$124 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 25, 2014 Check-out: Jul 27, 2014

Hotel Lombardy

3 stars
2019 Pennsylvania Avenue Nw, Washington, DC 20006
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
309 reviews
Great Downtown DC Hotel!!!

We have traveled all over the world and this hotel was a great price and value for the downtown DC... See full review

  • Natalia Americana
  • Jun 24, 2014
Very friendly staff

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The staff was first class and my room was perfect! Would... See full review

  • Jeannie Anne
  • May 29, 2014
Foggy Bottom hotel with 1920s European elegance and modern amenities

The Hotel Lombardy was built in 1926 as an apartment building and retains its original character with 1920's decor and elegant interior design. Cafe Lombardy, a European-inspired bistro, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and offers a children's menu. The Venetian Room Bar and Lounge charms guests with its cozy fireplace. Guests can indulge in a glass of wine or a cocktail and a bite to eat from the small plates menu. The hotel is between Georgetown and downtown D.C., and near George Washington University.

Highlights
  • Recognized as a Historic Hotel of America, with 1920s European decor
  • The Venetian Room Bar and Lounge serves wine and cocktails in an elegant setting with exquisite decor and fireplace
  • Near George Washington University
Location

The Hotel Lombardy is located on Pennsylvania Avenue in D.C.'s Foggy Bottom neighborhood and near George Washington University. The hotel is between Georgetown and downtown D.C., within walking distance of many museums and the White House.

Rooms

Rooms at the Hotel Lombardy have original art, Oriental rugs, chrome bathrooms, a stainless steel wet bar and luxury bedding. There are 20 suites with king bed and separate living room with a pull-out sofa bed.

Features

Cafe Lombardy serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and has a children's menu. The Venetian Room Bar and Lounge serves cocktails, wine and small plates. In-room spa services by Relax & Rejuvenate include massage, manicures, pedicures, facials, hair styling and make-up (fees apply). The on-site fitness room has cardio equipment. Guests receive complimentary passes to a nearby hotel pool during summer. High-speed Internet is complimentary. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Foggy Bottom Metro stop (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Regan National Airport (3.6 mi/ 5.8 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (22 mi/ 36 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/ 44 km)
Attractions
  • Dupont Circle (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • The White House (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Georgetown (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • The National Mall (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (0.8 mi/ 1.4 km)
    Washington Monument (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Smithsonian Institution (1.3 mi/ 2.2 km)
  • United States Capitol (2 mi/ 3.3 km)
Business
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet
  • 1,500 square feet of meeting space

Hotel Map

38.9008 -77.0453
Area served
Washington D.C.
Nearby airports
Washington Dulles International Airport Washington Reagan National Airport BWI Airport
Area description
Hotel Lombardy is located in the heart of the Washington DCs business district just four blocks from the White House, four blocks from Historic Georgetown and within one mile of the Smithsonian Museums and the monuments.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Lombardy also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Lombardy Rooms

Suite
One king bed and room amenities include: imported Italian and German fabrics, oriental woolen rugs, original local art, dining area, beautiful chrome and enamel bathrooms, fine bedding and wonderful hand painted silk renderings.
Standard Room
One king bed or two double beds, room amenities include: imported Italian and German fabrics, oriental woolen rugs, original local art, dining area, beautiful chrome and enamel bathrooms, fine bedding and wonderful hand painted silk renderings.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
General
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Department of Treasury: 0.2 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.4 mi
  • Blair House: 0.4 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.5 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Department of State: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.2 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.4 mi
  • Blair House: 0.4 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.5 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Department of State: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.6 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.7 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.9 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.9 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • District of Columbia War Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.9 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • West Potomac Park: 1.1 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Franklin D Roosevelt Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our International, Board, Venetian and Fortuny Rooms can accommodate up to 60 people For your next function. Our function rooms Are perfect for board meetings, receptions, Executive level business sessions and cocktail parties. For your event we can provide: High-speed data access (all conference rooms), Visual Display Boards, Projection Screens, AV equipment, and Butler service.

Dining

The Cafe Lombardy
The Café Lombardy is a bright and cheerful overlooking James Monroe Park. Our Chef, deights in preparing American inspired continental cuisine using only the freshest selection of ingredients. Please review our menu for a sample of dinner selections.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (309)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Lombardy

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
309 out of 309
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Woodbury, CT
May 24, 2011

Very pleasant experience

The staff as the hotel were all very accomodating and exceptional. We were upgraded to a lovely and quaint suite. The hotel's location is great and within walking distance from the major landmarks. The area was beautiful. Very much enjoyed our stay and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice restaurant nearby called Founding Farmers. You must save room for the apple pie dessert!

