$94 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Hotel Lombardy

3 stars
2019 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20006
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
196 reviews
Great hotel

This was my second time in Lombardy. It has perfect location, great staff. Super comfortable stay See full review

  • AsyaH
  • Dec 3, 2014
Nice place

Staff was really nice and the hotel was extremely clean See full review

  • Ericandnina
  • Nov 9, 2014
Foggy Bottom hotel with 1920s European elegance and modern amenities

The Hotel Lombardy was built in 1926 as an apartment building and retains its original character with 1920's decor and elegant interior design. Cafe Lombardy, a European-inspired bistro, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and offers a children's menu. The Venetian Room Bar and Lounge charms guests with its cozy fireplace. Guests can indulge in a glass of wine or a cocktail and a bite to eat from the small plates menu. The hotel is between Georgetown and downtown D.C., and near George Washington University.

Highlights
  • Recognized as a Historic Hotel of America, with 1920s European decor
  • The Venetian Room Bar and Lounge serves wine and cocktails in an elegant setting with exquisite decor and fireplace
  • Near George Washington University
Location

The Hotel Lombardy is located on Pennsylvania Avenue in D.C.'s Foggy Bottom neighborhood and near George Washington University. The hotel is between Georgetown and downtown D.C., within walking distance of many museums and the White House.

Rooms

Rooms at the Hotel Lombardy have original art, Oriental rugs, chrome bathrooms, a stainless steel wet bar and luxury bedding. There are 20 suites with king bed and separate living room with a pull-out sofa bed.

Features

Cafe Lombardy serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and has a children's menu. The Venetian Room Bar and Lounge serves cocktails, wine and small plates. In-room spa services by Relax & Rejuvenate include massage, manicures, pedicures, facials, hair styling and make-up (fees apply). The on-site fitness room has cardio equipment. Guests receive complimentary passes to a nearby hotel pool during summer. High-speed Internet is complimentary. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Foggy Bottom Metro stop (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Regan National Airport (3.6 mi/ 5.8 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (22 mi/ 36 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/ 44 km)
Attractions
  • Dupont Circle (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • The White House (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Georgetown (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • The National Mall (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (0.8 mi/ 1.4 km)
    Washington Monument (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Smithsonian Institution (1.3 mi/ 2.2 km)
  • United States Capitol (2 mi/ 3.3 km)
Business
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet
  • 1,500 square feet of meeting space

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Lombardy also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Lombardy Rooms

Suite
One king bed and room amenities include: imported Italian and German fabrics, oriental woolen rugs, original local art, dining area, beautiful chrome and enamel bathrooms, fine bedding and wonderful hand painted silk renderings.
Standard Room
One king bed or two double beds, room amenities include: imported Italian and German fabrics, oriental woolen rugs, original local art, dining area, beautiful chrome and enamel bathrooms, fine bedding and wonderful hand painted silk renderings.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
General
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Department of Treasury: 0.2 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.4 mi
  • Blair House: 0.4 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.5 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Department of State: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.2 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.4 mi
  • Blair House: 0.4 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.5 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Department of State: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.6 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.7 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.9 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.9 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • District of Columbia War Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.9 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • West Potomac Park: 1.1 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Franklin D Roosevelt Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our International, Board, Venetian and Fortuny Rooms can accommodate up to 60 people For your next function. Our function rooms Are perfect for board meetings, receptions, Executive level business sessions and cocktail parties. For your event we can provide: High-speed data access (all conference rooms), Visual Display Boards, Projection Screens, AV equipment, and Butler service.

Dining

The Cafe Lombardy
The Café Lombardy is a bright and cheerful overlooking James Monroe Park. Our Chef, deights in preparing American inspired continental cuisine using only the freshest selection of ingredients. Please review our menu for a sample of dinner selections.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (196)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Lombardy

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
196 out of 196
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
irishgreek
Chicago
Oct 12, 2012

Great location and sooo cute!

