$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Hotel Lombardy

3 stars
2019 Pennsylvania Avenue Nw, Washington, DC 20006
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
309 reviews
Great Downtown DC Hotel!!!

We have traveled all over the world and this hotel was a great price and value for the downtown DC... See full review

  • Natalia Americana
  • Jun 24, 2014
Very friendly staff

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The staff was first class and my room was perfect! Would... See full review

  • Jeannie Anne
  • May 29, 2014
Foggy Bottom hotel with 1920s European elegance and modern amenities

The Hotel Lombardy was built in 1926 as an apartment building and retains its original character with 1920's decor and elegant interior design. Cafe Lombardy, a European-inspired bistro, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and offers a children's menu. The Venetian Room Bar and Lounge charms guests with its cozy fireplace. Guests can indulge in a glass of wine or a cocktail and a bite to eat from the small plates menu. The hotel is between Georgetown and downtown D.C., and near George Washington University.

Highlights
  • Recognized as a Historic Hotel of America, with 1920s European decor
  • The Venetian Room Bar and Lounge serves wine and cocktails in an elegant setting with exquisite decor and fireplace
  • Near George Washington University
Location

The Hotel Lombardy is located on Pennsylvania Avenue in D.C.'s Foggy Bottom neighborhood and near George Washington University. The hotel is between Georgetown and downtown D.C., within walking distance of many museums and the White House.

Rooms

Rooms at the Hotel Lombardy have original art, Oriental rugs, chrome bathrooms, a stainless steel wet bar and luxury bedding. There are 20 suites with king bed and separate living room with a pull-out sofa bed.

Features

Cafe Lombardy serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and has a children's menu. The Venetian Room Bar and Lounge serves cocktails, wine and small plates. In-room spa services by Relax & Rejuvenate include massage, manicures, pedicures, facials, hair styling and make-up (fees apply). The on-site fitness room has cardio equipment. Guests receive complimentary passes to a nearby hotel pool during summer. High-speed Internet is complimentary. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Foggy Bottom Metro stop (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Regan National Airport (3.6 mi/ 5.8 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (22 mi/ 36 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/ 44 km)
Attractions
  • Dupont Circle (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • The White House (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Georgetown (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • The National Mall (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (0.8 mi/ 1.4 km)
    Washington Monument (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Smithsonian Institution (1.3 mi/ 2.2 km)
  • United States Capitol (2 mi/ 3.3 km)
Business
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet
  • 1,500 square feet of meeting space

Hotel Map

38.9008 -77.0453
Area served
Washington D.C.
Nearby airports
Washington Dulles International Airport Washington Reagan National Airport BWI Airport
Area description
Hotel Lombardy is located in the heart of the Washington DCs business district just four blocks from the White House, four blocks from Historic Georgetown and within one mile of the Smithsonian Museums and the monuments.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Lombardy also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Lombardy Rooms

Suite
One king bed and room amenities include: imported Italian and German fabrics, oriental woolen rugs, original local art, dining area, beautiful chrome and enamel bathrooms, fine bedding and wonderful hand painted silk renderings.
Standard Room
One king bed or two double beds, room amenities include: imported Italian and German fabrics, oriental woolen rugs, original local art, dining area, beautiful chrome and enamel bathrooms, fine bedding and wonderful hand painted silk renderings.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
General
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Department of Treasury: 0.2 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.4 mi
  • Blair House: 0.4 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.5 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Department of State: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.2 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.4 mi
  • Blair House: 0.4 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.5 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Department of State: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.6 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.7 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.9 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.9 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • District of Columbia War Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.9 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • West Potomac Park: 1.1 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Franklin D Roosevelt Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our International, Board, Venetian and Fortuny Rooms can accommodate up to 60 people For your next function. Our function rooms Are perfect for board meetings, receptions, Executive level business sessions and cocktail parties. For your event we can provide: High-speed data access (all conference rooms), Visual Display Boards, Projection Screens, AV equipment, and Butler service.

Dining

The Cafe Lombardy
The Café Lombardy is a bright and cheerful overlooking James Monroe Park. Our Chef, deights in preparing American inspired continental cuisine using only the freshest selection of ingredients. Please review our menu for a sample of dinner selections.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (309)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Lombardy

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
309 out of 309
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
octang
Walnut, CA
Apr 22, 2013

SUPERB location!!!

Prime location that is only 2 blocks from the White House. It doesn't get any better than this unless you're welling to pay above $400 a night. But why should you when you've found Hotel Lombardy. This hotel is a historic landmark at the center of the city with great restaurants within a couple of blocks. Just to name a few - Circa, District Commons, and Founding Farmers. It's some of the most delicious foods I've eaten in East Coast. Did I mention the bed? It's so comfy. It's in one of the best neighborhoods in Wash. DC and just a short walk from the metro and GWU. Great value and great location!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Circa, District Commons, Founding Farmers and Breadline for breakfast.

