$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 20, 2015 Check-out: Mar 21, 2015

Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE

3 stars
View map of 1501 RHODE ISLAND AVE NW, Washington, DC 20005

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
210 reviews
Convenient access to historical sites

very good. Staff was helpful with any questions asked. room always clean. Good locate.on See full review

  • Trsvelin' Mom
  • Oct 15, 2014
beautiful and clean !!!! perfect for us

we enjoy our visit to washington DC and this hotel is in a good location but i really walked like 6... See full review

  • angel hernandez
  • Oct 7, 2014
Central District hotel near tourist attractions, convention center

The Holiday Inn Washington-Central is located near the White House and the Washington D.C. Convention Center, making it popular with tourists and business travelers. The hotel has a seasonal rooftop pool with a panoramic view of D.C. Business travelers value the complimentary high-speed Internet access, work desk, and comfortable chair in-room. The Avenue Café and Lounge serves deluxe buffets seasonally, for breakfast and dinner, and kids eat free.

Highlights
  • Rooftop pool with panoramic view of D.C.
  • On-site restaurant where kids eat free
  • Near White House, convention center
Location

The Holiday Inn Washington-Central is six from the White House and convention center and a half-mile from Dupont Circle Metro, shops and restaurants.

Rooms

The rooms at the Holiday Inn Washington-Central have traditional furniture, a work desk, 37-inch HD televisions, mahogany wood and Italian marble bathrooms. Guests have access to complimentary wireless, high-speed Internet access in all rooms. Coffee makers and mini fridges are available.

Features

Kids eat free at the on-site Avenue Cafe and Lounge. The restaurant serves American cuisine with deluxe buffets served seasonally for breakfast and dinner. The rooftop pool has a view of the city. Find cardio equipment and weights at the on-site fitness center. Parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Dupont Circle Metro stop (0.4 mi/ 0.7 km)
  • Regan National Airport (4 mi/ 6.5 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (23 mi/ 37 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/ 44 km)
Attractions
  • Dupont Circle (0.4 mi/ 0.7 km)
  • Washington Convention Center (0.7 mi/ 1.1 km)
  • The White House (0.7 mi/ 1.1 km)
  • The National Mall (1.1 mi/ 1.8 km)
  • Washington Monument (1.3 mi/ 2.1 km)
  • Georgetown (1.3 mi/ 2.2 km)
  • United States Capitol (1.7 mi/ 2.8 km)
  • Union Station (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
Business
  • Business kiosk
  • Meeting space for groups of 5 to 150
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Studio Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.3 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.3 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.9 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.9 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 1 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 1 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 1 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Verizon Center: 1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.1 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 1.1 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 1.2 mi
  • National Building Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 1.2 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.2 mi
  • Howard University: 1.2 mi
  • National Archives: 1.2 mi
  • Department of State: 1.3 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.3 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1.3 mi

Dining

Avenue Cafe Lounge
Relax in our comfortable Lounge located at the Lobby level of the Hotel. Enjoy a Specialty Drink.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (210)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
210 out of 210
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Bruno, CA
May 25, 2011

Getaway

Staff very helpful especially [...]!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mirion
Business
michigan
May 15, 2011

friendly staff

This hotel had a very friendly staff. The underground parking was a little tight. I would not want to drive a big car down there. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The location was in a safe neighborhood. The walk to the national mall was a bit far.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wilmington, DE
Apr 27, 2011

Great price and location

We did a tour through the White House. The hotel was close and we had a great price. They were also very accomomidating with my son who is in a wheelchair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great walking distance to White House a little too long for some of the Smithsonian museaums.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NNN
Business
Ireland
Apr 26, 2011

Good location

Kids eat free was advertised by the hotel but this was a bit of a rip off as the kids had to eat from a special menu which would not satisfy a 14 Year Old! The breakfast was very good - lots of fresh fruit, salmon, bacon etc

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stoney's, just nearby was great value with great food. Children were welcome.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Richard -
Business
Sacramento California
Apr 25, 2011

Good Location Away from the craziness

We liked the location especially well it is not touristy but there are attractions nearby, some well known - (The National Geographic Museum, St Matthews Church) and some not so well known - (the Foundry Church etc.). It is well worth the short walk to the metro stations to stay in this neighborhood. It is a neighborhood mostly of locals and local restaurants, and there are a wide variety of restaurants nearby. The two metro stations give you access to three metro lines which is very handy. In a seven day period we were able to see just about everything we had planned to see and we traveled only on foot or by metro. I have stayed at other hotels in D.C. but I do prefer this one. As for the hotel staff, we found them to be friendly, helpful, and pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the local restaurants, e.g. "Georgia Brown', "Skewers".

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Apr 23, 2011

easter weekend getaway

We went to Washington DC to sightsee all the great monuments and museums, so we wanted a hotel that was conveniently located to the sights and was clean. The room for four people is extremely small and the bathroom is even smaller. You could hear all the people walking passed the room, even when the room door was closed. The hotel was ok but I wouldn't go back there.For the price that we paid, there were a lot of other hotels in the area at the same star rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many good restaurants within walking distance that are much better quality than the hotel restaurant. If you want to stay in and order room service, rather go to the hotel lobby and look up all the restaurants that deliver to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
xiomy
Business
New York, NY
Apr 8, 2011

Slept like I was in my own bed

When we first got to the hotel we were told there were no available non-smoking rooms. I was upset but the receptionist ensured us the rooms were renovated but if we had any problems they would change our room in the morning. We walked into the rooms and they smelled great. No trace of smoke, except in the hallway. The room was clean and very modern. My family and I requested 2 rooms and the rooms were connecting rooms. This was the best part of our stay, not needing to walk out into the stinky hallway to talk to each other. The hotel was also close to all the historical sites, we walked everywhere. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 8, 2011

Great Location for Tourists

This hotel is in a perfect location for tourists who are interested in walking around Washington, DC. It's less than a 10 minute walk to the White House, and 10-15 minutes more to the Capitol and Smithsonian museums. The hotel is clean and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. An added feature is the Whole Foods store a block away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

For the money and health conscious tourists, we found eating the heavier meal in one of the museum cafeterias, followed by a small dinner at Whole Foods, was the perfect way to go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 6, 2011

Holiday Inn White House

We have stayed at Holiday Inn White House several times over the past four years. The staff is efficient and very friendly. The rooms are clean and spacious. We are in walking distance of the White House, the National Mall, and the Smithsonian Museums. There are many great ethnic restaurants in walking distance of this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Estadio, 1520 14th St. NW--a tapas bar with flair! Delicioso!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Yorktown, Va
Apr 2, 2011

It's OK

[...]I was told that my price includes parking fee. But hotel associated said parking fee is separate. He gave a one time wave but I wasn't happy about this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try Liberty Tavern in Arlington. It's good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top