$103 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Hotel Lombardy

3 stars
2019 Pennsylvania Avenue Nw, Washington, DC 20006
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
191 reviews
Great Downtown DC Hotel!!!

We have traveled all over the world and this hotel was a great price and value for the downtown DC... See full review

  • Natalia Americana
  • Jun 24, 2014
Very friendly staff

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The staff was first class and my room was perfect! Would... See full review

  • Jeannie Anne
  • May 29, 2014
Foggy Bottom hotel with 1920s European elegance and modern amenities

The Hotel Lombardy was built in 1926 as an apartment building and retains its original character with 1920's decor and elegant interior design. Cafe Lombardy, a European-inspired bistro, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and offers a children's menu. The Venetian Room Bar and Lounge charms guests with its cozy fireplace. Guests can indulge in a glass of wine or a cocktail and a bite to eat from the small plates menu. The hotel is between Georgetown and downtown D.C., and near George Washington University.

Highlights
  • Recognized as a Historic Hotel of America, with 1920s European decor
  • The Venetian Room Bar and Lounge serves wine and cocktails in an elegant setting with exquisite decor and fireplace
  • Near George Washington University
Location

The Hotel Lombardy is located on Pennsylvania Avenue in D.C.'s Foggy Bottom neighborhood and near George Washington University. The hotel is between Georgetown and downtown D.C., within walking distance of many museums and the White House.

Rooms

Rooms at the Hotel Lombardy have original art, Oriental rugs, chrome bathrooms, a stainless steel wet bar and luxury bedding. There are 20 suites with king bed and separate living room with a pull-out sofa bed.

Features

Cafe Lombardy serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and has a children's menu. The Venetian Room Bar and Lounge serves cocktails, wine and small plates. In-room spa services by Relax & Rejuvenate include massage, manicures, pedicures, facials, hair styling and make-up (fees apply). The on-site fitness room has cardio equipment. Guests receive complimentary passes to a nearby hotel pool during summer. High-speed Internet is complimentary. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Foggy Bottom Metro stop (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Regan National Airport (3.6 mi/ 5.8 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (22 mi/ 36 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/ 44 km)
Attractions
  • Dupont Circle (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • The White House (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Georgetown (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • The National Mall (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (0.8 mi/ 1.4 km)
    Washington Monument (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Smithsonian Institution (1.3 mi/ 2.2 km)
  • United States Capitol (2 mi/ 3.3 km)
Business
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet
  • 1,500 square feet of meeting space

Hotel Map

38.9008 -77.0453
Area served
Washington D.C.
Nearby airports
Washington Dulles International Airport Washington Reagan National Airport BWI Airport
Area description
Hotel Lombardy is located in the heart of the Washington DCs business district just four blocks from the White House, four blocks from Historic Georgetown and within one mile of the Smithsonian Museums and the monuments.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Lombardy also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Lombardy Rooms

Suite
One king bed and room amenities include: imported Italian and German fabrics, oriental woolen rugs, original local art, dining area, beautiful chrome and enamel bathrooms, fine bedding and wonderful hand painted silk renderings.
Standard Room
One king bed or two double beds, room amenities include: imported Italian and German fabrics, oriental woolen rugs, original local art, dining area, beautiful chrome and enamel bathrooms, fine bedding and wonderful hand painted silk renderings.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
General
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Department of Treasury: 0.2 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.4 mi
  • Blair House: 0.4 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.5 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Department of State: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.2 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.4 mi
  • Blair House: 0.4 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.5 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Department of State: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.6 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.7 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.9 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.9 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • District of Columbia War Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.9 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • West Potomac Park: 1.1 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Franklin D Roosevelt Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.2 mi

Dining

The Cafe Lombardy
The Café Lombardy is a bright and cheerful overlooking James Monroe Park. Our Chef, deights in preparing American inspired continental cuisine using only the freshest selection of ingredients. Please review our menu for a sample of dinner selections.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our International, Board, Venetian and Fortuny Rooms can accommodate up to 60 people For your next function. Our function rooms Are perfect for board meetings, receptions, Executive level business sessions and cocktail parties. For your event we can provide: High-speed data access (all conference rooms), Visual Display Boards, Projection Screens, AV equipment, and Butler service.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (191)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Lombardy

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
191 out of 191
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
irishgreek
Chicago
Oct 12, 2012

Great location and sooo cute!

