$98 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2014 Check-out: Aug 30, 2014

Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE

3 stars
1501 RHODE ISLAND AVE NW, Washington, DC 20005
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
345 reviews
Great hotel

Nice hotel to be in DC downtown, nothing to complain about See full review

  • Tanispro
  • Feb 17, 2014
Just what I needed

I was looking for an inexpensive hotel in DC, and was pleased with the rate for this Holiday Inn. I... See full review

  • Wisco Superdad
  • Apr 24, 2013
Central District hotel near tourist attractions, convention center

The Holiday Inn Washington-Central is located near the White House and the Washington D.C. Convention Center, making it popular with tourists and business travelers. The hotel has a seasonal rooftop pool with a panoramic view of D.C. Business travelers value the complimentary high-speed Internet access, work desk, and comfortable chair in-room. The Avenue Café and Lounge serves deluxe buffets seasonally, for breakfast and dinner, and kids eat free.

Highlights
  • Rooftop pool with panoramic view of D.C.
  • On-site restaurant where kids eat free
  • Near White House, convention center
Location

The Holiday Inn Washington-Central is six from the White House and convention center and a half-mile from Dupont Circle Metro, shops and restaurants.

Rooms

The rooms at the Holiday Inn Washington-Central have traditional furniture, a work desk, 37-inch HD televisions, mahogany wood and Italian marble bathrooms. Guests have access to complimentary wireless, high-speed Internet access in all rooms. Coffee makers and mini fridges are available.

Features

Kids eat free at the on-site Avenue Cafe and Lounge. The restaurant serves American cuisine with deluxe buffets served seasonally for breakfast and dinner. The rooftop pool has a view of the city. Find cardio equipment and weights at the on-site fitness center. Parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Dupont Circle Metro stop (0.4 mi/ 0.7 km)
  • Regan National Airport (4 mi/ 6.5 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (23 mi/ 37 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/ 44 km)
Attractions
  • Dupont Circle (0.4 mi/ 0.7 km)
  • Washington Convention Center (0.7 mi/ 1.1 km)
  • The White House (0.7 mi/ 1.1 km)
  • The National Mall (1.1 mi/ 1.8 km)
  • Washington Monument (1.3 mi/ 2.1 km)
  • Georgetown (1.3 mi/ 2.2 km)
  • United States Capitol (1.7 mi/ 2.8 km)
  • Union Station (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
Business
  • Business kiosk
  • Meeting space for groups of 5 to 150
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet

Hotel Map

38.9081 -77.035
Nearby airports
Unioon Stattion DC - Amtrak, (DCA), 3.80, MI, N; Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA), (IAD), 28.00, MI, E; Baltimore Washington International (BWI), (BWI), 36.00, MI, SW;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Safe
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Studio Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.3 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.3 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.9 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.9 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 1 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 1 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 1 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Verizon Center: 1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.1 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 1.1 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 1.2 mi
  • National Building Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 1.2 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.2 mi
  • Howard University: 1.2 mi
  • National Archives: 1.2 mi
  • Department of State: 1.3 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.3 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1.3 mi

Dining

Avenue Cafe Lounge
Relax in our comfortable Lounge located at the Lobby level of the Hotel. Enjoy a Specialty Drink.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (345)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
161 out of 345
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DC vacation
Portland Oregon
Jul 4, 2014

Not up to expectations

Our room 910 was small due to elevator shaft taking up a large area, also very noisy due to talking, they could not move us right away b/c 100% sold out. The hotel was very populated and caused very slow elevator service. The front desk was polite, but showed little concern that I felt let down related to the stay. My thought is why ask how my stay was when they really don't care. I would not recommend staying at the Holiday Inn Capital. Also it is really too far to walk to the museums although

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Erin G.
Minnesota
Jun 26, 2014

Great hotel

I have no complaints about this hotel. The rooms were big and clean. The bed was comfortable and the fridge and safe were a nice touch. The hotel restaurant had great food and the staff was very friendly. The roof top pool was also clean and refreshing. The only part that was less than ideal was the location. It was a bit farther away from the monuments than I expected, but still within walking distance. We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kakes123
New Jersey
May 19, 2014

Needs updating

Broken sink, clogged tub, leaking air conditioner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tahimokenamo
Washington DC
Apr 21, 2014

Good stay

Location was good and I could go to any destination by bus. Whole Foods was very close. My only disappointment is that there was no hair conditioner in the bathroom on the first night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Museum of Natural History

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
51's Mom
Kansas City, Missouri
Mar 21, 2014

Great Location

This hotel is in a safe neighborhood and close to the major sight seeing locations. We walked to the National Mall from there. You can also walk to the metro and they have underground parking available. The staff was friendly and helpful. The laundry room was clean and nice. There was a Whole Foods around the corner if you want to get some snacks and places to eat as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Philly Phillip
Philadelphia
Sep 2, 2013

Ok

Great location, building is in need of renovations, elevators small and slow, check in process was a bit confusing...I guess reserving 2 rooms was a first for the staff. I will not recommend this hotel to a friend because there are much better hotels in the same immediate area for a few dollars more a night, but if you are just looking for a place to crash after a fun night at the near bars and don't care much about appearances, then this may be for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wisco Superdad
Madison, WI
Apr 24, 2013

Just what I needed

I was looking for an inexpensive hotel in DC, and was pleased with the rate for this Holiday Inn. I knew going into it the amenities put it at a three-star hotel, but honestly the execution of that was perfect. I really feel like the staff made my stay excellent, from the front desk, to the room staff, to the restaurant that served up a delicious meal. I remember remarking a couple of times that for the price I felt the hotel was really wonderful. If you're looking for top-tier features, look elsewhere. But really a clean room, GREAT service, good food and relatively close distance to downtown DC (about a $8 cab ride), this hotel was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you plan to travel a lot in the city, get a metro pass. The bus system is super fast and has constant stops. You'll spend way less than using taxis.

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DLC0629
Washington dc
Aug 20, 2012

Holiday inn Washington central/white house

We found a mouse in one of our rooms on 8/19. After speaking with management they have agreed not to charge us for our remaining nights. They told us we needed to contact you for a refund. Please let me know what I need to do. Thanks, Diane Crawford

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JJG24
NYC
Aug 13, 2012

Washington White House Visit

The staff at the hotel were exceptionally friendly and nice and I would recommend this hotel to others. My only issue is that we were put in a smoking room. Might not be their fault. Restaurant breakfast was very good. Rooftop pool a bit on the small side but great views of National Cathedral and surrounding area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Georgetown Cupcakes really was the highlight of the trip for my daughter, but for the rest of the family the walk down M Street to Georgetown was itself worth the time and effort.

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DeanF
Utah
Jul 17, 2012

Four day "touristry" stay.

Great breakfast buffet, loved the room service, friendly staff, and much appreciated the complimentary washers & dryers, which came in handy when we got soaked coming back 5 blocks from McPherson Square Metro stop in a downpour. Elevators a bit small and sluggish and some beverage vending machines didn't cool drinks--but overall, a great value. Pool hours limited if you anticipate using pool to exercise either early (not open til 10) or later in the day (crowded and closed at dusk).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Take advantage of eating at the hotel breakfast buffet--great selection, well-staffed, and reasonably priced (by DC standards)... worth waiting to get seated.

Back to menu Return to top