$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

3 stars
550 "C" Street S.W., Washington, DC 20024
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
277 reviews
good location

everything good' great location. need to have limo service to and from airport, See full review

  • lucfy
  • Jun 25, 2014
Weekend getaway

This hotel is within walking distance of countless attractions and the rooms are amazing. Will... See full review

  • Your Helpful Friend
  • Jun 12, 2014
Downtown hotel near the National Mall, museums and monuments

The Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol is in a prime location for visitors who want to be close to the Capitol Hill, National Mall and museums. Two Metro stations are nearby. Many rooms have microwaves and mini fridges. Kids eat for free at the on-site restaurant. The hotel lounge features live music. Cool off or relax by the seasonal rooftop pool and take in the view of the Capitol.

Highlights
  • Rooftop pool with view of the Capitol
  • Kids eat free at the on-site restaurant, Capitol Bistro
  • The 21st Amendment Bar and Lounge has live music two nights a week
Location

The Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol is located just off the National Mall and near many museums. It is close to Capitol Hill and two Metro stations.

Rooms

Rooms at the Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol are decorated in warm beige and rose tones with traditional wood furniture, a work desk and a 32-inch flat screen television. Beds have are triple sheeted and include soft and firm pillows. Complimentary wireless, high-speed Internet access is available. Suites have a separate living area with a sleeper sofa, lounge chair and wet bar.

Features

The seasonal rooftop pool has views of the Capitol. The 24-hour fitness center has cardio equipment and weights. Guests can obtain passes to nearby Gold's Gym with more extensive fitness options (fees apply). The front desk has maps for jogging, walking and biking. There's a Shuttle Express Deli. The on-site Capitol Bistro serves a breakfast or lunch buffet and ala carte dinner where kids eat for free. Grab a drink and relax at the 21st Amendment Bar & Grill with live music two nights a week. There is a parking garage (fees apply).

Transportation
  • L'Enfant Plaza Metro stop (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)
  • Regan National Airport (2.7 mi/ 4.5 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (24 mi/ 39 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/ 44 km)
Attractions
  • The National Mall (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)
  • National Air and Space Museum (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)
  • Smithsonian Institution (0.2 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • Dupont Circle (0.4 mi/ 0.7 km)
  • United States Capitol (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Washington Monument (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • The White House (1.1 mi/ 1.9 km)
  • Georgetown (2.5 mi/ 4.1 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Executive suites
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet
  • 10,000 square feet of meeting space

Hotel Map

38.8856 -77.0193
Nearby airports
BALT-WASH INTL, (BWI), 32.00, MI, SW; DULLES INTERNATIONAL, (IAD), 28.00, MI, E; Reagan National Airport, (DCA), 4.00, MI, NE;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Live entertainment
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.2 mi
  • National Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.3 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.4 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.4 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.5 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.2 mi
  • National Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.3 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.4 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.4 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.5 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Newseum: 0.5 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.5 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.5 mi
  • National Archives: 0.5 mi
  • Arena Stage: 0.6 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.7 mi
  • Bureau of Engraving and Printing: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.7 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.8 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.8 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.9 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.9 mi
  • National Theatre: 1 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 1 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1 mi

Dining

Capitol Bistro
Enjoy classic American fare. Serving breakfast buffet daily, lunch buffet on weekdays and dinner nightly.
Express Deli
In a hurry? No time to spare? The Shuttle features continental style breakfast, Krispy Kreme donuts, sandwiches on fresh baked rolls, soup, fruit salads, the Megameal of the Day and NY Style Pizza.
21st Amendment Bar & Grill
Contemporary Lounge setting. Features 4 large LCD TV's. A hip and trendy setting. Delicious food and signature cocktails. Live Entertainment twice a week.
Starbucks
Starbucks offers breakfast, lunch and light fare including salads, sandwiches and fresh fruit. We have a wonderful variety of foods to complement your delicious drink.
21st Amendment Bar & Grill
Did you know our Washington hotel is a great place to relax? The 21st Amendment Bar & Grill offers a light menu, as well as favorite cocktails and beers in a convivial atmosphere. You can also enjoy live jazz entertainment Wed and Thur from 6pm to 9pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (277)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
163 out of 277
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BlackDude
Baltimore, MD, USA
Apr 16, 2014

Payment reconcilliation needs some beef up

Good place to stay, staff okay. But they do not pay attention to their accounting enough. They'll charge you first and then investigate, which in my opinion is VERY bad customer service, especially when you know this is a hospitality business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Camp Lejeune, Nc
Jan 5, 2011

Worst Stay of my LIFE!

