$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 4, 2014 Check-out: Oct 5, 2014

Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE

3 stars
1501 RHODE ISLAND AVE NW, Washington, DC 20005
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
203 reviews
Great hotel

Nice hotel to be in DC downtown, nothing to complain about See full review

  • Tanispro
  • Feb 17, 2014
Just what I needed

I was looking for an inexpensive hotel in DC, and was pleased with the rate for this Holiday Inn. I... See full review

  • Wisco Superdad
  • Apr 24, 2013
Central District hotel near tourist attractions, convention center

The Holiday Inn Washington-Central is located near the White House and the Washington D.C. Convention Center, making it popular with tourists and business travelers. The hotel has a seasonal rooftop pool with a panoramic view of D.C. Business travelers value the complimentary high-speed Internet access, work desk, and comfortable chair in-room. The Avenue Café and Lounge serves deluxe buffets seasonally, for breakfast and dinner, and kids eat free.

Highlights
  • Rooftop pool with panoramic view of D.C.
  • On-site restaurant where kids eat free
  • Near White House, convention center
Location

The Holiday Inn Washington-Central is six from the White House and convention center and a half-mile from Dupont Circle Metro, shops and restaurants.

Rooms

The rooms at the Holiday Inn Washington-Central have traditional furniture, a work desk, 37-inch HD televisions, mahogany wood and Italian marble bathrooms. Guests have access to complimentary wireless, high-speed Internet access in all rooms. Coffee makers and mini fridges are available.

Features

Kids eat free at the on-site Avenue Cafe and Lounge. The restaurant serves American cuisine with deluxe buffets served seasonally for breakfast and dinner. The rooftop pool has a view of the city. Find cardio equipment and weights at the on-site fitness center. Parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Dupont Circle Metro stop (0.4 mi/ 0.7 km)
  • Regan National Airport (4 mi/ 6.5 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (23 mi/ 37 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/ 44 km)
Attractions
  • Dupont Circle (0.4 mi/ 0.7 km)
  • Washington Convention Center (0.7 mi/ 1.1 km)
  • The White House (0.7 mi/ 1.1 km)
  • The National Mall (1.1 mi/ 1.8 km)
  • Washington Monument (1.3 mi/ 2.1 km)
  • Georgetown (1.3 mi/ 2.2 km)
  • United States Capitol (1.7 mi/ 2.8 km)
  • Union Station (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
Business
  • Business kiosk
  • Meeting space for groups of 5 to 150
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet

Hotel Map

38.9081 -77.035
Nearby airports
Baltimore Washington International (BWI), (BWI), 36.00, MI; Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA), (DCA), 3.80, MI; Washington Dulles International (IAD), (IAD), 28.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Studio Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.3 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.3 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.9 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.9 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 1 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 1 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 1 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Verizon Center: 1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.1 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 1.1 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 1.2 mi
  • National Building Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 1.2 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.2 mi
  • Howard University: 1.2 mi
  • National Archives: 1.2 mi
  • Department of State: 1.3 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.3 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1.3 mi

Dining

Avenue Cafe Lounge
Relax in our comfortable Lounge located at the Lobby level of the Hotel. Enjoy a Specialty Drink.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (203)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
203 out of 203
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LG from Chicago
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 9, 2012

Decently-priced DC hotel

Excellent location for my business meeting and close to Metro for travel from airport. Good value for DC. Comfortable room. Elevators slow and couldn't get all TV channels listed on the guide in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lr66
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Nov 7, 2012

Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE

It needs maintenance. It´s far from the metro. It's very simple vs the cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jessica17
Haverford, PA
Aug 25, 2012

great central location

This holiday inn is ideally located in the central dc. We did not have any problem getting to places. Food at the restaurant in the lobby floor is terrible. Bad presentation and too salty. Staff in the lobby are horrible. Unfriendly and short tempered. I don't understand why they are working in service providing job. They were easily irritated and gave us attitude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
martchiella
Boston
Aug 21, 2012

Amazing experience, great location!

We had the best time at this hotel! We arrived earlier and they let us check in before. We did have an issue with a small leak, but they moved us right away into a different room and gave us coupons for free breakfast. The location was PERFECT and everything value+ price was a 5 star. I def. would come back there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

White House

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DLC0629
Washington dc
Aug 20, 2012

Holiday inn Washington central/white house

We found a mouse in one of our rooms on 8/19. After speaking with management they have agreed not to charge us for our remaining nights. They told us we needed to contact you for a refund. Please let me know what I need to do. Thanks, Diane Crawford

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JJG24
NYC
Aug 13, 2012

Washington White House Visit

The staff at the hotel were exceptionally friendly and nice and I would recommend this hotel to others. My only issue is that we were put in a smoking room. Might not be their fault. Restaurant breakfast was very good. Rooftop pool a bit on the small side but great views of National Cathedral and surrounding area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Georgetown Cupcakes really was the highlight of the trip for my daughter, but for the rest of the family the walk down M Street to Georgetown was itself worth the time and effort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DeanF
Utah
Jul 17, 2012

Four day "touristry" stay.

Great breakfast buffet, loved the room service, friendly staff, and much appreciated the complimentary washers & dryers, which came in handy when we got soaked coming back 5 blocks from McPherson Square Metro stop in a downpour. Elevators a bit small and sluggish and some beverage vending machines didn't cool drinks--but overall, a great value. Pool hours limited if you anticipate using pool to exercise either early (not open til 10) or later in the day (crowded and closed at dusk).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Take advantage of eating at the hotel breakfast buffet--great selection, well-staffed, and reasonably priced (by DC standards)... worth waiting to get seated.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
K.M. and R. M.
Westbrook, Maine
Jul 12, 2012

getaway trip

The staff were very helpful, the sunset from the rooftop pool was beautiful and best of all no bedbugs!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Steve K NC
Business
NC
Jun 28, 2012

Holiday Inn DC Central

Serviceable for a business stay. Lots of tourists. Small but OK room. Good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CENTRAL/WHITE HOUSE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carolyn and Casey
South Carolina
Jun 11, 2012

Great location. Great experience.

This was a really nice hotel... you could tell it was old, but not run down, with a lot of charm. We never made it up to the pool, but I'm sure it was a great view. The room service/cleanliness was amazing and they really did a great job each day. I loved the location too, you are close to several Metro stations and only about 15 min walk from the Smithsonians. I was there on business at NIH, so the Red Line was easy for me, my husband was there for fun and so gallivanted around the city during the day, and we would find a new adventurous place for dinner each night. Plenty of great food options within a 10 min walk, and a Whole Foods close by too. (LOGANtavern, Black's Pearl Dive, and Veranda were our favorites for dining) The staff were always friendly and helpful. The internet was a little slow and frustrating. The only thing that was missing was a fitness center, but to be honest I didn't have time to go to one, and the walking was great exercise :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search