$103 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 21, 2014 Check-out: Nov 24, 2014

Hotel Lombardy

3 stars
2019 Pennsylvania Avenue Nw, Washington, DC 20006
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
193 reviews
Great Downtown DC Hotel!!!

We have traveled all over the world and this hotel was a great price and value for the downtown DC... See full review

  • Natalia Americana
  • Jun 24, 2014
Very friendly staff

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The staff was first class and my room was perfect! Would... See full review

  • Jeannie Anne
  • May 29, 2014
Foggy Bottom hotel with 1920s European elegance and modern amenities

The Hotel Lombardy was built in 1926 as an apartment building and retains its original character with 1920's decor and elegant interior design. Cafe Lombardy, a European-inspired bistro, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and offers a children's menu. The Venetian Room Bar and Lounge charms guests with its cozy fireplace. Guests can indulge in a glass of wine or a cocktail and a bite to eat from the small plates menu. The hotel is between Georgetown and downtown D.C., and near George Washington University.

Highlights
  • Recognized as a Historic Hotel of America, with 1920s European decor
  • The Venetian Room Bar and Lounge serves wine and cocktails in an elegant setting with exquisite decor and fireplace
  • Near George Washington University
Location

The Hotel Lombardy is located on Pennsylvania Avenue in D.C.'s Foggy Bottom neighborhood and near George Washington University. The hotel is between Georgetown and downtown D.C., within walking distance of many museums and the White House.

Rooms

Rooms at the Hotel Lombardy have original art, Oriental rugs, chrome bathrooms, a stainless steel wet bar and luxury bedding. There are 20 suites with king bed and separate living room with a pull-out sofa bed.

Features

Cafe Lombardy serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and has a children's menu. The Venetian Room Bar and Lounge serves cocktails, wine and small plates. In-room spa services by Relax & Rejuvenate include massage, manicures, pedicures, facials, hair styling and make-up (fees apply). The on-site fitness room has cardio equipment. Guests receive complimentary passes to a nearby hotel pool during summer. High-speed Internet is complimentary. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Foggy Bottom Metro stop (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Regan National Airport (3.6 mi/ 5.8 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (22 mi/ 36 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/ 44 km)
Attractions
  • Dupont Circle (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • The White House (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Georgetown (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • The National Mall (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (0.8 mi/ 1.4 km)
    Washington Monument (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Smithsonian Institution (1.3 mi/ 2.2 km)
  • United States Capitol (2 mi/ 3.3 km)
Business
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet
  • 1,500 square feet of meeting space

Hotel Map

38.9008 -77.0453
Area served
Washington D.C.
Nearby airports
Washington Dulles International Airport Washington Reagan National Airport BWI Airport
Area description
Hotel Lombardy is located in the heart of the Washington DCs business district just four blocks from the White House, four blocks from Historic Georgetown and within one mile of the Smithsonian Museums and the monuments.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Lombardy also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Lombardy Rooms

Suite
One king bed and room amenities include: imported Italian and German fabrics, oriental woolen rugs, original local art, dining area, beautiful chrome and enamel bathrooms, fine bedding and wonderful hand painted silk renderings.
Standard Room
One king bed or two double beds, room amenities include: imported Italian and German fabrics, oriental woolen rugs, original local art, dining area, beautiful chrome and enamel bathrooms, fine bedding and wonderful hand painted silk renderings.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
General
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Department of Treasury: 0.2 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.4 mi
  • Blair House: 0.4 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.5 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Department of State: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.2 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.4 mi
  • Blair House: 0.4 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.5 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Department of State: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.6 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.7 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.9 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.9 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • District of Columbia War Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.9 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • West Potomac Park: 1.1 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Franklin D Roosevelt Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.2 mi

Dining

The Cafe Lombardy
The Café Lombardy is a bright and cheerful overlooking James Monroe Park. Our Chef, deights in preparing American inspired continental cuisine using only the freshest selection of ingredients. Please review our menu for a sample of dinner selections.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our International, Board, Venetian and Fortuny Rooms can accommodate up to 60 people For your next function. Our function rooms Are perfect for board meetings, receptions, Executive level business sessions and cocktail parties. For your event we can provide: High-speed data access (all conference rooms), Visual Display Boards, Projection Screens, AV equipment, and Butler service.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (193)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Lombardy

