$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 31, 2015 Check-out: Feb 1, 2015

Hotel Lombardy

3 stars
2019 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20006
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
197 reviews
Short weekend trip

Walking distance to all tourist spots. Very friendly staff. Would stay here again. But expensive... See full review

  • Joy F.
  • Jan 24, 2015
Business Trip

Staff were extremely friendly. Room was spacious and comfortable See full review

  • Doug S.
  • Jan 23, 2015
Foggy Bottom hotel with 1920s European elegance and modern amenities

The Hotel Lombardy was built in 1926 as an apartment building and retains its original character with 1920's decor and elegant interior design. Cafe Lombardy, a European-inspired bistro, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and offers a children's menu. The Venetian Room Bar and Lounge charms guests with its cozy fireplace. Guests can indulge in a glass of wine or a cocktail and a bite to eat from the small plates menu. The hotel is between Georgetown and downtown D.C., and near George Washington University.

Highlights
  • Recognized as a Historic Hotel of America, with 1920s European decor
  • The Venetian Room Bar and Lounge serves wine and cocktails in an elegant setting with exquisite decor and fireplace
  • Near George Washington University
Location

The Hotel Lombardy is located on Pennsylvania Avenue in D.C.'s Foggy Bottom neighborhood and near George Washington University. The hotel is between Georgetown and downtown D.C., within walking distance of many museums and the White House.

Rooms

Rooms at the Hotel Lombardy have original art, Oriental rugs, chrome bathrooms, a stainless steel wet bar and luxury bedding. There are 20 suites with king bed and separate living room with a pull-out sofa bed.

Features

Cafe Lombardy serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and has a children's menu. The Venetian Room Bar and Lounge serves cocktails, wine and small plates. In-room spa services by Relax & Rejuvenate include massage, manicures, pedicures, facials, hair styling and make-up (fees apply). The on-site fitness room has cardio equipment. Guests receive complimentary passes to a nearby hotel pool during summer. High-speed Internet is complimentary. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Foggy Bottom Metro stop (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Regan National Airport (3.6 mi/ 5.8 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (22 mi/ 36 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/ 44 km)
Attractions
  • Dupont Circle (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • The White House (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Georgetown (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • The National Mall (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (0.8 mi/ 1.4 km)
    Washington Monument (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Smithsonian Institution (1.3 mi/ 2.2 km)
  • United States Capitol (2 mi/ 3.3 km)
Business
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet
  • 1,500 square feet of meeting space

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Lombardy also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Lombardy Rooms

Suite
One king bed and room amenities include: imported Italian and German fabrics, oriental woolen rugs, original local art, dining area, beautiful chrome and enamel bathrooms, fine bedding and wonderful hand painted silk renderings.
Standard Room
One king bed or two double beds, room amenities include: imported Italian and German fabrics, oriental woolen rugs, original local art, dining area, beautiful chrome and enamel bathrooms, fine bedding and wonderful hand painted silk renderings.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
General
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Department of Treasury: 0.2 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.4 mi
  • Blair House: 0.4 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.5 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Department of State: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.2 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.4 mi
  • Blair House: 0.4 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.5 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Department of State: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.6 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.7 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.9 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.9 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • District of Columbia War Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.9 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • West Potomac Park: 1.1 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Franklin D Roosevelt Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.2 mi

Dining

The Cafe Lombardy
The Café Lombardy is a bright and cheerful overlooking James Monroe Park. Our Chef, deights in preparing American inspired continental cuisine using only the freshest selection of ingredients. Please review our menu for a sample of dinner selections.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our International, Board, Venetian and Fortuny Rooms can accommodate up to 60 people For your next function. Our function rooms Are perfect for board meetings, receptions, Executive level business sessions and cocktail parties. For your event we can provide: High-speed data access (all conference rooms), Visual Display Boards, Projection Screens, AV equipment, and Butler service.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (197)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Lombardy

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
197 out of 197
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
flatland citizen
Jacksonville, FL
Sep 8, 2012

mini vacation

We were greeted immediately at the curb when our taxi arrived and escorted to reception to check in. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable. The room had very comfortable beds and we appreciated the paper at the door in the morning. The AC was a little noisy when turning on and off, but not seriously offensive. We probably would have liked a more affordable breakfast; however, that is a personal observation from someone who is not especially fond of breakfast food. We were in DC for sightseeing and the staff was helpful in getting us set up with a tour. We think it is a great location for what we wanted to do. All in all a pleasant experience and we would book with them again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out nearby small shops, especially for breakfast or lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mandy1920
Business
Westchester, NY
Aug 11, 2014

Loved it

From the moment I walked into this charming hotel. I could not be more pleases with the staff to the cleanliness of the rooms. It was just quint. I would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Clyde's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rosella
Business
Horsham, PA
Jul 22, 2014

weekend in DC!

