$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 20, 2014 Check-out: Nov 22, 2014

Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE

3 stars
1501 RHODE ISLAND AVE NW, Washington, DC 20005
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
208 reviews
Convenient access to historical sites

very good. Staff was helpful with any questions asked. room always clean. Good locate.on See full review

  • Trsvelin' Mom
  • Oct 15, 2014
beautiful and clean !!!! perfect for us

we enjoy our visit to washington DC and this hotel is in a good location but i really walked like 6... See full review

  • angel hernandez
  • Oct 7, 2014
Central District hotel near tourist attractions, convention center

The Holiday Inn Washington-Central is located near the White House and the Washington D.C. Convention Center, making it popular with tourists and business travelers. The hotel has a seasonal rooftop pool with a panoramic view of D.C. Business travelers value the complimentary high-speed Internet access, work desk, and comfortable chair in-room. The Avenue Café and Lounge serves deluxe buffets seasonally, for breakfast and dinner, and kids eat free.

Highlights
  • Rooftop pool with panoramic view of D.C.
  • On-site restaurant where kids eat free
  • Near White House, convention center
Location

The Holiday Inn Washington-Central is six from the White House and convention center and a half-mile from Dupont Circle Metro, shops and restaurants.

Rooms

The rooms at the Holiday Inn Washington-Central have traditional furniture, a work desk, 37-inch HD televisions, mahogany wood and Italian marble bathrooms. Guests have access to complimentary wireless, high-speed Internet access in all rooms. Coffee makers and mini fridges are available.

Features

Kids eat free at the on-site Avenue Cafe and Lounge. The restaurant serves American cuisine with deluxe buffets served seasonally for breakfast and dinner. The rooftop pool has a view of the city. Find cardio equipment and weights at the on-site fitness center. Parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Dupont Circle Metro stop (0.4 mi/ 0.7 km)
  • Regan National Airport (4 mi/ 6.5 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (23 mi/ 37 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/ 44 km)
Attractions
  • Dupont Circle (0.4 mi/ 0.7 km)
  • Washington Convention Center (0.7 mi/ 1.1 km)
  • The White House (0.7 mi/ 1.1 km)
  • The National Mall (1.1 mi/ 1.8 km)
  • Washington Monument (1.3 mi/ 2.1 km)
  • Georgetown (1.3 mi/ 2.2 km)
  • United States Capitol (1.7 mi/ 2.8 km)
  • Union Station (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
Business
  • Business kiosk
  • Meeting space for groups of 5 to 150
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet

Hotel Map

38.9081 -77.035
Nearby airports
Baltimore Washington International (BWI), (BWI), 36.00, MI, SW; Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA), (DCA), 3.80, MI, N; Washington Dulles International (IAD), (IAD), 28.00, MI, E;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Studio Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.3 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.3 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.9 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.9 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 1 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 1 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 1 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Verizon Center: 1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.1 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 1.1 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 1.2 mi
  • National Building Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 1.2 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.2 mi
  • Howard University: 1.2 mi
  • National Archives: 1.2 mi
  • Department of State: 1.3 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.3 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1.3 mi

Dining

Avenue Cafe Lounge
Relax in our comfortable Lounge located at the Lobby level of the Hotel. Enjoy a Specialty Drink.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (208)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
208 out of 208
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tanispro
Business
Switzerland
Feb 17, 2014

Great hotel

Nice hotel to be in DC downtown, nothing to complain about

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 16, 2007

Very Friendly

While the accomodations were wonderful, the other front desk and cafe staff made our trip great. They all went the extra mile by talking with us and asking us about our day. We could tell they truly enjoyed their jobs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

We enjoy walking on vacations just to take in the atmosphere. While The White House, monuments, Capitol and The Mall were a long distance away, we enjoyed the walk. However, if walking is not your thing, we were just a few blocks from the metro.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 20, 2007

Very friendly hotel and restaurant staff.

This hotel was in a convenient location, although the underground parking was a bit unnerving due to the tight spaces. The staff was friendly, helpful and attentive. My children ate free in the restaurant, which had outstanding food. Everything about this hotel was fabulous except for 2 things. The beds need new mattresses (uncomfortable) and the air-conditioning was noisy. Overall, our two-day visit was nice and we would stay at his Holiday Inn again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Great breakfast and dinner at the hotel restaurant. Try the french-onion soup...delicious!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Jul 23, 2007

Great location, Nice Amenities

This Holiday Inn is very well located on a beautiful block and near many nice restaurants. The pool area is clean and well-maintained; the hotel staff very friendly and helpful. I would certainly stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great neighborhoods with wonderful ethnic and American fare very close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 27, 2007

Very family friendly

This was the first time my family and I visited Washington DC. We were very satisfied with our hotel. The staff was very friendly. We were given so much information on the city. Our hotel room was very spacious and the location was very good. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 6, 2007

Good all-around hotel

I did like that there was a second sink and vanity separate from the bathroom- makes it easier for a family since we had 4 people in the room. Was also impressed with the lifeguards on duty at the pool. Was a little longer walk to metro stop than expected. Staff was very helpful when we had to check in very late (actually early morning) due to airline delays.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There was an excellent restaurant recommended by one of the hotel staff a few blocks away (called Trio). Delicious vriety of food at reasonable prices. Italian dishes were especially good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
xiomy
Business
New York, NY
Apr 8, 2011

Slept like I was in my own bed

When we first got to the hotel we were told there were no available non-smoking rooms. I was upset but the receptionist ensured us the rooms were renovated but if we had any problems they would change our room in the morning. We walked into the rooms and they smelled great. No trace of smoke, except in the hallway. The room was clean and very modern. My family and I requested 2 rooms and the rooms were connecting rooms. This was the best part of our stay, not needing to walk out into the stinky hallway to talk to each other. The hotel was also close to all the historical sites, we walked everywhere. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
elmalo
Business
Richmond, VA, USA
Jan 3, 2012

awesome!

I had an awesome time in this hotel. Great people, close to everything, clean rooms and sweet breakfast buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

18th street lounge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
martchiella
Business
Boston
Aug 21, 2012

Amazing experience, great location!

We had the best time at this hotel! We arrived earlier and they let us check in before. We did have an issue with a small leak, but they moved us right away into a different room and gave us coupons for free breakfast. The location was PERFECT and everything value+ price was a 5 star. I def. would come back there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

White House

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
royzhang
Business
bowling green oh
Apr 22, 2013

good location

some of staff in front desk are really aggressive, when you ask her where is the historical site, he will probably tell you in a unpleasure manner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

5 minuts walking in the east side of hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top