2012

mini vacation

We were greeted immediately at the curb when our taxi arrived and escorted to reception to check in. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable. The room had very comfortable beds and we appreciated the paper at the door in the morning. The AC was a little noisy when turning on and off, but not seriously offensive. We probably would have liked a more affordable breakfast; however, that is a personal observation from someone who is not especially fond of breakfast food. We were in DC for sightseeing and the staff was helpful in getting us set up with a tour. We think it is a great location for what we wanted to do. All in all a pleasant experience and we would book with them again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out nearby small shops, especially for breakfast or lunch.

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Latina6
Business
New York, NY
Sep 4, 2012

Great Stay!

It was our second time staying at the Hotel Lombardy and we just love this hotel! The rooms are very clean, the beds are extremely comfortable and the staff is always helpful and respond quickly with anything you need. They even leave you complimentary bottles of water in the room! We're a young couple, so we enjoy seeing the city during the day and walking around Georgetown at night and this hotel is close to both! You can't go wrong!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Susaninjapan
Business
Nishinomiya, Japan
Aug 19, 2012

Welcome Change

If you are looking for a nice change from the typical US hotel chain, this is the perfect choice! European-style elegance, great service, and charming rooms were most welcome. We stayed with two adults and one child, and all of the staff were most welcoming. The location was GREAT...closest Metro station two blocks away; CVS, Starbucks, Kinkos within a block; and many other good eateries and a Whole Foods right in the neighborhood. If you're looking for a break from the tour-group crazed larger hotel chains, I definitely recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a rechargeable SmarTrip card for the Metro and navigate the city with ease. Closest station is Foggy Bottom, two blocks away. Farragut West and Farragut North are also walking distance. Walking time to the White House right down Pennsylvania Ave. is 15 minutes.

Back to menu Return to top