My boyfriend and I really enjoyed staying at this hotel and we would definitely think about staying there next time we go to DC. The room was very clean and tidy. The only thing we didn't like was that the room did not come with an iron/ironing board. We had to requested from the front desk and it took 3 different phone calls for them to bring it up. Everybody was very friendly and helpful! Parking was pricey but it was expected because of the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Natalia Americana
Business
columbus, ohio
Jun 24, 2014

Great Downtown DC Hotel!!!

We have traveled all over the world and this hotel was a great price and value for the downtown DC area. We would recommend it to anyone. it is within walking distance of the mall and the major museums. it is a classic european style hotel, so no huge lobby, but the staff was super nice, the bed was perfect and comfortable. The room and bathroom both were super clean! Wireless internet was fast and reliable, it was a great value for the price! A++++

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Jaleo - Spanish Tapas, the best! you can sit inside or outside sidewalk, spacious modern decor, delicious and great value for each $ spent. not fries and burgers, but REAL tapas and real euro fare. located at 7th street at the corner of E street... then go to the portrait gallery afterwards, you will be amazed by both.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chiptop
Business
Tucson, AZ
Jun 19, 2014

Oasis of Calm

I enjoyed the old world charm of the hotel, and the vast expanse of bed in my room. My room was immaculate, and the staff was warm and attentive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BriMaes
Business
Long Island, NY
Jun 18, 2014

Super convenient.

Very happy that I decided to book Hotel Lombardy. Great area, wonderful staff, great value. The rooms were a little on the small side, as mentioned by other reviewers, but that didn't bother me at all. Bed was comfy and bathroom was spacious. And the hotel itself is beautiful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jeannie Anne
Business
Crowley, LA
May 29, 2014

Very friendly staff

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The staff was first class and my room was perfect! Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast at Penn Grill-big breakfast, reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
EC Traveller
Business
NJ
May 28, 2014

Memorial Weekend 2014 Getaway to Nation's Capital

Arrived on Sat. and found out there was a valet parking charge of $36 per day if you want to use that. Luckily, it was over the Memorial weekend so there were many meter parkings available. Just put money until 10 PM on Sat. then it was free on Sun and Memorial day. The hotel is somewhat close to all attractions if you like to walk (20+ min) You have to walk to all the museums anyway so the location was great. Room was smaller than what I expected; just some space around one king size bed but bathroom was big enough. Bed, desk, bathtub, sink, etc were all clean and nice. It was just small than I expected. No ice machine, you have to call the room service but the staffs were nice. I got a great deal to book this so it was good for me. I would recommend this hotel to all travellers who are looking for nice hotel to stay in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tourist Kim
Business
Toledo, Ohio
May 2, 2014

Disappointing

I stayed here with my mom and sister when we came to Washington to meet my dad, who was visiting the WWII memorial on the Honor Flight. We had a king suite, which included 2 rooms. The "kitchenette" was nothing more than a closet with a small fridge and a coffee pot. The rooms were extremely small and the power went out every time we used a hair dryer. The king bed was very comfortable, however the pull out bed was so bad that my sister just closed it up and slept on the sofa. The staff was very nice even though we were constantly calling them (power is out, you haven't cleaned our room yet and we need towels, we need bedding for the pull out couch, etc) Overall, the hotel was just "OK" but for what we had paid for it, we expected much more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

The DC After Dark tour was great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Glass Guy
Business
Newton MA
Apr 29, 2014

Fantastic Vacation

The Hotel and staff were great Old world ambiance with a modern touch. The location can't be beat,so convenient to the Metro and the sites. Would absolutely return and recommend for families for trip to DC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Monuments : Lincoln,Korean,Viet Nam,MLK

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jsteies
Business
minneapolis, minnesota
Apr 29, 2014

Hotel Lombardy

The Hotel Lombardy was a cute spot just west of the White House. Room was great and the staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top