Great location for walking to many of the sites in DC and to Metro. Bed was very comfortable, room was immaculate and I loved the exrtra "little rooms" (kitchen area and dressing room). In addition, very helpful and polite staff. Great bang for your buck!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Could not find a CVS or any kind of store within walking distance to buy extras to keep in fridge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Somiari Demm
Business
Richmond, VA
Mar 25, 2013

Amazing for any occasion

Extraordinary, magnificent, perfect, amazing, etc. I am going back with my husband because the experience was out of this world.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

White House. Museums, zoo etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Love to walk
Business
San Jose, California
Mar 14, 2013

A Week in DC

The Hotel Lombardy was a great choice for us as tourists for a week. The location is excellent and it is in a clean and safe part of town. Lots of restaurants and amenities nearby, as well as the metro. We tended to walk everywhere, though, since the location is central. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Every day they brought each of us a fresh bottle of water with the turn down service. Our room even had a small kitchen sink and counter which was convenient for making tea and storing snacks. Beds and linens were cozy. My only complaint was that the pillows were too large and not down-filled, so bring your own if you are picky.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you need a break from museums, the National Zoo is not far from the hotel. The zoo is free and has some amazing pandas. Take the Farragut North (not West) train to Cleveland Park (the second zoo stop) and walk downhill to the zoo.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mom XOXO
Business
New Jersey
Mar 4, 2013

Disappointing

I visit Washington frequently and am always trying new hotels. The Hotel Lombardy is an older hotel that has been updated in a few areas. Our room was quite small and looked out onto an office building across an alley. needless to say, the blinds had to be closed during the day. The good news was that the bathroom was newly renovated. We left Saturday morning at 9AM and put the 'make up the room' sign out but when we returned at 4, the room had not been cleaned nor had the room service tray been removed. ( Room service for fruit and cereal took over 45 minutes to arrive by the way). When I called the front desk, the woman just said, "OH, I'll get back to you on that" We said we would be leaving again at 5:30 and to make up the room then but the maid arrived at 5 to clean. Our friends down the hall had no troubles and had a large room with a kitchenette and extra seating. Their room was also cleaned on time. Overall, it was very disappointing and we will not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aurelism
Business
New York City
Dec 3, 2012

Hmmm

The overall look and feel of the hotel is pretty good and the labyrinthic way to access the room is somewhat delightfully old-fashioned and pleasant. But the smell of old-fashioned moth ball when walking in a bit of a turn-off. Same for the view right into the neighbor's apartments.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cat1900
Business
virginia
Dec 2, 2012

It is very convenient place

It is a great place to stay. everything is clean. the staffs are nice. the restroom is kind of small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rachel B.
Business
Southern Maryland
Nov 24, 2012

Wonderful Hotel

The staff was professional, courteous and helpful. The hotel had great character and an interesting history. The room was clean and comfortable. Overall a great value and I would love to stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveler 90125
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Nov 12, 2012

Decent value, but cannot recommend

Nice looking place, very comfortable bedding, polite staff. Adequate fitness center. Got only about 5 hrs sleep due to intermittent loud construction-type sounds in the alley all night. Not completely the hotel's fault, but worth noting. More importantly, I opened the bath towel to find a very long strand of black hair and a shorter one as well. So, no clear evidence that they wash the towels between guest visits. Nice woman at front checkout seemed neither surprised nor concerned when I mentioned it. Ick.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
irishgreek
Business
Chicago
Oct 12, 2012

Great location and sooo cute!

Great location for walking to many of the sites in DC and to Metro. Bed was very comfortable, room was immaculate and I loved the exrtra "little rooms" (kitchen area and dressing room). In addition, very helpful and polite staff. Great bang for your buck!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Could not find a CVS or any kind of store within walking distance to buy extras to keep in fridge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Delighted Work Traveler
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Oct 6, 2012

Charming and convenient

In DC for 2 weeks for work. Excellent walking distance from the office. Many dining options along the way. Easy and enjoyable walk back from the Mall on the weekend. Room was comfortable and welcoming for the extended stay. Loved the vanity to sit and primp in the mornings. The pillows were all synthetic and a bit too plump for my neck's preference...I'd preferred a down and less firm pillow option. Wish they'd have left 2 bottles of water each day. Architecture and 1920s detailing/craftsman ship rich; The lounge is sultry and the cafe simply charming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to nearby offices with Pret a Manger along the way, across from Founding Farmers...easy stroll to parks and the Mall for someone reasonably fit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
flatland citizen
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Sep 8, 2012

mini vacation

We were greeted immediately at the curb when our taxi arrived and escorted to reception to check in. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable. The room had very comfortable beds and we appreciated the paper at the door in the morning. The AC was a little noisy when turning on and off, but not seriously offensive. We probably would have liked a more affordable breakfast; however, that is a personal observation from someone who is not especially fond of breakfast food. We were in DC for sightseeing and the staff was helpful in getting us set up with a tour. We think it is a great location for what we wanted to do. All in all a pleasant experience and we would book with them again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out nearby small shops, especially for breakfast or lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top