Hotel Lombardy

3 stars
View map of 2019 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20006

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Lombardy

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
185 out of 185
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
irishgreek
Chicago
Oct 12, 2012

Great location and sooo cute!

Great location for walking to many of the sites in DC and to Metro. Bed was very comfortable, room was immaculate and I loved the exrtra "little rooms" (kitchen area and dressing room). In addition, very helpful and polite staff. Great bang for your buck!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Could not find a CVS or any kind of store within walking distance to buy extras to keep in fridge.

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
snoflake84
Business
new york
Aug 27, 2009

great location, great price, great place

hotel was very nice, the room exceeded expectations and the staff was very friendly and helpful. would definately stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Jersey
Aug 14, 2011

Nice location for the reasonable price

We visited D.C. for multiple purposes, including attending the information session of Gerge Washington Univ. This hotel is conveniently located in a walking distance to the GWU, White House, and a few blocks to Metro Station. The room was clean and cozy, and has a separate eat-in-kitchen-type of space. Since we stayed during Easter holidays, a lot of nearby restaurants and stores were close, and we couldn't take full advantage of this hotel, but still had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chouxie
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 30, 2009

Great location

Historic difference from the chain hotels, great location. Came from a conference hotel in Virginia for a little sightseeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Two blocks away by the Farragut West metro stop is Pret, an organic sandwich/salad place with great fresh food for lunch--and I'm a picky California eater! Fast and easy.

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Modesto, CA
Aug 7, 2010

Great location

Visited the White House. Great location for walking to Lincoln Memorial and White House

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Qwisatz of the First Ones
Business
Tucson AZ
Oct 6, 2009

Good value, only minor annoyances

I did a lot of research before committing to 6 nights here. It paid off. The good: - Historic and well maintained, very clean - Great location, 15 min walk to edge of national mall, 5 min walk to Metro, many good places to eat nearby. - Friendly staff usually there to open the door and always there to operate the ancient elevator. - Price was better than the competition. The bad: - The restaurant was too expensive for my crew - looked nice from afar. - That original elevator is small and slow, the quaintness wears off after a day. - Your floor and the floor above you creak like no tomorrow. Hope that your upstairs neighbor likes to sleep in. - Ice maker was in the basement, so I was told, I never ventured down to verify.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mehtaman
Business
Charlotte, NC
Jun 1, 2009

Awesome except for customer service

This hotel is situated in one of the best areas in DC. The rooms were large, charming, decorated well, and had great furniture. You could tell this was an older hotel, but it felt luxurious. As far as price and location, can't be beat. Things went a bit downhill with customer service, and amenities. Basically all of the staff we came across were indifferent to our needs. There was no energy or desire to make our stay more enjoyable. Late one night the toilet got clogged, overflowed. What did they do, send the bellhop up with towels so that WE could clean it up. Unacceptable. Finally, the amenities were lacking. I guess you could chalk this up to being an old hotel, but there was no fitness center, ice machine, nor pool. And the elevators were old-school mechanically operated ones, so it took a while for them to come around. The bathrooms were too small. Not enough shelf space for our things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Jul 9, 2011

Comfortable Room, A bit pricey

Room was comfortable and clean. At times the a/c didn't work that well and I had a lot of problems with the internet which was very frustrating. The staff was courteous, even amidst me calling them up time and time again to fix the internet...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SanFran Visitor
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 14, 2009

Overall, a good stay

I read lots of reviews about the hotel and two things stuck out in my mind since people mentioned them often enough: the "loud elevator" and the "rude staff". My stay at the Hotel Lombardy confirmed one of these (the front desk staff really aren't very welcoming) and denied the other (the elevator really isn't that loud, unless you're staying in a room right next to it). Overall, I had a great stay. My room (414) was very small by American standards, but it was cozy, VERY clean (the bathroom was truly spotless, and I looked carefully), and well appointed. We found that by leaving a nice tip each day for the housekeeping staff (advice to all: LEAVE A TIP FOR THE HOUSEKEEPING STAFF!! - they work hard and provide you with a nice service you don't get at home - $3-4 per day is fine) we received nice "extras" - extra chocolates at night, and a general sense that they spent more time cleaning and straightening our room to perfection. Personally, I really liked the elevator. True, you sometimes have to wait for a staff person, but c'mon - relax a little, people! It's hand-driven, small, charming, full of "character" and fun. Don't demand perfection and speed with the elevator and you'll enjoy the unique experience. Since I was on the 4th floor, I often walked up and down the stairs, for exercise. I'm only giving 4 stars (instead of 5) since the front desk reception was not at all welcoming. On two occasions the front desk was staffed by a young woman (different woman each time). One was yapping on the phone (to a friend) when I walked up and did not acknowledge my presence for an uncomfortable 30 seconds until I made an obvious "displeased" hand motion, and the second time there was the barest minimum of a welcoming presence. I really recommend that the Hotel Lombardy management correct this poor service since it starts the customers off on a sour note. Very poor. Aside from the lousy front desk service, everything else is great. Try the Venetian Lounge on the first floor - small, cozy, bar/lounge with a bartender who enjoys people and loves his job (he said this!). Cozy sofas, and romantic nooks tucked away in corners. Within a two-block radius: Bank of America ATM, a wonderful excellent restaurant called Founding Farmers (I ate there THREE times, it was that good) and The George Washington University. The DC Circulator bus (only $1!) stops practically outside the front door of the hotel, at 21st and I streets. Clean, cheap, comfortable, and arrives every 10 minutes to take you to DC's favorite destinations. I really recommend it. Ditch the car and parking hassles, and take this well-designed service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Founding Farmers restaurant at the corner of 20th and Pennsylvania - amazing, locally-grown, organic, healthy food. I ate there THREE times..

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 11, 2010

Great location and superb service

the service at the Lombardy is excellent. The staff went out of its way to be helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

great location, with many great dining options nearby.

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BriMaes
Business
Long Island, NY
Jun 18, 2014

Super convenient.

Very happy that I decided to book Hotel Lombardy. Great area, wonderful staff, great value. The rooms were a little on the small side, as mentioned by other reviewers, but that didn't bother me at all. Bed was comfy and bathroom was spacious. And the hotel itself is beautiful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top