$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 25, 2015 Check-out: Apr 26, 2015

Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

3 stars
View map of 550 "C" Street S.W., Washington, DC 20024

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
293 reviews
family trip

the location was great. the hotel was clean . the staff members were great. the restaurant was... See full review

  • Larisa O.
  • Apr 10, 2015
Awesome stay! 10's across the board

I loved being in this Hotel. I don't have any complaints. Top notch staff. Everyone was very... See full review

  • Dina S.
  • Apr 6, 2015
Downtown hotel near the National Mall, museums and monuments

The Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol is in a prime location for visitors who want to be close to the Capitol Hill, National Mall and museums. Two Metro stations are nearby. Many rooms have microwaves and mini fridges. Kids eat for free at the on-site restaurant. The hotel lounge features live music. Cool off or relax by the seasonal rooftop pool and take in the view of the Capitol.

Highlights
  • Rooftop pool with view of the Capitol
  • Kids eat free at the on-site restaurant, Capitol Bistro
  • The 21st Amendment Bar and Lounge has live music two nights a week
Location

The Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol is located just off the National Mall and near many museums. It is close to Capitol Hill and two Metro stations.

Rooms

Rooms at the Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol are decorated in warm beige and rose tones with traditional wood furniture, a work desk and a 32-inch flat screen television. Beds have are triple sheeted and include soft and firm pillows. Complimentary wireless, high-speed Internet access is available. Suites have a separate living area with a sleeper sofa, lounge chair and wet bar.

Features

The seasonal rooftop pool has views of the Capitol. The 24-hour fitness center has cardio equipment and weights. Guests can obtain passes to nearby Gold's Gym with more extensive fitness options (fees apply). The front desk has maps for jogging, walking and biking. There's a Shuttle Express Deli. The on-site Capitol Bistro serves a breakfast or lunch buffet and ala carte dinner where kids eat for free. Grab a drink and relax at the 21st Amendment Bar & Grill with live music two nights a week. There is a parking garage (fees apply).

Transportation
  • L'Enfant Plaza Metro stop (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)
  • Regan National Airport (2.7 mi/ 4.5 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (24 mi/ 39 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/ 44 km)
Attractions
  • The National Mall (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)
  • National Air and Space Museum (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)
  • Smithsonian Institution (0.2 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • Dupont Circle (0.4 mi/ 0.7 km)
  • United States Capitol (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Washington Monument (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • The White House (1.1 mi/ 1.9 km)
  • Georgetown (2.5 mi/ 4.1 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Executive suites
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet
  • 10,000 square feet of meeting space

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Live entertainment
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.2 mi
  • National Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.3 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.4 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.4 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.5 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.2 mi
  • National Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.3 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.4 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.4 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.5 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Newseum: 0.5 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.5 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.5 mi
  • National Archives: 0.5 mi
  • Arena Stage: 0.6 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.7 mi
  • Bureau of Engraving and Printing: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.7 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.8 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.8 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.9 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.9 mi
  • National Theatre: 1 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 1 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1 mi

Dining

Capitol Bistro
Enjoy classic American fare. Serving breakfast buffet daily, lunch buffet on weekdays and dinner nightly.
21st Amendment Bar & Grill
Contemporary Lounge setting. Features 4 large LCD TV's. A hip and trendy setting. Delicious food and signature cocktails. Live Entertainment twice a week.
Starbucks
Starbucks offers breakfast, lunch and light fare including salads, sandwiches and fresh fruit. We have a wonderful variety of foods to complement your delicious drink.
Vie de France
French, Bakery
21st Amendment Bar & Grill
Did you know our Washington hotel is a great place to relax? The 21st Amendment Bar & Grill offers a light menu, as well as favorite cocktails and beers in a convivial atmosphere. You can also enjoy live jazz entertainment Wed and Thur from 6pm to 9pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 293
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dina S.
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

Awesome stay! 10's across the board

I loved being in this Hotel. I don't have any complaints. Top notch staff. Everyone was very helpful. I flew in for one night only, just to attend a concert. I would definitely stay there again. My only gripe...And it wasn't a gripe is that the bar closed so early, my friend and I weren't able to grab a drink before the night ended so we got some wine really quick and sat out in the lobby. Very nice. I really enjoyed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tori the Teacher
Business
Oakland
Jan 22, 2015

Beautifully remodeled hotel

Very nice hotel in a great location, enjoyed the stay, the food and the nice people who worked there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EvaPVD
Business
Providence, RI
Nov 16, 2014

Excellent location at a great rate

I needed to be within walking distance of the National Mall over the weekend and this hotel is just the perfect combination of a comfortable, clean hotel and location, location, location! The neighborhood is safe, the staff are super nice, and the room – although not as nice as some hotels I've stayed at – provided everything I needed for my stay. Most importantly, it's close to the Metro so it's super easy to get around town without a car. I would definitely come back here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Busboys and Poets at 5th and K – very cool and awesome food, especially for a vegetarian. I've been to the 14th St location as well, but liked the 5th St better. http://www.busboysandpoets.com/about/5th-k

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Moira's big adventure
Business
Seymour, in
May 4, 2014

My great adventure 2

Room clean & comfortable, staff welcoming amenities average. Biggest complaint is room was small & tv not comfortable watching from bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SDOuch
Business
SIoux Falls
Feb 24, 2014

DC trip

I came to DC for a day trip to see the national mall. It is perfectly located just a block off the mall. The price was right to be able to stay for 2 nights. There is a decent grill/bar in the hotel as well as close coffee shops and fast food if you are hungry. If you are planning to visit the national mall or anything in the area, it's a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The I Traveler.
Business
Rocky Mount, NC
Sep 6, 2012

Perfect.

Excellent accommodations, excellent location. One block away from the National Mall and Smithsonian. Metro station right around the corner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Boston Ms
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 18, 2012

Room not ready as promised.

Check-in time was 3:00pm. But because so many guests got extended checkout times, there were too many rooms to be cleaned at the last minute. I was in WDC to attend a special event and was getting anxious about having enough time to get ready. I finally convinced someone at the front desk to request that the room reserved for me be cleaned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ORLANDO, FL
Jul 25, 2011

WASHINGTON DC

IT WAS FANTASTIC AND SUPER COMFORTABLE, GYM, RESTAURANTS, STARBUCKS, AMAZING! ALSO A BLOCK AWAY FROM THE SMITHSONIAN!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

A BLOCK AWAY FROM SMITHSONIAN (THE MALL)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike V
Business
Fort Myers, Fl
Jul 24, 2011

Great location

The overall experience at the hotel was good. It was very clean, the room was spacious and had everythin you would expect. It was within walking distance to The Mall and other DC spots to sightsee. For those interested in the nightlife, Dupont Circle is a short cab ride away and averaged $8 ea way. The largest problem I had with this hotel was the management staff. I accidentally double booked th room and the hotel manager would not refund the money for the second (accidental) booking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

I would recommend investing in one of the tour buses that you can use as transportation to all the sightseeing destinations. It saves time that would normally be consumed with a lot of walking. I walked the whole time I was there but if I did it again I would use the tour bus.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lynchburg, VA
Oct 26, 2010

Just okay

Hotel was fine but the reception staff were cold and unfriendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top