First off you have to pay $30 for parking PER NIGHT. Which i wouldnt mind doing if the hotel was anywhere near the standards of a holiday inn... or a hotel period. This place was like a $30 a night MOTEL!! The furniture was from the 70's.. and was FILTHY!! There was literally a urine stain on the desk chair, which had BITE marks on the handles! The room itself was filthy as well, mini fridge, bathroom closet door was falling apart. No microwave as it was listed, and you had to PAY EXTRA for it! The front desk girl didnt know what the work amenities was, We were planning on staying several days and decided to leave early stayed at the Fairfield Inn by Marriot. They were amazing. STAY THERE, not here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the trolley tour!! $40 for two days!! It was amazing! Guides were Wonderful!

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Winters, CA
Jun 25, 2010

Sub Par hotel for the money

My wife and I travel frequently for our jobs. We know a fleabag from a five star. The only thing going for this hotel is the location. It is dirty! The main hallways between the rooms are filthy, the rooms are filthy. All the little things that could be easily fixed, look to be ignored by Mgmt and Maint. The on-site restaurants are mediocre at best. At an average of $200/night, this hotel is seriously lacking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is only 2 blocks away from the Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum (http://www.nasm.si.edu/)

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
beautiful jane
texas
Dec 29, 2013

POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE ! BEWARE !!!

Female front desk personnel have attitudes specially for people of different nationalities we were left to figure it out things for ourselves.For instance I called 12/26/13 around 2120 to ask if they have stamps, lady told me they don't have it and I need to buy it in the gift shop but the gift shop is closed. I asked is there any place nearby she said CVS but its closed. Later on when I check out I found out there is a stamp vendo machine outside the gift shop. She did not even mentioned it is out side the gift shop. Its a good thing the young man at the desk showed me where it is.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KDeer
Chicago, IL
Mar 30, 2014

Lacking

Booked the room for our Spring Break due to location mainly. Since there are 5 of us, I asked for a rollaway and even called to make sure we had one. Well, to our dismay, we were told when checking in that the rooms were renovated and rollaways are no longer an option. Needless to say that sharing a queen bed with my two girls (15 and 10) did not provide for a restful sleep. My husband had to share the other queen with our 13 year old son. For $320/night, I really expected more. No apologies were made and they were fully booked!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

OLd Ebbits

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DrJohn
Reading, PA, USA
Nov 28, 2011

Very Disappointed

Check in was ok, Concierge was not knowledgeable of when the museums were open. We went during Thanksgiving weekend and the museums were open til 7:30 pm. There ad stated a rooftop view of the captial. the only view was of the federal buildings. If we would of know about the view we would not of booked the room. The beds were very uncomfortable, and made your back hurt in the morning. Even though the shower curtian was closed the shower sprayed water all over the floor. The hotel information button on the phone it did not work. The garage parking was one of the great things of the hotel. When you called the front desk they did not want to be bothered. We were there one night and two days. No one addressed our concerns.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great hotel to see most of the museums along the mall.

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MarcandEl
East Hartford, CT
Mar 29, 2013

Great location, except for the train tracks!

I had a pleasant stay here 8 yrs. ago and remembered the convenient location near the Mall and Capitol. This time, our first room we had was across from the service elevator, ice machine, vending machines, and guest elevators. Outside were railroad tracks. Our first night was spent hearing the trains rumble by with the occasional whistle blowing from 2 AM on. The guest elevator was busy. In between, we could hear the ice machine making and dropping the ice in the bin. Around 6:30 AM you hear the "flop" of newspapers being thrown in front of every room. After complaining, we were moved to another location.The 2nd room was not much better. The train whistles could still be heard. We were there for 5 nights with little sleep. As compensation, we were given one day free parking ($30/day)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Mall was about 2 blocks away. It was a fairly easy walk to the Smithsonian museums and the Capitol.

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
NYC
Jul 14, 2011

At least it was in a good location

Pros: Good location 2 blocks south of the National Air and Space Museum. Clean rooms. Cons: $35 per night to park. Parking in DC can be limited but at least have the decency to disclose this to customers on the web site and not at check-in. Added 20% to the room rate. Rooftop pool sounded cool but not so enjoyable when it is the size of a picnic table. A clown car at the circus comes to mind. There was more human body mass than water in this pool. Avoid the hotel restaurants unless you enjoy a three hour potluck one course meal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles
May 16, 2011

Not again

We went to the US Capitol, White House, Smithsonian museums and several monuments

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The metro 5 day pass was a great $ saver

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Relocated Jersey Girl
Elkton, MD
Sep 28, 2009

Hotel Room in need of updating

The hotel is in a great location to see the National Mall. Very close to Air & Space Museum-- but-- our room was close to the Railroad tracks-- very loud, the toilet seat slid everytime you sat on it-- and we are not heavy, the faucet handles were so loose you could take them off and the showerknob would not turn past a certain point so the temperature was milldly warm.-- no newspaper in the morning either-- it was fine for the price and location but the room needed maintenance. We traveled to the monuments and museums by bike. -it was the best way to travel with the kids-no complaining about being tired!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Short walk to the Air & Space Museum. Travel by bike. it made the trip enjoyable.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search