Great location for walking to many of the sites in DC and to Metro. Bed was very comfortable, room was immaculate and I loved the exrtra "little rooms" (kitchen area and dressing room). In addition, very helpful and polite staff. Great bang for your buck!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Could not find a CVS or any kind of store within walking distance to buy extras to keep in fridge.

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Windsor Heights
Aug 28, 2008

Friendly Staff, Great Location

The staff was very friendly and the hotel was close to Georgetown, the Metro, and the White House.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 27, 2008

Good Location

The hotel is in a very central area of DC and the rooms were nice and clean, but the staff was a little grumpy and slightly unproffesional at the front desk. Even though they did provide cable for the internet I was not able to get online. Other than the grumpy reception I was not at all unhappy with the hotel. For the area and the cleanliness of the rooms, that were also cute in an old world way, I had an excellent value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

For my purposes the hotel was walking distance to all my appointment, and extremely well located to the center of DC. It was near plenty of restaurants and other bussiness points.

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brookings
Jul 5, 2008

Historic hotel

I loved the old elevator with the closing gate. The room was fine although the view was of another building. The bathroom has been remodeled but keeping in the old style. It seems that it is located on a quiet street in the middle of the block so not much traffic to worry about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Greensboro
Jun 8, 2008

Wonderful Hotel!

This hotel was wonderful! The rooms were very large, including a separate galley wet bar area. The bathroom had a small sitting room beside it. It is in a great location not far from a metro stop. There were good restaurants located within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Longwood
May 23, 2008

My review of Hotel Lombardy

It is a quaint old hotel with a lot of charm. The room was in need of a deep cleaning and the furniture could use some improvement.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 11, 2008

Great Place to Stay

My mom and I recently stayed at Hotel Lombardy. This was my first visit to Washington D.C. and based on the hotel's location, it was suggested this was a good choice. It turns out it was a great choice! The staff was very friendly and we were able to get a double room when we checked in. It was very clean, linens were awesome, comfortable bed and overall cozy accomodations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Most everything you'd want to see is in walking distance.

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Apr 18, 2008

My review of Hotel Lombardy

Overall, staying at the Hotel Lombardy in Washington DC was a great experience. The staff greats you at your car and provides valet parking services since parking is very difficult in the area. The front desk staff is very helpful in providing insight as to sightseeing and local attractions. Whats great about the rooms is that the hotel was previously an apartment complex, so each room is large and has a small kitchen area. I would recommend this hotel for any family or business trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

all Washington Monuments

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jacksonville, NC
Mar 28, 2008

Very good old time hospitality.

As a historical hotel, I found it very comfortable, clean, and updated to modern conviencies. The room was spacious, and the bathroom very accomidating. The service was above and beyond what I am use to in other hotels. I did however think the cafe was a little over priced compared to others nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very desirable neighborhood within walking distance to the White House and other attractions. Also the city Circulator bus was convienent for attactions alittle further away.

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Toronto, ON
Mar 24, 2008

close to Metro, quiet area, easy access to most of the sites.

Nice old building, well maintained and clean. Close to two Metro stations, and city center. Not much in area as far as dining spots, but Starbucks around the corner for morning coffee and sweets! Nice room, beddings and bathroom. We would stay there again..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Starbucks for morning coffee if you chose to give the Lombardy cafe a miss. Hotel restaurants were quite pricey so we avoided them and ate elsewhere. Food court in Metro station just up the street is good. Nice area to walk in , seems safe and well maintained. Close to most sites if you are a walker, or Metro if you are not. Helpful staff.

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baltimore, MD
Mar 16, 2008

Great couple getaway

We had an in room couples message that was amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant nextdoor wasn't very good. Georgetown is really close!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search