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rosella
Horsham, PA
Jul 22, 2014

weekend in DC!

My boyfriend and I really enjoyed staying at this hotel and we would definitely think about staying there next time we go to DC. The room was very clean and tidy. The only thing we didn't like was that the room did not come with an iron/ironing board. We had to requested from the front desk and it took 3 different phone calls for them to bring it up. Everybody was very friendly and helpful! Parking was pricey but it was expected because of the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Natalia Americana
columbus, ohio
Jun 24, 2014

Great Downtown DC Hotel!!!

We have traveled all over the world and this hotel was a great price and value for the downtown DC area. We would recommend it to anyone. it is within walking distance of the mall and the major museums. it is a classic european style hotel, so no huge lobby, but the staff was super nice, the bed was perfect and comfortable. The room and bathroom both were super clean! Wireless internet was fast and reliable, it was a great value for the price! A++++

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Jaleo - Spanish Tapas, the best! you can sit inside or outside sidewalk, spacious modern decor, delicious and great value for each $ spent. not fries and burgers, but REAL tapas and real euro fare. located at 7th street at the corner of E street... then go to the portrait gallery afterwards, you will be amazed by both.

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chiptop
Tucson, AZ
Jun 19, 2014

Oasis of Calm

I enjoyed the old world charm of the hotel, and the vast expanse of bed in my room. My room was immaculate, and the staff was warm and attentive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BriMaes
Long Island, NY
Jun 18, 2014

Super convenient.

Very happy that I decided to book Hotel Lombardy. Great area, wonderful staff, great value. The rooms were a little on the small side, as mentioned by other reviewers, but that didn't bother me at all. Bed was comfy and bathroom was spacious. And the hotel itself is beautiful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jeannie Anne
Crowley, LA
May 29, 2014

Very friendly staff

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The staff was first class and my room was perfect! Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast at Penn Grill-big breakfast, reasonably priced.

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
EC Traveller
NJ
May 28, 2014

Memorial Weekend 2014 Getaway to Nation's Capital

Arrived on Sat. and found out there was a valet parking charge of $36 per day if you want to use that. Luckily, it was over the Memorial weekend so there were many meter parkings available. Just put money until 10 PM on Sat. then it was free on Sun and Memorial day. The hotel is somewhat close to all attractions if you like to walk (20+ min) You have to walk to all the museums anyway so the location was great. Room was smaller than what I expected; just some space around one king size bed but bathroom was big enough. Bed, desk, bathtub, sink, etc were all clean and nice. It was just small than I expected. No ice machine, you have to call the room service but the staffs were nice. I got a great deal to book this so it was good for me. I would recommend this hotel to all travellers who are looking for nice hotel to stay in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tourist Kim
Toledo, Ohio
May 2, 2014

Disappointing

I stayed here with my mom and sister when we came to Washington to meet my dad, who was visiting the WWII memorial on the Honor Flight. We had a king suite, which included 2 rooms. The "kitchenette" was nothing more than a closet with a small fridge and a coffee pot. The rooms were extremely small and the power went out every time we used a hair dryer. The king bed was very comfortable, however the pull out bed was so bad that my sister just closed it up and slept on the sofa. The staff was very nice even though we were constantly calling them (power is out, you haven't cleaned our room yet and we need towels, we need bedding for the pull out couch, etc) Overall, the hotel was just "OK" but for what we had paid for it, we expected much more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

The DC After Dark tour was great!

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Glass Guy
Newton MA
Apr 29, 2014

Fantastic Vacation

The Hotel and staff were great Old world ambiance with a modern touch. The location can't be beat,so convenient to the Metro and the sites. Would absolutely return and recommend for families for trip to DC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Monuments : Lincoln,Korean,Viet Nam,MLK

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jsteies
Business
minneapolis, minnesota
Apr 29, 2014

Hotel Lombardy

The Hotel Lombardy was a cute spot just west of the White House. Room was great and the staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lombardy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1st Timer DC
Washington, DC
Apr 24, 2014

Great place to stay!

We enjoyed our stay at the Lombardy Hotel. It is a small quaint,quiet historic hotel in a great location close to the sites and restaurants. The hotel is clean and comfortable with friendly staff that can't do enough for you. Our room had 2 comfy double beds with a bonus sitting/kitchen area sporting a coffee maker, small sink and a roomy under-counter fridge with a stocked bar. We greatly appreciated the nightly complimentary waters delivered by housekeeping, It was a nice touch after a hot and busy day touring the sites.I would definitely recommend staying at the Lombardy Hotel on your next visit to DC,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top