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, OH
May 8, 2007

Reasonably Priced Hotel in DC

Ended up in this hotel because my normal hotels were booked. It is an old hotel that has been updated and is reasonably priced for DC. Convenient to The White House area. Nothing extraordinary but if you looking for a decent place to stay for a good price this is a good choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cat1900
virginia
Dec 2, 2012

It is very convenient place

It is a great place to stay. everything is clean. the staffs are nice. the restroom is kind of small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Barra da Tijuca, RJ, Brasil
Aug 5, 2011

Nice hotel, although without microwave

The rooms are very confortable with a beautiful furniture. There is a little kitchen, good for fastfoods, but it doens't have microwave, only refrigerator. The employees are very kind. It's a bit far from the National Mall, and you must be a good walker to visit there. However, it's near Georgetown, that you have to visit. It's unforgetable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BriMaes
Long Island, NY
Jun 18, 2014

Super convenient.

Very happy that I decided to book Hotel Lombardy. Great area, wonderful staff, great value. The rooms were a little on the small side, as mentioned by other reviewers, but that didn't bother me at all. Bed was comfy and bathroom was spacious. And the hotel itself is beautiful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dudy
new york city
Nov 2, 2011

staff

This place has a staff other hotels envy. It was our first time here. We have stayed from the Willard and mayflower to the tabard and inbetween, This one will be our DC hotel from now on.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Capitol. They make it easy to go from the senate gallery to the HR gallery and back as many times as you want

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amy - Granny
Wausau, WI
Apr 22, 2009

Great location

elevator at times was slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lady Yoli
Dobbs Ferry, NY
Aug 31, 2010

One of our Favorite Hotels!

We came to DC for the Glenn Beck "Restoring Honor" Rally at the Lincoln Memorial which was just about 10 blocks away. An easy walk and also in close proximity to some great restaurants - Kincaid's is just across the street. We enjoyed another nice dinner in the hotel's Cafe Lombardy and met friends for drinks in the lounge as well. An excellent location for a fantastic event we'll never forget!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kincaid's, Friday's, Starbucks as well as assorted pubs and other fun spots adjacent to the George Washington University campus are just a few blocks away!

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SanFran Visitor
San Francisco, CA
Jun 14, 2009

Overall, a good stay

I read lots of reviews about the hotel and two things stuck out in my mind since people mentioned them often enough: the "loud elevator" and the "rude staff". My stay at the Hotel Lombardy confirmed one of these (the front desk staff really aren't very welcoming) and denied the other (the elevator really isn't that loud, unless you're staying in a room right next to it). Overall, I had a great stay. My room (414) was very small by American standards, but it was cozy, VERY clean (the bathroom was truly spotless, and I looked carefully), and well appointed. We found that by leaving a nice tip each day for the housekeeping staff (advice to all: LEAVE A TIP FOR THE HOUSEKEEPING STAFF!! - they work hard and provide you with a nice service you don't get at home - $3-4 per day is fine) we received nice "extras" - extra chocolates at night, and a general sense that they spent more time cleaning and straightening our room to perfection. Personally, I really liked the elevator. True, you sometimes have to wait for a staff person, but c'mon - relax a little, people! It's hand-driven, small, charming, full of "character" and fun. Don't demand perfection and speed with the elevator and you'll enjoy the unique experience. Since I was on the 4th floor, I often walked up and down the stairs, for exercise. I'm only giving 4 stars (instead of 5) since the front desk reception was not at all welcoming. On two occasions the front desk was staffed by a young woman (different woman each time). One was yapping on the phone (to a friend) when I walked up and did not acknowledge my presence for an uncomfortable 30 seconds until I made an obvious "displeased" hand motion, and the second time there was the barest minimum of a welcoming presence. I really recommend that the Hotel Lombardy management correct this poor service since it starts the customers off on a sour note. Very poor. Aside from the lousy front desk service, everything else is great. Try the Venetian Lounge on the first floor - small, cozy, bar/lounge with a bartender who enjoys people and loves his job (he said this!). Cozy sofas, and romantic nooks tucked away in corners. Within a two-block radius: Bank of America ATM, a wonderful excellent restaurant called Founding Farmers (I ate there THREE times, it was that good) and The George Washington University. The DC Circulator bus (only $1!) stops practically outside the front door of the hotel, at 21st and I streets. Clean, cheap, comfortable, and arrives every 10 minutes to take you to DC's favorite destinations. I really recommend it. Ditch the car and parking hassles, and take this well-designed service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Founding Farmers restaurant at the corner of 20th and Pennsylvania - amazing, locally-grown, organic, healthy food. I ate there THREE times..

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Jun 6, 2010

A lovely historic hotel

The rooms were large and comfortable, with nice historic touches but overall quite modern. The hotel is a few blocks from the Foggy Bottom metro station, a short walk to downtown and a longer walk to Georgetown. I would definitely stay here again on my next visit to DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

You can buy a one-day Metro pass from the fare machines, which is a great deal if you plan to travel around the city. It works all day after 9:30 a.m.

Back to menu Return to top