$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE

3 stars
1501 RHODE ISLAND AVE NW, Washington, DC 20005
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
209 reviews
Convenient access to historical sites

very good. Staff was helpful with any questions asked. room always clean. Good locate.on See full review

  • Trsvelin' Mom
  • Oct 15, 2014
beautiful and clean !!!! perfect for us

we enjoy our visit to washington DC and this hotel is in a good location but i really walked like 6... See full review

  • angel hernandez
  • Oct 7, 2014
Central District hotel near tourist attractions, convention center

The Holiday Inn Washington-Central is located near the White House and the Washington D.C. Convention Center, making it popular with tourists and business travelers. The hotel has a seasonal rooftop pool with a panoramic view of D.C. Business travelers value the complimentary high-speed Internet access, work desk, and comfortable chair in-room. The Avenue Café and Lounge serves deluxe buffets seasonally, for breakfast and dinner, and kids eat free.

Highlights
  • Rooftop pool with panoramic view of D.C.
  • On-site restaurant where kids eat free
  • Near White House, convention center
Location

The Holiday Inn Washington-Central is six from the White House and convention center and a half-mile from Dupont Circle Metro, shops and restaurants.

Rooms

The rooms at the Holiday Inn Washington-Central have traditional furniture, a work desk, 37-inch HD televisions, mahogany wood and Italian marble bathrooms. Guests have access to complimentary wireless, high-speed Internet access in all rooms. Coffee makers and mini fridges are available.

Features

Kids eat free at the on-site Avenue Cafe and Lounge. The restaurant serves American cuisine with deluxe buffets served seasonally for breakfast and dinner. The rooftop pool has a view of the city. Find cardio equipment and weights at the on-site fitness center. Parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Dupont Circle Metro stop (0.4 mi/ 0.7 km)
  • Regan National Airport (4 mi/ 6.5 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (23 mi/ 37 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/ 44 km)
Attractions
  • Dupont Circle (0.4 mi/ 0.7 km)
  • Washington Convention Center (0.7 mi/ 1.1 km)
  • The White House (0.7 mi/ 1.1 km)
  • The National Mall (1.1 mi/ 1.8 km)
  • Washington Monument (1.3 mi/ 2.1 km)
  • Georgetown (1.3 mi/ 2.2 km)
  • United States Capitol (1.7 mi/ 2.8 km)
  • Union Station (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
Business
  • Business kiosk
  • Meeting space for groups of 5 to 150
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Studio Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.3 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.3 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.9 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.9 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 1 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 1 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 1 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Verizon Center: 1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.1 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 1.1 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 1.2 mi
  • National Building Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 1.2 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.2 mi
  • Howard University: 1.2 mi
  • National Archives: 1.2 mi
  • Department of State: 1.3 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.3 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1.3 mi

Dining

Avenue Cafe Lounge
Relax in our comfortable Lounge located at the Lobby level of the Hotel. Enjoy a Specialty Drink.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (209)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
209 out of 209
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Buzz432
Business
Colorado, USA
Apr 3, 2012

Good all the way around1

No complaints. It fullfilled our wishes. I don't have anything more to say.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Good food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DC Travel
Business
Non disclosed
Mar 24, 2012

Very Nice Stay

I enjoyed my stay. It was a good stay with great staff. The workout room was pretty decent as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. DC
Business
New York, NY, USA
Mar 20, 2012

GREAT HOTEL

This hotel is located in the heart of the city, you are a short walk away from the white house and the national mall, and very close to great restaurants. The hotel seems fairly new and is very clean. The staff is extremely nice and helpful too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurants are located on 14ht and 17th streets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DC Travel
Business
Non disclosed
Jan 14, 2012

Very comfortable stay

It was nice! The staff is very friendly and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
elmalo
Business
Richmond, VA, USA
Jan 3, 2012

awesome!

I had an awesome time in this hotel. Great people, close to everything, clean rooms and sweet breakfast buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

18th street lounge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lil Rob
Business
Richmond, VA, USA
Jan 3, 2012

New Year

Me and friends were in town for New Years mostly to party. This hotel was great because of its location and the price. Very nice hotel and was walking distance to everything especially the nite clubs. The only problem I had was that the bathroom is tiny and it would of been nice if my room had a fridge. Other than that it was a great hotel and would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gmoney1966
Business
Charlottesville, VA, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Holiday inn DC

Was just what I needed for an overnight/wknd stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
drsalt
Business
St Louis, MO, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Holiday Inn Central

This is a fine hotel for the location and the price. It is totally adequate for a visit for one or two people. My room had a TV watching room attached which I did not have time to use as I was in meetings on K street all the time I was there except for sleeping. It fit my needs well. It was a long walk in the rain to my meeting place on K St., but I don't blame the weather. It was hard to get a cab that day as everyone was waiting for one--so I walked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I ate at McCormick's at 16th and K on the way to the hotel. It is pricy, but very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Nov 2, 2011

Good for vacation

Stayed a week at this hotel. Room was good size, well furnished, bed comfy. Staff was excellent! However after location, amentities are high on the list. I spent the week there for business and the hotel offered complimentary wifi which is critical for me on business trips. The wifi was horrible. If I was lucky to get on at all, page loading went from minutes to hours and forget even trying to get email. Thank fully I have an iPhone so there was a work around. Excellent hotel for the location, price and staff so good for vacation, business on the other hand maybe not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are tons of good restaurants and bars in the immediate area. One shouldn't be bored.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marg N
Business
Whitesboro, NY, USA
Oct 21, 2011

Terrific staff

We were 4 women in 2 rooms. The staff was courteous, friendly and extremely helpful. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfy. Would recommend the hotel's breakfast buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Make use of the Metrorail or taxi's when possible because it saves time to use for the many attractions available.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top