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
193 out of 193
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jeannie Anne
Business
Crowley, LA
May 29, 2014

Very friendly staff

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The staff was first class and my room was perfect! Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast at Penn Grill-big breakfast, reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
EC Traveller
Business
NJ
May 28, 2014

Memorial Weekend 2014 Getaway to Nation's Capital

Arrived on Sat. and found out there was a valet parking charge of $36 per day if you want to use that. Luckily, it was over the Memorial weekend so there were many meter parkings available. Just put money until 10 PM on Sat. then it was free on Sun and Memorial day. The hotel is somewhat close to all attractions if you like to walk (20+ min) You have to walk to all the museums anyway so the location was great. Room was smaller than what I expected; just some space around one king size bed but bathroom was big enough. Bed, desk, bathtub, sink, etc were all clean and nice. It was just small than I expected. No ice machine, you have to call the room service but the staffs were nice. I got a great deal to book this so it was good for me. I would recommend this hotel to all travellers who are looking for nice hotel to stay in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tourist Kim
Business
Toledo, Ohio
May 2, 2014

Disappointing

I stayed here with my mom and sister when we came to Washington to meet my dad, who was visiting the WWII memorial on the Honor Flight. We had a king suite, which included 2 rooms. The "kitchenette" was nothing more than a closet with a small fridge and a coffee pot. The rooms were extremely small and the power went out every time we used a hair dryer. The king bed was very comfortable, however the pull out bed was so bad that my sister just closed it up and slept on the sofa. The staff was very nice even though we were constantly calling them (power is out, you haven't cleaned our room yet and we need towels, we need bedding for the pull out couch, etc) Overall, the hotel was just "OK" but for what we had paid for it, we expected much more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

The DC After Dark tour was great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Glass Guy
Business
Newton MA
Apr 29, 2014

Fantastic Vacation

The Hotel and staff were great Old world ambiance with a modern touch. The location can't be beat,so convenient to the Metro and the sites. Would absolutely return and recommend for families for trip to DC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Monuments : Lincoln,Korean,Viet Nam,MLK

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jsteies
Business
minneapolis, minnesota
Apr 29, 2014

Hotel Lombardy

The Hotel Lombardy was a cute spot just west of the White House. Room was great and the staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1st Timer DC
Business
Washington, DC
Apr 24, 2014

Great place to stay!

We enjoyed our stay at the Lombardy Hotel. It is a small quaint,quiet historic hotel in a great location close to the sites and restaurants. The hotel is clean and comfortable with friendly staff that can't do enough for you. Our room had 2 comfy double beds with a bonus sitting/kitchen area sporting a coffee maker, small sink and a roomy under-counter fridge with a stocked bar. We greatly appreciated the nightly complimentary waters delivered by housekeeping, It was a nice touch after a hot and busy day touring the sites.I would definitely recommend staying at the Lombardy Hotel on your next visit to DC,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
skbusiness
Business
providence ri
Feb 16, 2014

business trip made easy

Great location, close to White House, the National Mall, Dupont Circle. George Washington University, and easy access to metros. Rooms are great, restaurant and bar are excellent - I like that you have coffee and fridge in room as well as a nice big desk. Service is exceptional and price is right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ECibelli
Business
New York, New York
Dec 22, 2013

Like home

Love the Hotel Lombardy... I always like to stay at here when I visit DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J'Gran
Business
Chicago
Dec 1, 2013

D.C. Historic Hotel

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location --see address--is great. Central to culture and sights and metro. The room was comfortable and quiet. There are limited amenities--limited room service and average dining.. I recommend this hotel highly for all of the above and the fact that it is a very good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

El Chalon, 1.5 blocks away, Peruvian with a certain charm and rather affordable. A bit of a splurge but chic and friendly and delicious, Rasika West End, about an 8-block walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rvt63
Business
Wolvrhampton, UK
Nov 25, 2013

Great short break

Staff were friendly and pleasant. Room was clean and comfortable. Had complimentary bottles of water each evening and apples were available in reception. We did not use the cafe or bar but they appeared to be popular. The hotel was a base for a holiday and the location was great for us. We were only 10 minutes walk from the White House. There was an English themed pub and a food court within 5 minutes walk. Overall it was a great hotel and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Elephant & Castle pub within 5 minutes walk serving Real ales and good food. Food court within 5 minutes walk ideal for breakfast and lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top