$113 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

3 stars
View map of 550 "C" Street S.W., Washington, DC 20024

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
282 reviews
Great trip with teenagers!

I really enjoyed our stay at Holiday Inn! Getting their form Union Station was quick only about... See full review

  • Jillian B.
  • Aug 11, 2015
Great location for a wonderful family trip

This hotel was perfect for accessing all of DC's sights. It is within walking distance to most... See full review

  • Rachel P.
  • Jun 12, 2015

The Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol is in a prime location for visitors who want to be close to the Capitol Hill, National Mall and museums. Two Metro stations are nearby. Many rooms have microwaves and mini fridges. Kids eat for free at the on-site restaurant. The hotel lounge features live music. Cool off or relax by the seasonal rooftop pool and take in the view of the Capitol.

Location

The Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol is located just off the National Mall and near many museums. It is close to Capitol Hill and two Metro stations.

Rooms

Rooms at the Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol are decorated in warm beige and rose tones with traditional wood furniture, a work desk and a 32-inch flat screen television. Beds have are triple sheeted and include soft and firm pillows. Complimentary wireless, high-speed Internet access is available. Suites have a separate living area with a sleeper sofa, lounge chair and wet bar.

Property features

The seasonal rooftop pool has views of the Capitol. The 24-hour fitness center has cardio equipment and weights. Guests can obtain passes to nearby Gold's Gym with more extensive fitness options (fees apply). The front desk has maps for jogging, walking and biking. There's a Shuttle Express Deli. The on-site Capitol Bistro serves a breakfast or lunch buffet and ala carte dinner where kids eat for free. Grab a drink and relax at the 21st Amendment Bar & Grill with live music two nights a week. There is a parking garage (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Rooftop pool with view of the Capitol
  • Kids eat free at the on-site restaurant, Capitol Bistro
  • The 21st Amendment Bar and Lounge has live music two nights a week
Nearby attractions
  • The National Mall (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)
  • National Air and Space Museum (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)
  • Smithsonian Institution (0.2 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • Dupont Circle (0.4 mi/ 0.7 km)
  • United States Capitol (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Washington Monument (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • The White House (1.1 mi/ 1.9 km)
  • Georgetown (2.5 mi/ 4.1 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Executive suites
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet
  • 10,000 square feet of meeting space
Transportation
  • L'Enfant Plaza Metro stop (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)
  • Regan National Airport (2.7 mi/ 4.5 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (24 mi/ 39 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/ 44 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$114
4.0 / 5 317 reviews
★★★★
$98
4.1 / 5 461 reviews
★★★
$98
4.0 / 5 132 reviews
★★★
$139
4.1 / 5 77 reviews
★★★★
$129
4.0 / 5 262 reviews
★★★
$119
4.1 / 5 25 reviews

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Live entertainment
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.2 mi
  • National Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.3 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.4 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.4 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.5 mi
  • Freer Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.2 mi
  • National Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.3 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.4 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.4 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.5 mi
  • Freer Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Newseum: 0.5 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.5 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.5 mi
  • National Archives: 0.5 mi
  • Arena Stage: 0.6 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.7 mi
  • Bureau of Engraving and Printing: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.7 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.8 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.8 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.9 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.9 mi
  • National Theatre: 1 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 1 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1 mi

Dining

Capitol Bistro
Enjoy classic American fare. Daily breakfast buffet and lunch buffet on weekdays. Dinner buffet available on some weekends.
21st Amendment Bar & Grill
Contemporary Lounge setting. Features 4 large LCD TV's. A hip and trendy setting. Delicious food and signature cocktails. Live Entertainment twice a week.
Starbucks
Starbucks offers breakfast, lunch and light fare including salads, sandwiches and fresh fruit. We have a wonderful variety of foods to complement your delicious drink.
21st Amendment Bar & Grill
Did you know our Washington hotel is a great place to relax? The 21st Amendment Bar & Grill offers a light menu, as well as favorite cocktails and beers in a convivial atmosphere. You can also enjoy live jazz entertainment Wed and Thur from 6pm to 9pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
167 out of 282
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lisa P.
Family
N/A
Aug 20, 2015

Great family trip!

The hotel staff and accommodations were great! The location was excellent and very close to the monuments and museums. We walked to everything very easily and took a morning run along the mall! There are very few restaurants in the area so we had to order room service and had dinner delivered a few times. It was very convenient to have a full service Starbucks in the lobby! That helped us greatly in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lawrence H.
Family
N/A
Aug 17, 2015

Wonderful stay

The hotel was very clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. Hotel is less than one block to the L'Enfant Metro station and within walking distance of the Mall. We will definitely be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jillian B.
Family
N/A
Aug 11, 2015

Great trip with teenagers!

I really enjoyed our stay at Holiday Inn! Getting their form Union Station was quick only about 15min away. The only thing that I had a problem with is when I called to see if my bags could be held at the front desk until are check in time, they said no then when we were leaving they did it no problem! Which was great! I just wished they told me that on the phone! But everything else was great! Tip: get the smart trip card for travel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
May
Family
New York
Aug 8, 2015

Nice weekend getaway!

Great location. Short walking distance to most DC attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Micky S
Family
San Antonio
Jul 3, 2015

Nice hotel but...

This is a nice hotel with close proximity to the national mall. The room was very updated, modern and clean. However, we had a huge issue at night that was swept under the rug. Our AC would not stay on at night!! We would wake up sweating and very uncomfortable since the room was stifling. On our last day there, we voiced our concerns AGAIN and finally, someone at front desk recognized that there are motion sensors in the rooms and because of lack of movement (we were sleeping), the AC was not turning on!! No remorse or apologies for our discomfort. I feel this issue should have been resolved well before we ever stayed there since the front desk employee said the motion sensor should have been switched off prior to us staying there. I am still upset that we were tired and grumpy during the day because of an easily resolved issue at night that was not addressed. Also, be well aware that parking in their parking garage is $37/day!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rachel P.
Family
Social Circle
Jun 12, 2015

Great location for a wonderful family trip

This hotel was perfect for accessing all of DC's sights. It is within walking distance to most sights, and it is only a block from the L'Enfant Metro station, providing access to everything else. The hotel restaurant was delicious. The only negative we found was that there were not a tremendous number of restaurants close by, other than McDonald's and Quizno's. While we ate at both of these (frequently), it would have been nice to have other, sit-down, options close to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Waycool
Family
OCEANSIDE
May 29, 2015

Very close to air space museum

Close to smithsonian air space museums Capitol national mall and metro station friendly staff. Close to many eateries and CVS pharmacy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beata T.
Family
N/A
May 26, 2015

Great locations

Hotel is very well situated for these who want to visit museums. Family (2+2) as we find there evertything what is nessesary for 3 days trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Larisa O.
Family
SALEM
Apr 10, 2015

family trip

the location was great. the hotel was clean . the staff members were great. the restaurant was perfect and the food was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NC Country Boy
Family
N/A
Feb 25, 2015

Nice hotel

We had nice experience in Washington DC. The hotel located in nice location for museums. It is easy to go and back from the museum. The room is clean and we are comfortable to stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top